We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marakoopa Caves”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mole Creek Caves

Mole Creek Caves
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Choose from 3 different guided tours at the Mole Creek Caves. Visit the amazing world of the underground to see sparkling crystal formations and the remarkable Glow-Worms of Marakoopa Cave, or visit King Solomons Cave to have a close up look at the amazing formations.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Marakoopa Caves”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Enjoyed the interesting Cave Tour with its formations - which ended with the display of Glow worms. The temperature at 9 degrees in the Cave was very cold. I can see a lot of care taken with lights switched off when we leave the different sections of the cave.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MCCMsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    75
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Marakoopa Cave & King Solomon's Cave, Mole Creek, Tasmania”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Marakoopa Cave is the largest and has spacious high chambers, with easy walkways. It's all beautifully lit, with many photo opportunities. The underground river system flows through it, and there's also a cavern full of glow worms. King Solomon's Cave was more compact, with rather narrow sections of pathway between the rock walls at times. It's a beautiful cave system too, and I found it more interesting than Marakoopa Cave, but that's a personal choice. Both are really good, and I'd suggest visiting both if you have time. When you purchase your ticket for one cave, you automatically receive a 20% discount on the entry fee for the second cave, regardless of the order in which you visit the caves. Remember to tell the 'second cave' staff that you've visited another cave, and keep your previous ticket to show them. Our guides on both the tours were informative and allowed us plenty of time to take photos and look around. Both caves were an easy walk, and the few sets of steps were not a problem. Neither cave is suitable for a wheelchair, however, and anyone who's very large in shape or stature may find it difficult to get through some of the tight spots in King Solomon's Cave. There are clean bathrooms in close proximity to all the caves, and beautiful walks through the rain forests that surround the caves. Wildlife is abundant, and if you stand still and remain quiet, you may see Paddy Melons (small animals like wallabies) feeding on the valley floor near the caves.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Salty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I love these caves. This is my 4th visit bringing my children first and now my grandchildren. This is a great way to fill in a school holiday as the kids think it is magic. Aaron our tour guide was great and gave great explanations.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“have a great afternoon out”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I decided that it was about time that we visited another local tourism site. It was great. We parked at the ticket office and walked via the fernery walk( which I would advise all to do) and was able to enjoy the river and masses of huge ferns even before we got to the caves. Lots of overseas tourists and they all thought that the tour and the guide was tops. Allow enough time to stop at the Allum Cliffs walk on the way to Mole Creek as it is worth while and it tops off a good Tasmanian sightseeing day

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cooky1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Tour, even better guide”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The first thing that struck us on this tour was the enthusiasm, knowledge and professionalism of our guide. The tour was your standard caves tour, but his interest and enthusiasm made it so much more. Well worth the stop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mole Creek Caves also viewed

 
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 

Been to Mole Creek Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing