We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptionally welcoming staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Central Highlands Lodge
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Needed to travel to the central highlands to visit a sick relative and decided to stay overnight at this lodge. This is in the lovely, cold and beautiful town of Miena. The lodge itself is really a motel with individual small units and easy access to the main lounge and restaurant area.
The units are warm (floor heating) with extra heating if required (it was!), with comfy bed(s), everything very clean and well presented. There is nothing remarkable about the place other than the very reasonable rates they charge for pleasant, unstartling accommodation. TV reception is very poor so take a good book with you. I ate a meal from the restaurant which was, again, reasonably priced and quite acceptable. What makes this place stand out from most others in this price range was the really welcoming and helpful attitude of the staff on duty. They went the extra yard and would have done more if I hadn't called a halt. I would most certainly look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kateshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 60 of 60 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

We had a great stay! We arrived at 7pm with young children, ordered excellent pizza (and red wine) from the restaurant and had a fabulous nights sleep. Noone is there in the mornings to provide breakfast, but there was a toaster, kettle and fridge in the room.
The following night we ate in the restaurant. Ours were the only kids (2,5&6), no-one minded, the locals were friendly, the atmosphere was lovely. We loved the food. The meat fell off my lamb shank, my husband's trout was fresh and he sauce amazing, and the kids had a great dose of veggies with their delicious roast of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAnniittaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by this nice hotel, which is situated in a scenic area with lake views from just outside our room.

The room was very clean. It wasn't big, but was comfortable, with 2 bedrooms, a kitchen area, and bathroom. We stayed with our young baby, and it may be that it would be too small for a family with older children.

As requested, a travel cot was provided, along with a selection of bed linen for the baby. In the evening we wandered up to the cosy bar and restaurant area, where we had dinner. Meals were reasonably priced - between $15-25 for a main, and we enjoyed our salmon crepes and venison pies. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, and we enjoyed an evening chatting with other patrons.

Service was what really made this place stand out. The manager was helpful, friendly, and very attentive. She recommended places to visit, and insisted we take a basket for breakfast the next morning, in case places weren't open when we checked out.

This is a simple, clean, and friendly place. Rooms are more motel style than deluxe hotel, but location is wonderful and service top rate.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Despite having booked and paid for a cabin over 3 weeks earlier and having received confirmation of this booking the cabin was occupied by another party when I arrived. The manager did not give an explanation as to why this was so, I was gruffly told that I was to occupy a single room and would be compensated for the difference. There was no apology forthcoming just an attitude of ‘if you don’t like it – tough!’ Unfortunately there was no other accommodation available around the area at the time or I certainly would have moved on. Not a good start.
The room I was assigned was located close to the pub and the noise from drunken patrons on the first night was completely over the top. The last drunk seemed to stop her shouting around 3am so I was able to get in a solid 3 hours sleep before morning. Thankfully this noise was not repeated on the following two nights so I may have just been unlucky. The only positive thing I can say about this place is that the housekeeping was thorough.
This low rent motel masquerades as a lodge and no doubt cashes in on unsuspecting fly fisherman through its misleading website. The reality of this place is far removed from the picturesque images on their website. If you are looking for an upmarket quiet fly fishing focused lodge in reasonable surroundings this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bosvark45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

As we've recently moved to Hobart, we try to spend weekends visiting other areas of Tasmania. This weekend, we decided to give Great Lake a try and booked one night at the Central Highlands Lodge.

Their website is sadly quite deceiving as the photographs depict the place as quite upmarket and comfortable. We were disappointed to see, when we got there, that the lodge is really just a motel.

Our room appeared to be a family suite. Two rooms - one with a queen bed and the other with twin beds. The queen room looked onto the carpark and the twin room looked onto the back garden of the lodge where we discovered they had 2 lambs running around.

The rooms were very clean, the bed very comfortable (electric blankets) and there was a table and two chairs which was very useful.

We had dinner in the lodge restaurant that night and were quite dismayed at the prices. However, we are aware that food costs more to deliver to these remote areas. We ordered a steak and a chicken parmigiana. The steak was ok but the chicken was tough, dry and inedible. No wait staff came to ask us how our meal was until they came to clear the plates. When I expressed my disappointment at the chicken I met a wall of silence. No apology and no discount from the bill. Very poor customer service.

The small bar was lacking in atmosphere so we retired to our room. It appears the lambs do not like the dark for they crouched outside our room window and bleated for most of the night. Luckily we had earplugs.

Miena is a great place for trout fishing but there's nothing else to do there. It also has a very bleak landscape and the water is quite low in the lake.

I wouldn't stay at Central Highlands Lodge again, personally but if you're an angler, its just perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cannyshoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Renegadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miena
14.7 mi away
Bronte Park Village
Bronte Park Village
#1 of 1 in Bronte Park
108 reviews
1.8 mi away
Great Lake Hotel
Great Lake Hotel
#1 of 1 in Miena
67 reviews
9.5 mi away
Blue Lake Lodge
Blue Lake Lodge
#2 of 2 in Miena
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Thousand Lakes Lodge
Thousand Lakes Lodge
#1 of 1 in Liawenee
41 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Central Highlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Highlands Lodge

Address: Haddens Bay, Miena, Tasmania 7030, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Miena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Miena
Price Range: $87 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Motel accommodation We cannot find our business on your site has it been deleted? If you be appreciated if you would contact me ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Central Highlands Lodge Miena, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing