We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to 18th century!”
Review of Woolmers Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woolmers Estate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Back to 18th century!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Gardener's cottage. It no luxury BUT with such a reasonable price we could have the whole cottage and experience the 18th century life~ The rose garden is beautiful and it's like we were owning the whole area as each cottage were far from one another. We spent three nights there. It's a bit too much though. Breakfast was the only thing I would complain. It's just bread, cereal and milk. Should have better option in such a lovely environment.

Room Tip: Gardener's cottage is nice as it's at the far end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip2theMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Every Aussie should visit these spectacular, world hertiage listed sights to learn where we all came from and the events which shaped our national identity. The two sites have much in common but the subtle differences are enough to help you decide which one to visit or stay at- if you have to choose.
Woolmers and Brickendon are both Archer family properties and are opposite each other across the river and paddocks. They are now linked by a walkway which takes about 50 minutes to complete. Both have an outstanding array of convict built structures and both have on-site shops,although Woolmers has gone a bit 'Granny' for me instead of gorgeous gardening gear, which is a shame. Where Woolmers has the inspirational national Rose garden, Brickendon has farm animals at every turn and the little travellers will love them.The differences between the two lie behind the scenes; Brickendon is a working farm owned and lived at by the Archers who give the place it's 'heartbeat' and a vitality you only find in a family run business. Woolmers on the other hand is owned by a trust and this gives the visitor the freedom to roam about and do tours of the wonderful but architecturally strange Woolmers house. Both have heritage accommodation which is self-contained, charming and excellent value. Brickendon's tends to be new single level cottages whereas most of Woolmer's are original two storey houses. I have stayed at both several times and can't pick between them. In the end it boils down to whether you want to wake up with the animals or the rose garden. My recommendation is to visit one in the afternoon and stay at the other so you get the best of both colonial worlds. Oh, and say hi to the ghost in the top hat if you see him behind his sheep.....
The only downside is that neither Woolmers or Brickendon receive any federal government funding which is a national disgrace.

Room Tip: Toss a coin, both are fantastic places to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moo628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My family and I stayed at Woolmers Estate on 8 September 2012. This is history at its finest. We stayed in the three bedroom cottage with open fireplaces and stone walls. Quite a unique experience to be had. Very comfortable beds and total quite. The grounds contain numerous convict built structures which you can enter free of charge. Vintage automobiles and equipment from a bygone era. A must to visit. We stayed only one night at the beginning of the holiday but you must spend at least 2 nights to absorb this place. A bit cold in eary September but that was the beauty of visiting such a place.

Room Tip: The three bedroom cottage was very comfortable with plenty of room for three adults. Central to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CORCO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

On a recent trip to Tasmania, we stayed at Woolmers Estate. Our accommodation was an updated cottage built well over a century ago. Although we stayed one night, this would be a good rental for a few days as it was a cottage and had a kitchen, up-to-date bathroom and laundry facilities, sitting room, and loft bedroom. The bird song in the morning was beautiful. The staff were obliging. Best of all, we toured the main home that is literally stopped in time. The last family member to live on site, kept many rooms of the large estate home as they were in the early to mid 1900s. The grounds and National Rose Garden were interesting and are open to guests throughout their stay.The estate was built with the use of transported convict labor and is a world heritage site.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greentree33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed one night at Coachman's Cottage with wife, mother and two children in comfortable cottage sleeping six. Log fire (not used on our stay - used fans instead) and port in sitting room. Kitchen equipped suitably with stove, microwave oven etc. Staying on site allows reduced fee for guided tour of estate. One can do the self guided tour free of charge by staying on site but the house - only possible to see on guided tour - is definitely worth a look. I would have liked to spent more time there as I imagine seeing the sunset on the estate would have been beautiful. Walking around the site early morning however with no one else around is a very special experience. Check out time a little later than ten would be nice. Given the status of the accommodation, the quality of tea and coffee - the lowest catering grade on the market - is surprising. Interestingly, other people had noted this in the visitor book but evidently either no one is reading or the estate is looking to save on costs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Here is a chance to stay at the World Heritage listed estate of Woolmers near Longford. We have stayed twice, this time in Oak cottage. The cottage was built of sandstone by convicts and has been beautifully restored and decorated to a high standard. On the ground floor was a living room with dining table and sofa etc plus a TV. The kitchen was very well-appointed with all the cooking gear you would need to make a not too complicated dinner. The very large bathroom was nicely appointed. Upstairs was a large room containing a huge comfortable bed, cupboards and plenty of space for our two suitcases.

As a resident of one of the cottages you can walk around the estate in the early evening and when it gets dark and the sky is clear the stars are amazing as there are no town lights around to spoil the night sky. It is a great place to stay a couple of nights whilst you visit Woolmers House, the National Rose Collection and just along the road the Brickenden Estate, another heritage property. Longford, the closest little town has plenty of shops for any groceries you might need.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband and I returned after many years to once again enjoy the peace and tranquility of old Tasmania. Woolmers is a lovely estate with beautiful views over the Longford Valley. Learning about the early settlers who built up this area to resemble what they had known in England gives one a good understanding of the early days of our country.

We had a delightful settler worker's cottage to stay in. The decor was warm and pleasing as was the wood fire. Even a television set was included.The kitchen was well equipped and we got an adequate breakfast basket. All this for a moderate cost.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
13.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
497 reviews
13.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
765 reviews
13.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brickendon Estate
Brickendon Estate
#4 of 5 in Longford
61 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aggie's Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
The Racecourse Inn
The Racecourse Inn
#2 of 5 in Longford
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolmers Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolmers Estate

Property: Woolmers Estate
Address: 658 Woolmers Lane, Longford, Tasmania 7301, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Longford
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Longford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woolmers Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolmers Estate is a World Heritage listed convict property. We have fully-self contained Heritage accommodation on site. To view the main Historical Homestead we offer guided homestead tours at special scheduled tour times. Self guided tours of the outbuildings, grounds and gardens are also on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Woolmers Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolmers Estate Longford, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing