We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good experience”
Review of Brickendon Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brickendon Estate
Ranked #4 of 5 Longford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hong kong
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a good experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

if you want to try farm experience or away from city life, definately the place it is. the view from inside the room is beautiful when there is sunshine. it is a place full of history, and the farm is good, you can feed the animals together with host. kitchen is good too, with oven. just 10 mins drive, can go to IGA in longford, a big one, convenience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ross, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights in Pumpkin Cottage on the World Heritage Listed Brickendon Estate. The three farm cottages are within a short stroll from the heritage Brickendon farm and entry to the farm is included in the price of the accommodation. At $175.00 per night I thought it a bit expensive, but we loved our little cottage despite the gloomy and wet weather.
With a slow combustion fire place and plenty of other heaters (if required) we were warm and snug. Our cottage included all of the usual cooking facilities, including a full size stove and there is a laundry between the three cottages.
Staying here during fine weather would be lovely as the views across the fields from the front verandah were superb.
This accommodation may not suit those looking for 5 star luxury, but it was perfect for us and dog friendly as a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeBee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in the Sweet Corn cottage and the fire had been prepared for us and lit so it was very cosy when we arrived. Louise was so friendly and helpful and showed my city children all the farm animals and the sheep being shorn. Definitely bring your own food and cook it there- the kitchen is easy to use and has all necessary items. It was lovely to have homemade biscuits in the kitchen to eat with a cuppa in front of the fire. A very pleasant evening!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We went back to Brickendon and stayed in Gardener's Cottage , the place where my wife and i got engaged some 14 year ago.

Both love the charm and history and want to come back with the kids.

Such a romantic location. Everything you need is supplied from breakfast provisions to laundry and fire place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We chose here to for our night as we thought it would be interesting. It was indeed, for us city folks. Lovely animals where we had the chance to participate in their feeding session in the morning. The sheep and the horses along the main path in the farm were especially friendly! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves playing with animals and taking pictures of them.

We stayed in Pea in a Pod. It was very the smallest of the 3 in a row but it was cute, had a warm feeling to it and still felt spacious. Provided in the cupboard was breakfast provisions. We got fresh juice as well in the fridge. Overall the room was clean except the window frames were layered with dust and some spiderwebs seen at wall corners.

The people were largely friendly at the farm but they wouldn't take guests for a walk around the grounds or tell you something about its history. We were to walk around the grounds on our own with the brief description on their pamphlet. It was not too bad, though.

During our stay the farm was holding a wedding party. It was kind of noisy and certainly disturbed the tranquility of the place, but luckily ended around midnight and we were able to get a good sleep.

Dinner and drinks were available only at Longford, something like a 10-15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank life_on_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This accommodation was certainly different and gave a perspective of life in the "olden days" for farm employees. The estate is certainly historic and very interesting with lovely peaceful countryside views. If you prefer 5 star accommodation this is not for you, but I couldn't fault the continental breakfast provisions and the comfy bed. Chickens poking around below the verandah and birds diving in and out of the vine intertwining the verandah post provided an amusing backdrop with breakfast. The estate is interesting in its architecture, historic presentations and has lovely rural views, yet is close to Longford restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Pea in a Pod cottage nestles between two other cottages, both occupied at the time I stayed, but sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jampot666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in the Gardener's Cottage and just loved it. The restoration is excellent, keeping the colonial feel and providing modern conveniences. Our hosts and staff could not have been more helpful. this was a perfect escape from city life - so peaceful and scenic.

Room Tip: There a number of choices of convict or farm cottages. I can only comment on the Gardeners Cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneysider_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longford
8.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
731 reviews
11.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
11.0 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Woolmers Estate
Woolmers Estate
#2 of 3 in Longford
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aggie's Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Racecourse Inn
The Racecourse Inn
#2 of 5 in Longford
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickendon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickendon Estate

Property: Brickendon Estate
Address: Wellington Street, Longford, Tasmania 7301, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Longford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Longford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickendon Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brickendon is a magnificent family owned farming estate offering a unique insight into Australia's colonial history. With numerous convict built farm buildings, beautiful heritage gardens surrounding the main Georgian homestead, friendly farm animals, 3km of river frontage and delightful self contained historic and farm cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brickendon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickendon Estate Longford, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing