We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”
Review of Brickendon Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brickendon Estate
Ranked #3 of 6 Longford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed in the Gardeners Cottage which was wonderful. However, pretty much everything else was closed at the farm. If you want to taste farm living this is perfect, but dont expect anything more than a nice cottage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewCrawford1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brickarc, Owner at Brickendon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

We love having guest during the winter months and we often find them curled up in front of the fire, just enjoying the atmoshphere.
We have our Heritage Gardens and Farm Village open however as we are a temperate climate, the gardens are not in bloom but we do have some amazing trees that are over 180 years old.
The Farm Village has a guide map so you can wander and explore the convict built buildings at your leisure and you will quite often have it to yourselves - what a change from a hectic city life !
We feed the farm animals each morning and guests are welcome to join in.
Reception during winter is located at the Main House where we can be contacted in person or by phone at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 69 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2010

Our family of 4, being one child aged 5 and the other 14 yrs enjoyed everyhting about Brickendon. I knew exactly what we wanted, a farm stay with animals that you could feed, a log cabin with a cosy feel and a log fire. Easy enough to find you would think in Tasmania, but after alot of research Brickendon was the only one that sounded perfect for us and it definately didn't disappoint. When we arrived, the owner was not there to greet us, instead she left a lovely note explaining exactly how to get to our cabin and a few details about how to get around Brickendon. When inside there were breakfast provisions for the next morning homemade biscuits, bread,2 types of jam, butter, orange juice, butter, milk, museli, weetbix, tea coffee and sugar. The fire was prepared with kindling, firelighters and wood with matches on hand so it could be started easily whenever we were ready. Additional firewood was stored just outside the back door within easy reach. One bedroom contained a bunk bed and double size bed with a lovely tin trunk full of toys and oil filled heater. The main bedroom contained a queen and single bed. The lounge had a small TV and DVD player with a selection of DVD's. The farm animals included sheep with a few lambs, a couple of goats, chickens, turkeys, a rabbit, a pig, a couple of donkeys, and cows.
We would definately visit again, loved it all, very historic and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylnlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed here with our race team in 'Sweetcorn Cottage" for three nights. Very helpful and freindly hosts. Our cottage was one of the larger on the estate with two bedrooms which can sleep 7 with another two if required on the sofa bed in the lounge. The lounge had a great open fire and the kitchen fully stocked with homemade jams and biscuits, fresh juice and bread with cereals for breakfast. They also supplied a barbeque which we used one night for dinner. Really rustic and beautiful with a verandah looking out over the fields. Wooden rustic walls with hessian wallpaper making you feel that you have stepped back in time. The remainder of the property with the old grainery and barn, chapel etc also charming. This estate would be great for holding a wedding, something that Brickendon holds quite often I hear. Many animals roaming the grounds, from Turkey's. chooks, donkeys and horses, sheep and a pig, not to mention the resident cat Moddy that took our cittage as home. Nothing quite so nice as to come home from a day car racing than to light the open fire, cook tea on the barbeque and stove and sit back on the verandah watching the beautiful sunset with a cold drink.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o5brock2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

What a delight it was to stay at Brickendon! We stayed in the Gardener's Cottage, which is a charming one bedroom self contained cottage, furnished mostly with quaint antiques and original furniture belonging to the Archer family, who still live on the estate in the main house.

We loved the homemade cookies (they were very geneous with the quanity too ... but it could never be enough!). In fact, they were very generous with almost everything - from the port in the decanter to the breakfast provisions. There is a fireplace in the lounge room, full kitchen with crockery and cutlery and BBQ facilities. In fact, we really felt that we could move right in!

The estate has many farm animals (sheep, cows, pigs, ducks, turkey, chicken, horses), interesting historic farm houses and beautiful gardens. You can also go fishing at the river nearby.

The estate is also not too far from Launceston (about a 30 minute drive). If you're looking for a different experience to your standard hotel and B&B stays, this is definitely worth considering!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tripsters123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

A delightful stay in the cosy 'Pumpkin Cottage' (1 of 3 cottages) across the road from the main house of Brickendon. A warm fire greets you as you enter the beautifully built replica farm cottage with views overlooking the extensive working farm. Extensive breakfast supplies included in these self-contained cottages which are well fitted out with olde (& modern) wares providing authenticity to the old world atmosphere. A stay here gives you free entry to the National Heritage Listed Brickendon farm village and the main Georgian homestead gardens - beautiful English gardens, even has it's own gothic chapel. A great base to discover the historic township of Longford with it's antique and gift stores as well as racing memorabiliia - location of original races of the Australia Grand Prix. Other nearby attractions include Woolmers Estate and the National Rose Garden.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longford hotels
1.6 mi away
Woolmers Estate
Woolmers Estate
#2 of 3 in Longford
79 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aggie's Bed and Breakfast
1 mi away
The Racecourse Inn
The Racecourse Inn
#2 of 6 in Longford
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Longford Boutique Accommodation
1.2 mi away
White Dove Cottage
White Dove Cottage
#3 of 3 in Longford
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickendon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickendon Estate

Address: Wellington Street, Longford, Tasmania 7301, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Longford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Longford
Price Range: $143 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brickendon Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brickendon is a magnificent family owned farming estate offering a unique insight into Australia's colonial history. With numerous convict built farm buildings, beautiful heritage gardens surrounding the main Georgian homestead, friendly farm animals, 3km of river frontage and delightful self contained historic and farm cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brickendon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickendon Estate Longford, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing