We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Woolmers Estate”
Review of Woolmers Estate

Woolmers Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.78*
and up
Tasmania Sightseeing Pass: See Tasmania Card
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Longford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Woolmers Estate”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We went for the tour of the gardens and homestead. The rose gardens are extensive and lovely. The attendants are very pleasant and well informed. Beautiful views over the waterway and surrounding farms. Elegant and very interesting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColonialTouches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    38
    13
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“At least Thomas Archer (I) can't see..”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The aspect when you come up the drive to Woolmers is rather grand. You can almost imagine what it must have looked like during the 19th Century when the first Thomas Archer made it a viable estate. Sadly, once you get closer it turns out to be a "big ol' mess". Suffering from a lack of cohesive vision, the outbuildings are filled with the detritus of the years of use. From decades old refuse filling barn spaces to broken abandoned equipment from present day in other buildings I was more than a bit confused by what message the Woolmers Foundation is trying to convey to visitors.

We had purchased the house tour, hoping that would fill in the gaps. We had two excellent docents relaying facts about the six generations of Thomas Archers who had been masters of Woolmers. This would have been better in a classroom, we concluded, as the hodgepodge of unrelated artifacts stuffed in the gloomy rooms was confusing and rather off-putting instead of inspiring a vision of Woolmers glory days. Threadbare carpets, cracked walls, silverfish-eaten wallpaper and tarnished metal work distracted us from whatever the docents were trying to convey. Concluding the tour in the shabby, broken dream-filled rooms of Thomas VI where he died a single old man finally drove us fleeing from the property.

Ok, I get that there is a long history of the Archer family at Woolmers. Still, what we hoped for was what was advertised: a glimpse into the 19th century heydey of a working convict estate. Instead what we got was a trip through a fusty mausoleum of dead family memories. And who needs that?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tommy5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Living history”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My family enjoyed visiting Woolmer at Easter. The lady who presented the guided tour of the house was very knowledgeable and even kept the kids interested. We all enjoyed poking around the other buildings and the gardens. Cafe did an excellent soup for lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JGrey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely end to holiday”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is one of the best Rose Gardens you will see. We stayed in a 1840's settlers cottage for 3 nights ! The atmosphere was great & very comfortable ! The convict walk was a lovely way to spend a Sunday Afternoon ! The cafe was full of character & did a great morning & afternoon teas & light lunches.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 380BevG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Half the buildings you can't even access”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I went to Woolmers and did the guided tour of the house. The guided tour was good, but not great. Honestly, I find listening to individual stories of peoples lives less interesting and would rather the tour focus on how our life in the 21st century differs from life 150 years ago. Whereas this tour really focused on some stories of people I really couldn't care less about.


The thing I hated the most though and what is most deceiving is that you are given a guide of the grounds, but can only access 3 or so of the buildings, but none of this is mentioned on the map of the groups. So you walk up to the cottage thinking you would look at the Bakers Cottage but you can't enter because it's accommodation. One building is used as the cafeteria and another as an office. Then there is more accommodation and even a windmill that you can see from the fencing but not actually access from the grounds. You need to ask the office how to get there.

Would not recommend going. Would not go again. I want my time and money back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLilly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woolmers Estate also viewed

 

Been to Woolmers Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing