We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Way to Spend a Saturday Morning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River's Edge Cafe

The River's Edge Cafe
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Longford
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: trades Thursday-Sunday 9.00-5.00, breakfast, lunch, weddings, phone (within Australia) 03 63912559. Beautiful location - historic building set in English style gardens
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Way to Spend a Saturday Morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our table of family and friends thoroughly enjoyed our River's Edge experience on a sunny Saturday morning. The platters were presented beautifully, the food was delicious and the service was warm and friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Revisited this wonderful restaurant for lunch today. As before, we found the whole experience magic. The gardens of this beautiful old building create a wonderful ambience and the food, while limited in choice, is truly excellent. Jane goes to a great deal of trouble to make sure that your experience is memorable. We could not give it any higher recommendation, and look forward to one day being back In Tasmania to dine there again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, staff, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a beautiful relaxing time at the Riversedge Cafe. The staff were very friendly and gave fantastic service. The food was amazing, both in presentation and taste. Generous serves and average prices. A must do again place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Friends had visited this restaurant and said it was a lovely spot for lunch. So took a Sunday drive to check it out. Warm cosy place with wood heater burning, lovely for this time of year. Was greeted in such a warm lovely manner, guessing it was the owner. Not a large choice on offer, about six dishes. Varied from soups to salmon to pizza. Thought it was a little expensive for what we received. But lovely meals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Icetruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful little oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped here for lunch recently and had a wonderful meal. We were welcomed by the friendly owners who discussed the menu with us. There is the choice of sitting inside or on the balcony surrounded by a lovely garden.

I had a wonderful Chicken Risotto, which I would recommend. It would make a perfect venue for a wedding or similar function.

Despite the name the cafe is not on the River's Edge, however the garden is a wonderful little oasis.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Malbena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River's Edge Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The River's Edge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing