We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plovers Ridge Country Retreat
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our stay at Plovers Ridge was the best value we have experienced in a long time. The accommodation was everything we needed, including peaceful country outlook and the evening meal and breakfast prepared by Jeni was just superb. The hospitality shown to us by Jeni and Pete was perfect, just enough attention and we we left alone to enjoy the serenity. I would recommend Plovers Ridge without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Plovers Ridge Country Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Plovers Ridge, a little gem at Lilydale. Jeni was the perfect hostess. The view from our cottage was magnificent and our evening meal and breakfast, both brought to our door, were delicious. We will certainly pay a return visit to Plovers Ridge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeni N, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

thank you Adele, where better to enjoy a fresh home cooked meal than in the privacy and comfort of your cottage? We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have stayed with Pete & Jenny many times as our work takes us statewide.Plovers Ridge makes our work in the North something to look forward to with the all the comforts of home plus the tranquil setting & the fantastic meals that are all part of the Plovers ridge experience.A short 20 minute drive to Launceston makes it a great alternative to staying in the city.
Thank you Jen & Peter & hope to be back soon.
Greg & Jack Gard
Hobart

Room Tip: they're all good
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place is a very quite and relaxing place to spend a night away. Jeni brought a delicious gourmet dinner to our room and next morning we had a great breakfast in the sun, with a beautiful view over the valley. Would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Juan_Antonio_Cabello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeni N, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you Juan, isn't it great that in the middle of winter in Tasmania you can enjoy such gorgeous, sun drenched days?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This B &B is a small treasure. The views are wonderful and I loved the handmade feel of the cottage with its timber lining inside (myrtle) and bleached grey timber outside. The decor is country but not twee.(No lace!) My man and I both felt comfy. Bathroom is small but adequate and the place is very clean. Loved the high bed. We were very glad to have driven the extra 20 minutes from Launceston to be looking over the best rural views I have seen in a long time. We arrived at dusk and found the entry easily from the extra boards put up. Everything was ready for us on our arrival with heating on and the table set for our prearranged meal - lamb shanks ! and pudding which came at the times we asked for. Our dinner and breakfast were excellent and different than usual b&b fare, which we appreciated. Our hostess Jeni made us feel welcome from start but left us to enjoy the quiet space with ease. Wish we had booked for longer!

Room Tip: BYO wine - bought earlier in the day. No electric blankets - Hot water bottles supplied. Water conse...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete n, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank You Martina, we are so glad that you share in our enjoyment of the views, and of the food. We are fortunate to have a great range of locally grown fresh and organic produce with which to prepare our meals.
Situated on the Tamar Valley Wine Route, we are now stocking a select range of the fine local wines. In addition to those hotties, electric blankets will now be provided during cooler months.
cheers, Pete n Jeni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilydale
13.5 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
369 reviews
13.5 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,539 reviews
12.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
13.3 mi away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
12.9 mi away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 31 in Launceston
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plovers Ridge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plovers Ridge Country Retreat

Address: 132 Lalla Rd | Launceston, Lilydale, Launceston, Tasmania 7268, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Lilydale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lilydale
Price Range: $110 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes north of Launceston, Plovers Ridge has comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom cottages overlooking the peaceful Lilydale valley. Tariff includes a full cooked breakfast served in the privacy of your accommodation. Nearby beaches, Hollybank Treetops Adventure, mountain bike tracks, Bridestowe Lavender Farm, bushwalking and on the Wine Route, You can be as active (or as inactive) as you please. Wholesome, fresh & tasty dinners available by prior arrangement. Retreat to the countryside at Plovers Ridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plovers Ridge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing