We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“King Island Holiday Village and Tours”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in King Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Island Holiday Village
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“King Island Holiday Village and Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I recently took a team to King Island to capture landscape images for an ad campaign. We stayed at the King Island Holiday Village and we were guided by Ian and Lucinda on our tour of the island. We spent an action packed 8 days on the Island and were blown away by the level of service and commitment shown by Ian and Lucinda. Their combined knowledge gathered over some 35 years was indispensable to our project as they seemed to know every inch of the island and with their amazing vehicles and driving skills(!!!) they were able to put us in the best spots at the best moment, in all weather so we were guaranteed to get the very specific shots we needed. Aside from the actual job of getting a team of 8 to very remote locations at dawn and dusk for days in succession, Ian and Lucinda were able to provide extremely comfortable accommodation in Grassy along with some truly memorable restaurant quality meals served with passion and enthusiasm. One of the highlights was the the fillet of beef with all the vegetables, wine and white tablecloth served out of the back of the OKA (truck) at the calcified forest- Beef was perfectly medium rare! I would strongly recommend that you contact Ian and Lucinda if you are planning a trip, holiday, photo or food tour of King Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingislandtravel, Owner at King Island Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you Jon for writing this review. It was a real pleasure to tour your company and for me personally to be mentored along the way by somebody as gifted and talented in the photgraphy world as yourself... Thanks again for the tips and your referral to our business in accommodation and touring...Regards Ian & Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Fantastic hosts, I was collected at the airport and returned (very refreshing), great 4wd tour, I was able to see so much more than expected, warm accommodation with lovely meals. Great way to see the Island. Very professional couple, highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancerA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingislandtravel, Owner at King Island Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We both thank you for going to the trouble of writing a review. We recognise that so many people rely on whats written on tripadvisor. It is a powerful motivator to other travellers in making an informed decision, So thank you once again Ian & Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

A visit to King Island is an experience I would highly recommend. Ian and Lucinda were delightful hosts, during our 4 day 'King Island Experience', keen to share their passion for their island home. Although the weather was windy, cool and at times showery, the sights were stunning, amazing morning teas, lunches and dinners featured local produce, and the local people were generous in their welcome. It was wonderful to wake to a view of the coastline from my room. Ian and Lucinda's knowledge and enthusiasm about the history, geography, nature and modern day life made our tour interesting and memorable. Thanks for an amazing few days! Ruth

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingislandtravel, Owner at King Island Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Ruth it was such a pleasure to have meet you ,tour you and read your favourable comments about our property,hospitality,food and most of all the passion that you have shared about ourIsland to fellow readers. Thanks for your review !! Ian & Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just returned from a whorl-wind weekend on King Island.
The Islands beauty was only surpassed by the generosity of spirit of the Islanders themselves.

We were greeted at the airport by Ian, Lucinda and Jim. Our bags were collected and we were gently encouraged/herded? onto our bus.
Morning tea was the first port of call, Devonshire tea at a local café… Mmmmm! King Island cream.
A morning of sightseeing and then lunch at the Boathouse Restaurant where BYO doesn’t just mean alcohol, it includes food!! A picturesque little place that beautifully reflects the community spirit.
More sight-seeing in Currie and Grassy and then back to our accommodation to find our bags tagged and sorted ready for our respective rooms. We stayed in the motel and found our room to be spacious, warm, and clean.
We were greeted in the upstairs lounge to champagne and cheese before one last sojourn out to watch the little penguins come home for the night and then back for dinner.
Dinner was where Ian shined. His passion for the island and its produce was clearly evident, presenting us with a myriad of dishes which included delicious pickled abalone, smoked eel, salmon, oysters and yummy rock lobster. All followed by rich chocolate pudding.
The gorgeous views of the ocean from the dining room were a wonderful backdrop to breakfast and coffee the next morning.
We were then off for a morning of touring KI’s spectacular coastline.
Back to the motel for a relaxed lunch where Ian served perfectly cooked, mouth wateringly tender roast beef and vege. Gorgeous!
A quick stop at the Fromagerie for cheese tasting and last minute purchases on the way to the airport ended our memorable weekend.
A big thank you to Ian, Lucinda and all the gang for a fabulous visual and culinary experience. You successfully managed our 20+ group with a lovely blend of professionalism and good humour.

Andrew and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingislandtravel, Owner at King Island Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Wow Lorraine you certainly covered your weekend to the readers of tripadvisor !! I must say that the group of 20 were a delight to cater for and tour around the Island. We often reflect back on the events that unfolded over those couple of days especially the comoratory of respect and warmth that everybody had for Jim, not leaving out the moment I watched him blow his birthday candles out and that moving randition of song by Heather to Jim. It will stay in my mind for a long time, in fact all of you will . Please give a Hello to Andrew and thank you for writing the review
PS We did lunch for the Gooney Bird last weekend 28 people in total Regards Ian & Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Outstanding hospitality, adventure, beautiful locations, amazing lunches, and endless photographic opportunities, who wouldn't want to come to King Island. Having been to King Island 20 years ago & returning there last week, it was abundantly clear the enormous value of booking a tour with people who know the island. 20 years ago, we 'did our our own thing' & hired a car. I now realise how much I didn't see. Last week, Ian and Lucinda took our group out in the Oka, a 4 wheel drive, to the most exquisite locations off the beaten track, and rewarded us with 5 star lunches out in the bush. Every detail is considered with all aspect of the tours with Ian & Lucinda. With the added bonus of it being a photography tour, I couldn't ask for anything else. Because of the size of our group, we stayed in the Wave Rider Lodge. The rooms were very comfortable, and there was a communal bathroom. We had to provide our own tea & coffee, and the supply of loo paper became quite 'critical'. Grassy is a very small town on the south east side of the island & is about 30+ km from the main town, Currie. I can't wait to return to King Island again, hopefully in Spring to enjoy the beautiful flowers.

Room Tip: All rooms faced the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Ian and Lucinda were fantastic hosts, we had a great day with some other adventurers with ian and lucindas 4WD tour. The white table cloth lunch of local beef was amazing, the 4WD exciting.
Many thanks Ian for sourcing the fantastic crayfish, wallaby and for catching me a lovely fish!
Heather and Dave, strathalbyn SA

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heatherym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Travelling with my 86 year old Dad and husband who has difficulties walking can be a challenge but Lucinda and Ian made our whole trip a breeze. The big day out in the 4WD bus will remain a special memory for a long time.
Our accommodation was great - clean and spacious, with nice linen and towels. The picnic they provided was huge and the cray made for delicious eating. You can get much better than a cray that Ian caught, cooked and cut up ready to eat.
Every little detail was thought of and we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twotravellers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King Island hotels
9.0 mi away
Baudins - King Island
Baudins - King Island
#2 of 2 in Naracoopa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
8.4 mi away
Island Breeze Motel
Island Breeze Motel
#1 of 3 in Currie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
8.7 mi away
King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Portside Links
Portside Links
#6 of 11 in King Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
10.9 mi away
King Island Scenic Retreat
King Island Scenic Retreat
#1 of 1 in Naracoopa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Island Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Island Holiday Village

Property: King Island Holiday Village
Address: 1A Blue Gum Drive, King Island, Tasmania, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > King Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in King Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing