We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" A Perfect Week"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King Island Accommodation Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“" A Perfect Week"”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have just experienced a great week on King Island staying at Naracoopa Cottages. John and Rhonda were the perfect hosts greeting us warmly and taking the time to show us all the facilities and added extras that are available - games, bikes, rods, books, plus, plus. We mainly went to locate the birds on the island but also to relax and fish at our leisure and experience the local cuisine. John willingly shared his knowledge of the island and where best to locate the birds including the California Quail and the other Tasmanian endemics. We travelled most of the dusty roads and it was wonderful to return each day to the immaculately presented gardens, to sit and overlook the ever peaceful view of the Bay. We enjoyed the company of their two friendly dogs as well. This place is a credit to them both and we have no hesitation in recommending Naracoopa Cottages as a place to stay. Meg and Brian Johnson, Bribie Island Qld

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks Meg & Brian,
It seemed to us that you did have the perfect week; out and about every day yet leaving enough time to relax in the gardens back home at your cottage. That's the way to enjoy a holiday, sight-seeing yet not pushing yourselves, well done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    33
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
96
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lochinvar, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Graeme and I loved Naracoopa. The cottages we shared with another couple was lovely. John and Rhonda were lovely hosts and even shared their beautiful garden with me. The view was breath taking. I do miss my daily walks to the wharf.
Janine and Graeme, Lochinvar NSW

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks Janine & Graeme,
it was a pleasure having you all here and glad you enjoyed our slice of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantirna, Victoria
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Naracoopa Cottages has the ocean, the beach, the spotless cottage with all the facilities you need, down to paper towel, cling wrap and even a thermos to take out. Hosts John & Rhonda serve with a passion, but without intrusion. The games room was fun until husband seriously improved his darts game! Our first visit was three days, our second was twelve. Good decision. Hope to be back before too long. It's a home away from home. With no traffic or traffic lights, the peace and fresh air soon dissolve away any stress. John's meticulously kept lawns, complete with blue wrens make a relaxing setting to enjoy a good book and a cuppa. If you want Paradise this side of the grave, Naracoopa Holiday Cottages is the place to be.

Room Tip: Take warm clothes, including very warm parka or jacket. Even in hot weather it may be needed. King I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandprincess5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful comments especially about the little Blue Wrens, they are just so tame (and cheeky) and we also have to agree, this is a little slice of paradise.
Yes there is no traffic although we did get caught up in a traffic jam once, we accidently did a turn right into the middle of a funeral procession.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We shared the two king bedroom unit for a week over Christmas 2013 with another couple. John and Rhonda were very gracious hosts. the accommodation is spotless, crisp white sheets on the king bed just lovely. Ocean breeze and lulling of the waves at night perfect. Two happy smiling faces of a morning in the shape of Bessie and Percy the dogs were a delight.
The Island has plenty to see and do. Even a indoor heated pool at Curry. The locals are all very friendly and happy to share information with visitors.
David and Trish, Raworth. NSW

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks David & Trish for taking the time to post your comments. Glad you enjoyed King Island and our cottages over the Christmas period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We recently stayed for four nights in the two bedroom cottage. The booking process was efficient and we received prompt confirmation. This was soon followed by a confirmation letter containing maps and other tourist information about King Island. John also arranged a rental vehicle for us to collect at the airport.
The cottage was very clean and contained every appliance you need in self contained accommodation. The main bedroom contained a very comfortable king size bed and a selection of wonderfully comfortable pillows. Great assets when you are travelling.
John is a long term resident of King Island and provided comprehensive advice on attractions and the 'way of life' on King Island.
Our highlight was the night we were the only people on the beach when the fairy penguins came ashore. An unforgettable experience.
We had a wonderful time at Naracoopa Cottages and recommend them for either short or long term stay on King Island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobbieGeoffK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to endorse our cottages, we endeavor to go that little extra with our accommodation and with our guests so we appreciate the feedback.
The Fairy Penguins are amazing little creatures, certainly worth the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Private, well maintained cottage with EVERYTHING. Thermos, chairs BBQ pit etc. Staff extremely helpful and attentive. We enjoyed our stay and would love to return and stay longer. A great place to chill out or take quiet drives and view all the wildlife of the island. Recommend this accomodation without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gungtong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you,
We try to provide everything in the cottages to make it like a home away from home.
Happy you enjoyed it and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Enjoyed my stay immensely. Cottage had everything that one could wish for, very thoughtfully furnished. John and Rhonda were gracious hosts, available but not intrusive. Am very keen for a return visit. Only negative aspect is the lack of control over the weather!!! Be prepared for wet and windy days but when it is fine it is absolutely gorgeous. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your King Island adventure, and that your cottage was nice and cosy.
Hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King Island hotels
0.9 mi away
King Island Rocky Glen Retreat by the Beach
0.3 mi away
Baudins - King Island
Baudins - King Island
#2 of 2 in Naracoopa
3 reviews
13.7 mi away
Island Breeze Motel
Island Breeze Motel
#1 of 3 in Currie
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Portside Links
Portside Links
#6 of 11 in King Island
13 reviews
2.6 mi away
King Island Scenic Retreat
King Island Scenic Retreat
#1 of 1 in Naracoopa
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Island Accommodation Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Island Accommodation Cottages

Property: King Island Accommodation Cottages
Address: 125 The Esplanade | King Island, King Island, Tasmania 7256, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > King Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in King Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Island Accommodation Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of Paradise: Stunning views from comfortable & delightful cottages 50 metres from romantic Sea Elephant Bay Beach. On the East Coast away from the prevailing Westerlies. 3.5 Star Fully self contained private & secluded set in garden/park like surrounds. Enjoy the serenity & tranquility of Naracoopa, the clean crisp air of King Island, wander along miles of sandy deserted unspoilt beaches and check out the gorgeous rock pools. Meander along quiet bush tracks or to the Jetty just 1km away. Dine at great restaurants, eat King Island produce. Peace for the soul and solace for the frayed nerves. Tourist Industry Council of Tasmania accredited. Rainbow LGBT Accreditation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your King Island Accommodation Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing