We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King Island Accommodation Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Perfect place to base your exploration of King island. Silence, ocean views, clean rooms and comfy bed! Morning greetings from Wrens and the smile of Bessie the dog. Such a great place on such a magic Island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

it's great the way the little Blue Wrens are not afraid of people, they'll come right up to your plate and help themselves, yes King Island is magic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 191 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

The cottage is simplicity and comfort personified, with everything you need and a great situation and aspect. Lovingly manicured gardens with enchanted blue wrens just add to the ease and pleasure of the place. Such a great spot to launch your forays on the island from.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank gregory d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thanks for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed in the one bedroom cottage and it had everything you could possibly want. The glad wrap & foil supplied was very handy when I needed to wrap my lunch. I had taken my own esky & cooler bricks but these were even supplied.

The view out the windows across the lovey well kept yard & gardens across to the beach was perfect at any time of the day.

It was 20 minutes across to Currie but I would not have stayed any where else, it is a beautiful part of the Island. Lovely place to have a quiet walk along the beach which is on the doorstep of the cottages.

John was very helpful and even booked the restaurant for me my first night. It was a great recommendation, I went back the next night.

If you needed anything John with his lovely dog, was there to assist. The sole of my boot had come apart and John glued it
back together for me.

I would highly recommend Naracoopa as the place to stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

It was a pleasure having you here, we also think Naracoopa is the best part of the island.
I hope your boot is still holding together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

John and Rhonda supplied everything we needed for a relaxing and enjoyable three days. It was great to have a loan of fishing gear, go down to the jetty, catch a large salmon and come back and cook it on John's well designed and spotlessly clean barbecue. He made us welcome and was very helpful with local information. His brother Bert just down the road also cooks fine meals using local cheeses and beef. King Island is a great place to just relax and I don't think you would do better than these cottages.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

We hope you enjoyed the Salmon, cooking on the wood-fired bbq adds that little extra flavor we reckon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

From the delightful, charming cottage, to the warm and friendly hosts, this is the place to stay when visiting King Island. Every need has been catered for, the setting is superb, the beautiful beach, just a stones throw away, the friendly dog just tops thing off! With it's magnificent scenery, incredible cheese and beef, relaxed, friendly atmosphere, King Island is certainly THE place to have a lovely break. Thankyou, we will definitely be back !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 757AndrewD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thanks for the great review.
We agree - the setting can't be beat on King Island.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had the 2 bedroom cottage for 7 nights and could not have asked for more. John and Rhonda provided a very comfortable cottage with everything you could need or want to enjoy your stay. There are even stools, an esky and thermos to take a picnic lunch on a day trip. The collection of maps, brochures and local DVD's were so useful - it's a pity we didn't have time to watch them all!

The grounds were well taken care of, providing a fantastic view from the living area, patio or picnic area out the front, of the lovely grassed waterfront.

The open fire/barbeque area was very neat, with tables, seats, shelter and everything you could need to cook up a storm!

A short stroll down the driveway and you were on the beach with lots to see and lovely places to walk.

Helpful and friendly, John and Rhonda were lovely hosts and a wealth of information for the curious tourist. Definately a fantastic place to stay.

Cath and Heather (from Sydney and Mildura)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathh734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks Heather and Cath,
It was a pleasure having you stay here.
It certainly showed that you enjoyed your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Not too many Nebraskans have ever found King Island, Tasmania, but we will try and "talk it up" back home. Lovely place, great facilities, helpful hosts ... what more can one ask for? John ... again many thanks for your help when we woke up to find our rental car had not one but TWO flat tires !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Glad King Island could show a couple of Yanks an enjoyable stay.
Aussies only get one flat tyre at a time. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King Island hotels
1 mi away
King Island Rocky Glen Retreat by the Beach
13.6 mi away
Island Breeze Motel
Island Breeze Motel
#1 of 3 in Currie
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baudins - King Island
Baudins - King Island
#2 of 2 in Naracoopa
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Portside Links
Portside Links
#6 of 11 in King Island
14 reviews
9.7 mi away
King Island Holiday Village
King Island Holiday Village
#3 of 11 in King Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Island Accommodation Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Island Accommodation Cottages

Address: 125 The Esplanade | King Island, King Island, Tasmania 7256, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > King Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in King Island
Price Range: $99 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Island Accommodation Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of Paradise: Stunning views from comfortable & delightful cottages 50 metres from romantic Sea Elephant Bay Beach. On the East Coast away from the prevailing Westerlies. 3.5 Star Fully self contained private & secluded set in garden/park like surrounds. Enjoy the serenity & tranquility of Naracoopa, the clean crisp air of King Island, wander along miles of sandy deserted unspoilt beaches and check out the gorgeous rock pools. Meander along quiet bush tracks or to the Jetty just 1km away. Dine at great restaurants, eat King Island produce. Peace for the soul and solace for the frayed nerves. Tourist Industry Council of Tasmania accredited. Rainbow LGBT Accreditation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your King Island Accommodation Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing