We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to get away from it all (and pop the question!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King Island Accommodation Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My now Fiance and I returned from a long weekend away from the hustle and bustle of Melbourne city, being from Ireland and the country it was like stepping back home for the weekend (minus the long flight) the lush green rolling hills and the sea air was great. Our experience started before we arrived with John providing some great advice on some of the quirks of King island like booking in advance to the restaurants, which can be a problem if you are not aware of it and eating is part of the experience on King Island. The hospitality of John & Rhona was fantastic. The cottages are perfect for what we needed all the basics plus more, as John correctly said you get more that just a room. There is a wood fired barbeque out the front, picnic tables and chairs available for that romantic picnic up the coast a games room and heaps of books and dvds. There was also lot of Information of local attractions and walks etc.I would highly recommend getting some of the famous King Island beef, some cheese and having a steak night there is just something about cooking those steaks on a wood fired barbie with the view that will be remembered for a very long time. We spent 4 days 3 nights on King Island and got to drive to all of the main spots (watching out for the wallabies) the car hire was even organised by John and Rhonda for us.
The room can get a bit cold at night as you would expect given King Islands location, but there are plenty of blankets, hot water bottles and even a gas heater to keep you toasty warm. The kitchen was well stocked with all the necessary utencils for cooking, making picnics, plenty of containers, foil, cling wrap etc. Hot water was always available to for showers washing etc. The surronding of the cottages are extremely well maintained and show the passion that John and Rhonda have in offering top quality accomadation and hospitality.
King Island is a beautiful place to escape to and was a beautiful place for the romantic proposal that happened, and I reacon that Naracoopa Holiday Cottages is one of if not the best spots on the island.
Thanks for such lovely memories
Keith & Anne-Marie

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keithfarrell2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Well done Keith & Anne-Marie,
You chose one of the most romantic places in Australia tp propose - Congratulations and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 191 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from celebrating our fortieth wedding anniversary at the Naracoopa Holiday Cottages. We were met by John and shown to our cottage which was spotlessly clean, bright and very comfortable. The location was ideal with the beach across the road and within easy access to the Rocky Glen Retreat restaurant for a beautiful dinner. The immaculately maintained grounds of the cottages are a credit to John and Rhonda. The location of the cottages on the east coast of the Island is ideal for a very relaxing break. Thank you John and Rhonda. We look forward to returning. Neil and Jan.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

No doubt that King Island, especially Naracoopa is a romantic destination, the perfect place for a wedding anniversary.
Congratulations Neil & Jan on your 40th, well done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from King Island staying at Naracoopa Holiday Cottages for 9 days. We found the accomodation bright,clean and comfortable with everything we required at hand. John & Rhonda looked after us very well, Rhonda giving us a tour of their gardens, veges & flowers. We found the location was ideal to take our trips out each day going to walks and points if interest all over the island including lighthouses and shipwreck sites. It was a delight to see the wallabies, pheasants,turkeys and peacocks wandering wild all over the island and of course the thousands of cattle which provide the milk for their outstanding cheeses and also the best steak we have ever tasted. A truly enthralling place to visit, with very attentive hosts. Thank you John & Rhonda. Ann & Barry.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoopa, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you Ann & Barry,
We're glad you enjoyed King Island and your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My wife and I found Naracoopa Cottages delightful for a base for touring King Is. For our our 3 day visit our cottage was attractive, spotless, comfortable in every way and beautifully distant from the noise of trafic or industry. The hosts, John and Rhonda had paid a lot of attention to detail when furnishing the cottage which provided a really homely atmosphere. A nearby restaurant provided first class a la carte dinners.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gandjarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoopa, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

We appreciatte the fact that you enjoyed the cottage and the peaceful location, we do strive to make our guests comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to lodge this favourable review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

These holiday cottages are set in an ideal location for the traveller who wants to find some peace and quiet. There are ample opportunities to visit local attractions or just stay in the cottages and enjoy the serenity. The hosts, Paul and Rhonda, are friendly with plenty of good advice, without intruding. Everything is supplied for your stay. The kitchen is well appointed for your cooking needs. The accommodation is comfortable and clean and nicely decorated with a beach theme. The gardens are well kept and there is plenty of wildlife around including birds and wallabies.

Room Tip: Need to bring all your food. No local shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RevGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoopa, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Thank you for your kind review of the cottages and location.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The cottages are cosy,comfortable and spotless set in well tended gardens overlooking Sea Elephant Bay. The hosts are professional and warm. The location is the cream of King Island-idyllic and tranquil
with all King Island scenic spots and attractions an easy drive or walk.You wake up to the sounds of native birds and the ocean. A true natural paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bladerunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoopa, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2011

What a generous review of our cottages! we do put the effort in to make our guests welcome and comfortable.
It makes it all worthwhile when we get such happy reviews as yours.
Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

From the moment we arrived to leaving a week later, our hosts John & Rhonda were friendly, helpful and attentive.

This was our first trip to King Island, but we will definately be back, and wouldn't consider staying elswhere.

The Cottage had everything we needed, and there was a well equipped Games Room with reading material, DVDs etc.

The grounds were beautiful and immaculately maintained, with a million dollar view from the front windows.

A hire car, (which John organised) is essential to see around the Island, with beaches, wild life and fishing that were marvelous.

We came for a rest, and John & Rhonda went out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

Thanks guys, we look forward to seeing you next time.

Steve & Wendy

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve_and_Wendy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoopa, Owner at King Island Accommodation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Hi Steve & Wendy,
Thanks for your complimentary words about our 'Slice of Paradise' we love it here also.
The extra day that you stayed must have worked, you both looked so refreshed and relaxed.
We look forward to your next visit and thanks for choosing our cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these King Island hotels
13.6 mi away
Island Breeze Motel
Island Breeze Motel
#1 of 3 in Currie
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baudins - King Island
Baudins - King Island
#2 of 2 in Naracoopa
4 reviews
10.6 mi away
Portside Links
Portside Links
#6 of 11 in King Island
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
King Island Scenic Retreat
King Island Scenic Retreat
#1 of 1 in Naracoopa
4 reviews
9.7 mi away
King Island Holiday Village
King Island Holiday Village
#3 of 11 in King Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Island Accommodation Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Island Accommodation Cottages

Address: 125 The Esplanade | King Island, King Island, Tasmania 7256, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > King Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in King Island
Price Range: $99 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Island Accommodation Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of Paradise: Stunning views from comfortable & delightful cottages 50 metres from romantic Sea Elephant Bay Beach. On the East Coast away from the prevailing Westerlies. 3.5 Star Fully self contained private & secluded set in garden/park like surrounds. Enjoy the serenity & tranquility of Naracoopa, the clean crisp air of King Island, wander along miles of sandy deserted unspoilt beaches and check out the gorgeous rock pools. Meander along quiet bush tracks or to the Jetty just 1km away. Dine at great restaurants, eat King Island produce. Peace for the soul and solace for the frayed nerves. Tourist Industry Council of Tasmania accredited. Rainbow LGBT Accreditation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your King Island Accommodation Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing