We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious getaway in beautiful King Island”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Architectual luxury meets the Great Southern Ocean with breathtaking views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Architectual luxury meets the Great Southern Ocean with breathtaking views
Views from every window
Boot room entrance
Dining in style
Floor to ceiling windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
King Island, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alana B
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Luxurious getaway in beautiful King Island”
Reviewed December 27, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We had the most amazing few days at Porky beach house! Alex and Russel were the most generous and welcoming hosts, organising a car for our stay, recommending countless things to do and making us feel at home on King Island. The house is truly amazing. With breathtaking views from every room and beautiful decor, it was very hard to leave! We spent many hours on the deck and in the spa and sauna, drinking wine and wallaby spotting. With the advice of Alex and Russell, we went surfing at Martha Lavinia (and were the only ones on the beach!), played golf at Cape Wickham... one of the best courses in Australia, saw the spectacular views at Seal Rocks and the petrified forest, swam in the magnificent blue water at Phoques beach and tasted the best cheese in the world at the King Island cheese factory (just down the road!) Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea P
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay on King Island!”
Reviewed December 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Alex, thank you so much for an incredible weekend getaway at your beautiful property, although we do already live on King Island, it was the perfect place to unwind from our busy schedules, just what we needed! We couldn’t have felt more relaxed and content during our stay, we didn’t want it to end!! Your passion shines through in every detail of the house, such a well designed and modern style but still manages to feel cosy and just like home at the same time. The sauna is the most beautiful I have ever seen and spending the evening in the hot tub watching the sunset is something that can only be experienced at Porky Beach house. A truly wonderful weekend, made extra special by you Alex! Thank you xo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron B
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
“A Porky Good Place”
Reviewed December 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Where do you start when reviewing the Porky Beach House?

From the time you walk in the front for until the time you sadly have to leave, Porky Beach House is so impressive. Your wonderful host Alex will ensure that nothing is short of exceptional when staying at the house.

Attention to detail shines through in every room. From the fully equiped kitchen, the hot tub and sauna, the beautifully prepared bedrooms and the relaxing lounge... Everything is just perfect from the time you arrive.

To go with the amazing inside, every night you are treated to stunning sunsets and visits from the local wallabies from the front deck.

I was visiting King Island to photograph the island for my work and only stayed 2 days, but I wish I could have stayed 2 weeks. I found myself getting excited everyday for the potential to create some beautiful images of the Island incorporating this beautiful property.

A short drive either direction to the world class golf courses, this property sits perfectly in the middle of loads of attractions.

An absolute credit to Alex and Russ who have prepared this home so very, very well. I will be back, multiple times... I'll find an excuse! :)

Thanks! Cam

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JB2041
Balmain, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed December 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Alexandra made us so welcome & nothing was too much trouble for her. Whether lighting the sauna, sourcing delicious food - the crayfish ❤️❤️
The fourth bedroom is small so you need to know the other guests well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S8515XNro...
King Island, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream Engagement At Porky's Beach Retreat!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I just want to say a huge thanks to both Alexandra and Russell for helping make mine, and my 'now' wife to be's engagement a day we will never forget.
From the writing in the sand "will you marry me? i love you, to the romantic picnic on the beach, i cant thank you guys enough, i appreciate all the effort and time you guys put in to make it a very special moment.
I couldnt ask for a better turn out, she even said yes!!!
The beach house retreat was simply amazing! we both fell in love from the moment Alexandra showed as around, it was definitely an experience we wo'nt forget, and i would recommend it to anyone. Thanks agian guys and we look forward to seeing you again!

https://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g504306-d3182576-r542352335-King_Island_Breaks-King_Island_Tasmania.html#

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sheer luxury for tired golfers”
Reviewed November 10, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

If you are intending to travel to King Island to play golf, then this is the accommodation to book. Alexandra is the most wonderful caring host and she could not do enough to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The Beach House is extremely well appointed, with an excellent kitchen, comfortable beds and a cosy lounge area with log fire.

Located in one of the island's most scenic little bays, surrounded by dramatic colourful heath land and brimming with wildlife, what more could you ask. Well for starters, ask Alexandra to supply some of those big oysters and juicy King Island steaks she laid on at our request - what a feast.

The wind was blowing hard out on the course during our stay making for difficult and tiring golf, so it was a real treat to come back to the hot tub out on the deck and soak tired limbs. Then jump into the sauna and then back into the tub etc., what a treat.

Thanks Alexandra again, and we cant recommend your establishment high enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob N
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five Star facility with Six Star Service. Amazing!”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Porky Beach House, King Island, Tasmania.
Magnificent four bedroom beach house overlooking a private beach in an idyllic, world-class setting. Everything has been thought of - outstanding facilities and features, including a barrel sauna with a glass window to the world over the ocean, a hot spa for after a swim or golf, every possible inclusion and feature in the house and the service from booking arrangements, to the initial welcome for our group of four golfers by our legendary host, Alex, with croissants, coffee and King Island cheeses and through to our departure, was something to behold. It got better! The setup and provisioning for our special dinner was fabulous - as good as any top restaurant and the crays provided by Russell were the best ever.
An amazing life experience. Warm thanks to Alex and Russell.
Rob, Carl, Stephen and Julian :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing