We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oyster Cove Inn - lipsmacking good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oyster Cove Inn

Oyster Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Kettering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oyster Cove Inn - lipsmacking good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

There was a brilliant vegetarian option - three cheese souffle - but the seafood of the area is the star. I only regret I ran out of tummyroom before I could finish the seafood platter. Almost twitching with freshness, cooked and plated with high respect to the quality ingredients. View over the harbour to gaze at while sipping a good sauv blanc. Lived up to every expectation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scrooge McDukk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    63
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
322 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good Pub, Good food, Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Eat, drink and be merry at this place. Oysters, seafood, steak - whatever. A decent feed with a great desert

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bukbuk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything perfect for family outing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Our group ordered Seafood Platter, Fish and Chips, Grilled Salmon, and Steak - all perfectly cooked and presented. Ample servings for the hungry traveller and local. Beautiful and tranquil setting with views of the Cove, moored yachts and Bruny Island plus an area for children to run and explore. Much better value for money than other pub and restaurant meals in Tasmania.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Started off by ringing to enquire if a booking was required and was told, "yes definitely as we have been doing a lot of business over the last few days" Made a booking and arrived early to have a drink prior to the meal. Escorted to our table and ordered in good time and drink was also served in good time. Thats where the "good" started and finished. Waited an hour and twenty minutes for our main course to arrive and when it did, my crumbed scallops had been cooked to the point where they were dry, crunchy bits of what could have been anything. My wife's Tempura battered Blue eye's batter was a good 1/8th of an inch thick and not cooked through. She ate most of hers after scraping all the batter off, but I was able to eat about two scallops after cutting away as much burnt crumb as possible. The waitress when clearing our plates remarked that it looked like it was a bit over cooked, good observation. When we paid I again remarked that the scallops were overcooked the second waitress just informed me that she had them a few days ago and they were beautiful. She also told me that they weren't prepared for the numbers they were getting and the kitchen had been understaffed which was a little different to what I had been told when booking. A simple apology would have been enough but didn't get that, just excuses. Will be advising my friends to stay away as well. They may have thought we were tourists just passing through but we are locals and won't be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TerryRawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poor Food, Expensive (Strangest Souffle ever)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

The location of this waterfront hotel is lovely, but would recommend for drink only !!

The service is friendly & welcoming but the menu is expensive, & even though on paper the choices look interesting, in reality did not work & was just a poor food experience. We ordered the soufflé and after waiting more than 40 mins ( in a restaurant that had just 2 other tables) it arrived.

The wait was appropriate for a traditional cheese soufflé, however when it arrived it was a complete surprise to find the soufflé was actually a tower of cold cream cheese & other types of cheese ( not able to discern) forced into a mould and served with luke warm salsa.

I love cheese, but even I could not eat this combination of cold fat & with unique accompaniment & was not described as such on menu !!

So check the menu carefully !!! but as said, eat elsewhere but enjoy a drink & the view.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MazzAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Cove Inn also viewed

Kettering, Tasmania
Woodbridge, Tasmania
 

Been to Oyster Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing