We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of The Cove Kettering

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cove Kettering
Ranked #1 of 3 Kettering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Bronwyn is the owner, and full of verve and information to use. The accommodation is relatively new and so contemporary and inviting. I felt like a princess staying here. All the mod cons you could need. The cove, is a stones throw away from the ferry which takes you to Brunie Island and around the corner from delightful, Peppermint Bay and Woodbridge.

My first night there, Bronwyn cooked an awesome dinner and we chatted like we were old friends, over a glass of wine. Visiting here is a must for anyone going to the Apple Isle (Tsasmania)

Room Tip: Both rooms overlook the bay, neither is better than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freespirited60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I'm delighted that your stay was everything that you hoped for and can't wait for your return trip to Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
161
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything was wonderful. The room was absolutely perfect - looks like the pictures. Very comfy bed. Bronwyn and Ross (and Lucy) are lovely hosts. Lots of local knowledge and tips. We highly recommend dinner - Bronwyn cook a spectacular slow cooked lamb shoulder - locally procured - it was one of the best meals we have had! Breakfast was beautiful fresh fruit and then a cooked breakfast with lots of locally procured choices! We would recommend The Cove and will return great spot. Thank you Bronwyn and Ross.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review, 'The Cove' strives to make a difference through her food and service and can't wait to see you on your return journey to Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The stay with Bronwyn and Ross at their beautifully designed B&B was an experience that I would rate as out of this world. The time Bronwyn and Ross take to ensure you are comfortable, well fed and at home is amazing. Bronwyn's dishes are always delightful, and the little touches she adds to the meal make it so much more than a home made dish! Oyster Cove is a beautiful place tucked away south of Hobart, and a place not to be missed, especially if you're heading over to Bruny Island - next time we will make it there and maybe manage to pull ourselves away from The Cove's luxury :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_Bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated and hope to see you again on your next trip to Tassie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Thanks Bronwyn for being so welcoming to us on our recent Tasmanian travels. The position of the the cove is simply spectacular,with views to die for. What with the combination of the view and the amazing mattress,,,, my husband persuaded Bronwyn to give me breakfast in bed,,oh sshhhh,sorry should i have mentioned that. Thanks again x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review and hope to see you on your return trip to Tasmania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Kilda West, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Cove Kettering with our wonderful hosts Bronwyn and Ross. As other reviewers have noted, the facility is new (opened in February, 2012), modern and comfortable. There are only three spacious suites so every guest receives the utmost in personalized service. The food is lovingly prepared, the amenities are first-rate and the view of the harbor is spectacular. With its proximity to Hobert, Bruny Island and the Huon Valley, I can't imagine why anyone would want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_and_Aude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review it very encouraging. Hope to see you on your return trip to Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The view from our spacious and modern room was amazing. The apartment was stunning, with touches of luxury in the decor and furnishings. Our hosts prepared us the most amazing slow-cooked roast lamb dinner - the best we have ever enjoyed.

Excellent service, a quite and convenient location (20 minutes to Hobart) and stunning views. We look forward to a return visit and a longer stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and face the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review it's greatly appreciated. Can't wait to see you on your return visit to Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband & I have a short trip to Tasmania during Christmas holidays. We stayed two nights at The Cove Kettering. It is a great place which is spacious, comfortable and modern just as displayed in their website.

Bronwyn & Ross are lovely couple and hosts, they are always happy to provide information you need. Bronwyn makes good dishes and Ross makes good coffee - perfect match! Should you wake up early in the morning, you can also take a beautiful photo of dawn from your private balcony. Thanks Bronwyn & Ross, sharing this beautiful house with us and we will come again for the heating floor and French fireplace in winter.

We will recommend The Cove Kettering to anyone who wants to visit the Bruny Island, Huon River or the Tahune Airwalk.

Room Tip: The Cove have three hugh suites on the ground floor, all facing the same direction - Bruny Island. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piphk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay and can't wait to see you in winter, with the fire roaring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettering
17.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
17.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
17.4 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
17.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
16.4 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#16 of 48 in Hobart
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Kettering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Kettering

Property: The Cove Kettering
Address: 3 Oxleys Rd, Kettering, Tasmania 7155, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Kettering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kettering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cove Kettering 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our three spacious suites are luxuriously appointed. Each has its own en-suite with walk-in shower, heated flooring and heated towel rails. Wake up to views of Little Oyster Cove from your own private balcony, or relax in comfort with heating throughout. We also have a lounge and dining area available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cove Kettering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Kettering Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing