We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, beautiful & fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arjuna Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Kettering B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, beautiful & fabulous location”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at Arjuna Ridge Retreat and wished we could have stayed forever. What an amazing place with such a beautiful view. We just sat on our little private patio and gazed at it. The pool was very nice as the weather was warm. Hosts friendly and helpful, local shop amazing with cherries, Bruny island cheeses and Bruny island oysters etc which we put together as a lovely picnic. Lots of things to do in the area like the Bruny Is Cruise - we will come back for that one and we will definately be back to Arjuna, we loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arjuna Ridge R, Owner at Arjuna Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
It is so lovely to hear people love being here, we never tire of our magnificent view and really enjoy sharing it with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Green Point, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location is perfect atop a ridge with ocean views. The owners have horses, acolyte of lovely Labradors and there is other wildlife in abundance. Watch out for wallabies,rabbits, varied bird life.
Arjuna ridge is perfectly located if you are going to Bruny island or touring around the region, asits only 5 mins to the ferry. The b and b is comfortable and quite well appointed. Like other reviewers I wonder what the point of the microwave is as there are no plates, bowls to put anything on to put in the microwave. I know you can ask for them, but would it be a lot easier just to haves few items there. The coffee, I agree, instant is something you don't expect at this type of accommodation . oyster cove inn is a great place to eat, highly recommended
We did the bruny island boating trip...not to be missed, the scenery and wildlife are jaw dropping lay beautiful. Overall we enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJay2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arjuna Ridge R, Owner at Arjuna Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It is always lovely to hear people love our location, it is indeed beautiful and unique. In relation to the comment on the microwave etc we have no cooking facilities in the rooms and do not offer cooking facilities apart from the toaster and kettle, and a fridge for milk and fruit juice we provide as part of the continental breakfast included in the tarrif. We provide the microwave as a courtesy to guests who occasionally like to warm up a pizza or take away food and are very happy under those circumstances to provide any crockery or cutlery required apon request. However in house meal preparation is not provided for and guests almost always dine in one of the fine local eating establishments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Great customer service, beautiful views, lovey good size room. Breakfast was nice. Bottle of wine and fudge a lovely touch. Be aware that it is down an unsealed road (bit of a worry in the hire car). Very clean except there was a little mould in the shower. DVD "library" had about 10 movies but still a good feature. Would have been nice if the pool was accessible toguests. All in all, a great place to stay with nice hosts and a beautiful view, would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nessa23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arjuna Ridge R, Manager at Arjuna Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
It is always lovely to hear how people love our view it brings us joy every day it is so beautiful. Re the swimming pool it is most definately accessibly to guests in fact we love to see them use it we feel sorry that the guests missed out on a swim. The guest information booklet does say guests can use the pool anytime but we will tell guests at check in in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here in early spring as a base for the Bruny Is cruise which was wonderful. Very close to Kettering where the cruise picked us up. It was great and the views sensational. Our room, the China room had the most gorgeous silk scrolls and antique furniture and was really spacious and comfortable. A really beautiful place and highly recommended.

Room Tip: we loved the China room but the bruny room had a nice little private courtyard which looked tempting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billboy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The best things about Arjuna are the stunning view, the peaceful quiet location, and the comfortable bed and pillows with excellent quality bedlinen.
It would be helpful if travel directions were sent with the Booking Confirmation; and mention of the dirt road and very steep approach would be handy too.
We improvised simple light cold meals most evenings. For lunches we went to cafes and restaurants in the area but in the evenings the last thing we wanted to do was drive on the narrow dirt road and risk adding to the copious amounts of roadkill we saw everywhere in the Channel/Huon area. So we picnic-ed in our room but the lack of plates and knives was a nuisance. It would be helpful to have just a couple of plates and knives and a bottle opener already in the room on arrival, without having to ask for them.
There were adequate supplies of teabags and sachets of instant coffee; but I did not expect instant coffee at breakfast. It was what I liked least in this accommodation. Instant coffee is standard in motels, but I feel it is not appropriate in a "boutique retreat"! Perhaps a small plunger and suitable ground coffee could be provided with breakfast (even if there is just instant coffee for later in the day).
The breakfast provisions were adequately, not generously, apportioned - except for the delicious local apple juice, which was abundant. Milk replenishment had the owner making a second trip to our room each evening to bring it because it wasn't included when he brought the next morning's provisions - which is strange as milk was required each morning for cereal and tea/coffee. The quantity of bread provided for toasting always seemed miserable (i.e. adequate but barely so), capped off on the last day when there were pieces so small as to be unsuitable for putting in the toaster. Similarly the tiny little slices of fruit bread were hard to handle for toasting.
The beautiful resident dogs are friendly. Watch out for the mosquitoes though; they were so active in the evenings that I was forced to retreat back inside, sadly.
Heating is via reverse-cycle air-conditioner, and is very effective. Electric blanket on the bed was a cosy touch and much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quintrowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjunaridgeBB, Owner at Arjuna Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
(March 2015) Just wanted to say thanks for the feedback - we are the new owners and have made some improvements based on the feedback here - thanks so much! We now offer evening meal options, and the road has been improved! We serve delicious local plunger coffee and everything else is also locally sourced, and high quality! We also have plates, bowls etc in your room so no need to ask for anything! We hope you come back and enjoy the changes!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A wonderful place to stay - Arjuna Ridge Retreat is exactly a treat! Rebecca and Rob are great hosts and will cater for any needs.Perfect views all around and friendly Labradors to greet you at your back door, opening up to beautiful sights of the islands, water and luscious green fields.

Thank you,
Jacquie and Scott - Canberra

Room Tip: A peaceful time away from city life in any room that you stay. Each room has a theme - where the fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquieWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the India room, beautiful furnishings and the view was gorgeous. Loved that breakfast was provided in the fridge the night before so we didn't have to get up at a specific time to eat and could eat in the comfort of our lovely room. The electric blanket came in handy when it was only 7 degrees outside! We had a bit of trouble finding the place though so maybe some extra directions on a booking confirmation would assist?Would definitely recommend this retreat to get away from it all. Loved it!

Room Tip: India room with a beautiful four poster bed. Lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettering
1.0 mi away
The Cove Kettering
The Cove Kettering
#1 of 4 in Kettering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.7 mi away
Herons Rise Vineyard Cottages
14.3 mi away
Hotel Bruny
Hotel Bruny
#1 of 4 in Bruny Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Waterview Gardens B&B
Waterview Gardens B&B
#1 of 3 in Margate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oyster Cove Chalet
Oyster Cove Chalet
#1 of 1 in Oyster Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
12.4 mi away
House on the Hill Country Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arjuna Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arjuna Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Arjuna Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 72 Warremar Way | Oyster Cove, Kettering, Tasmania 7155, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Kettering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kettering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arjuna Ridge Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect Tassie getaway! Perched on a ridge amid six acres of lush rolling hills in southern Tasmania, five minutes from the village of Kettering, and the Bruny Island Ferry Terminal. Arjuna has commanding views across the d'Entrecasteaux Channel and beautiful Bruny Island. Only 30 minutes from Hobart in peaceful Oyster Cove, this delightful building sits above green paddocks and lush treescapes. With it's own solar heated pool, and spacious sunny, ensuited rooms this is the perfect place to spend a few nights and get lost in the tranquility of all southern Tasmania has to offer! From your room you will be able to enjoy amazing views from either the comfy lounge and sitting area or from your outdoor setting on your own patio, or private courtyard. Feel free to borrow from our selections of books, board games, DVD's or music CD's. For each nights stay a continental breakfast will be provided, and an additional option of a "cook your own" BBQ dinner, with local Tasmanian produce, can be purchased if you choose to stay in for an evening meal. We will of course also provide information about dining options in the area, and other sightseeing information. With amazing views from every room and a solar heated outdoor swimming pool, you can relax on an outdoor patio and plan tomorrow's adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Arjuna Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arjuna Ridge Bed & Breakfast Kettering, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing