We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book It Now. Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walton House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Huonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Book It Now. Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

If you have need for accommodation in Huonville - book this gem now for the following reasons:
The room we were given was large, comfortable and extremely well appointed.
The bathroom was excellent with a great shower, spacious and lots of hot water
The breakfast was extremely well done with the usual array of cereals and toast but with a host of extras and some home cooked goodies as well.
The room was quiet and private and you did not feel like you were sharing someone's house.
The building is well maintained and full of interesting furniture, antiques and knick knacks to look at.
The hosts are extremely welcoming and helpful.
Our room had a lovely garden view.

Cons-Nil.

A first class B&B which sets a very high benchmark for others to match at a reasonable price!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review....made us feel warm & fuzzy :)
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and very glad you enjoyed your time at Walton House.
Hope to see you both again when you visit the beautiful Huon Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

From the second we arrived Tanya and John made us really welcome and are the perfect hosts. This B&B is quality in every aspect, beatifically furnished and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was tasty with plenty of home made and grown treats not to mention the complimentary Port and Chocolates. We were spoilt and highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobWines13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.
So glad we could spoil you both....it's your holiday and you deserve to be spoilt.
I have said it plenty of times - we do like to feed people!!!
See both on your next Tassie holiday :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appin, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the best B & B we have stayed at. John and Tanya were the perfect hosts - warm, friendly attentive with wonderful personal touches but without being intrusive. Their breakfasts could not be faulted - local fresh produce, home-made breads and burcher-muesli, just wonderful. The accommodation is absolutely world-class, beautiful rooms and appointments, we shall return.

Room Tip: Choose Room No. 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review, we are both glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Walton House and it was lovely to see you treat it as 'home'.
Glad you loved all our Tassie produce, we think it is the best too!
We both look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautifully appointed accommodation, with special touches e.g. jars of homemade cookies and sweets, bath robes, padded coat hangers and bath salts. Hearty cooked breakfast and very welcoming Hosts. Lovely outdoor patio area for a sunny day. Walking distance to local eateries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review.
We are glad you enjoyed all our little extras, we do try to spoil people.
See you both on your next venture to the beautiful Huon Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed a night last year on our annual Tasmanian visit. 2 nights this time! Lovely property, great location, and most gracious hosts, Tanya & John. The room is spacy and comfortable, and quiet. Almost couldn't eat all of the cooked breakfast offerings, with delicious local produce offerings. Walton House is on our favourites list for future visits to this area. Good value accommodation in Huonville.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we are glad you enjoyed it as much as the 1st time!
So happy that you like all our breakfast offerings...do love to feed people.
Hopefully see you on your next Tassie visit - this time you may get to play golf :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently stayed at Walton House for two nights, the room and service we received could not be faulted. The standard of accommodation is excellent as is the breakfast. Tanya and John are exceptional hosts and gave us a warm welcome on arrival. We really appreciated all the unexpected little touches and the extra things that Tanya and John did for us. To sum up, our stay at Walton House was just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Manager at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your 'five star' review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at Walton House B&B and we are glad you enjoyed all we have to offer!
See you on your next visit to Tassie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

After 4 nights at a top Hobart hotel, we were rather expecting a "downgrade" as we drove into Huonville for our 2 nights at Walton House. -- Not so!

From the moment we entered, we were thrilled with every aspect of this beautiful place. Tanya and John provided a warm welcome. The decor was tasteful, the bed was very comfortable, the shower recess was huge and the bath was deep. The towels were abundant and soft and there were bathrobes supplied.

We appreciated the complimentary port and chocolates each evening and the breakfasts were wonderful. Having spent 10 years ourselves involved in the hospitality industry, we have become aware of the little touches that make guests feel special. Tanya and John excel in this regard.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
What a great review, thank you.
It is good to hear that we were able to impress you both after your stay in Hobart - we do try to make all our guests feel comfortable and spoilt.
Hope to see you on your next conference visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huonville
18.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.8 mi away
Hillside at Woodstock Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Huonville Guesthouse
Huonville Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Huonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
House on the Hill Country Bed and Breakfast
4.5 mi away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 6 in Huonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
19.3 mi away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Walton House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2720 Huon Hwy, Huonville, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Huonville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Huonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walton House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, luxury 4 1/2 star luxury, gourmet breakfasts and a central location make Walton House the perfect base for a stay in the beautiful Huon Valley. We have three very comfortable Queen size rooms all with modern, well appointed en-suites. In the evening, stroll 200 metres into Huonville and sample the local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Walton House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton House Bed And Breakfast Huonville, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing