We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redefines B&B Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Huonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

After 4 nights at a top Hobart hotel, we were rather expecting a "downgrade" as we drove into Huonville for our 2 nights at Walton House. -- Not so!

From the moment we entered, we were thrilled with every aspect of this beautiful place. Tanya and John provided a warm welcome. The decor was tasteful, the bed was very comfortable, the shower recess was huge and the bath was deep. The towels were abundant and soft and there were bathrobes supplied.

We appreciated the complimentary port and chocolates each evening and the breakfasts were wonderful. Having spent 10 years ourselves involved in the hospitality industry, we have become aware of the little touches that make guests feel special. Tanya and John excel in this regard.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

What a great review, thank you.
It is good to hear that we were able to impress you both after your stay in Hobart - we do try to make all our guests feel comfortable and spoilt.
Hope to see you on your next conference visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

First time I have stayed in a B & B and the experience was perfect. Friendly hosts, tastefully decorated rooms, comfortable & clean.
Mini bar, complimentary tea,biscuits, chocolates & port.
I love Twinings tea in a cup & I was blessed with lovely delicate china cups :)
The breakfast was delicious!! Best continental breakfast I have ever had and added extras, fresh baked muffins:)
Stayed three nights wanted a fourth unfortunately they were booked and I now know why.
Went to Hasting caves, Tahunne airwalk & into Hobart for the Salamanca Markets & down to Port Arthur. Highly recommend, thankyou Tania & John for your hospitality.

Room Tip: All spacious with own private ensuite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review.
We are so glad that we were able to make your first B&B experience 'perfect'.
Good to hear you enjoyed your visit to all the attractions in the beautiful Huon Valley - it is a fantastic part of the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

the host and hostess are a lovely couple very friendly and courteous. they put on a scrumpcious breakfast. extremely helpful with places to see. my husband who has back trouble, was very impressed that the hosts offered and helped take in our bags. the cleanliness and comfort of the room was excellent. would recomend to all, to make walton house hounville tasmania a must stop and stay on your next holiday. it was delightful thank you.

Room Tip: all rooms are excelent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.
We are always happy to help with luggage.....we figure it's your holiday and you should be relaxing as much as possible.
Glad you enjoyed your room and our breakfast spread.
See you both on your next visit to the beautiful Huon Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I'm a trout fisherman, and was fly fishing in the Huon River valley for 04 days, and stayed alone at the Walton House over that time (05 nights).

I loved the welcome from John and Tanya; convenient breakfast and coffee; room - especially the bed and amenities; bathroom - with great water supply.

Add to this the fantastic location inside small-town Huonville.

And add to all this the convenient location to fish and explore the Huon River valley.

I'm an American and have now been to the Huon River Valley the past two years for trout fishing, and it's great and comforting to know that the Walton House is there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesjayegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thanks for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your room, we do have great water!!
We enjoyed our morning chats and your fish tales! - hopefully next time you catch more :)
See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Often the difference between a good B&B and a great B&B is the people skills of the host/hostess.The accommodation at Walton House is excellent - spacious, immaculately clean, quiet and very comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious with an array of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, home baked bread and muffins and great coffee. Cooked breakfast is available at extra cost if required but the "light" breakfast provided would be more than ample for most people.
However, it is John and Tanya who make this B&B a special place. They are people who obviously enjoy what they are doing. They are warm, welcoming and extremely thoughtful and obliging. They are able to give excellent advice about attractions in the Huon Valley. We had a few requests like printing off our boarding passes and weighing our luggage and our requests were attended to quickly and efficiently - and with a smile. We loved the Huon Valley and would like to return. When we do, we will certainly stay at Walton House.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review - made us feel all warm & fuzzy :)
You are right....we do enjoy our "job" and it is made very easy when we have such lovely guests.
Glad you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Huon Valley, it is a fantastic part of the world.
See you both on your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We don't normally stay in B&B 's but we saw the reviews here and needed a place late in the afternoon so decided to give it a go. It was perfect. Comfortable, friendly and an incredible eye for detail with lots of special little touches that were really appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennytCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time write us a lovely review.
Glad you decided to 'give us a go' and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is always nice to hear that what we offer is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

John and Tanya welcomed us warmly as soon as we walked in despite not really knowing what time we were arriving which was great. The room we had was fantastic. Old style charm and country comfort just beautiful yet simple touches make the room. Everything was sparkling clean. The bed was huge and amazing sleep!! As well as all the different pillows we had to choose from. The room was very very quiet. Massive shower. Complimentary port ready and waiting in room and tea and coffee as well as a minibar. Our lovely hosts recommended a few places for dinner in town (which is only a 10 min walk if that), of those we chose Huon Manor which was one of the best meals we had for the duration of our week long trip!!

Breakfast at Walton House was another 5 star service, full of cereals and fresh fruit, yoghurt, different breads for toasting and juices. Nothing was left out.

Just can't speak highly enough of this place. We will absolutely be staying again when we come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrownVillaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

How wonderful it was to read your review, thank you sooooo much for liking us and your stay at our B&B.

We are happy you enjoyed all the little extras, our wonderful beds & pillow selections and our breakfast spread, we do try and make your time at Walton House B&B special and memorable.

Looking forward to seeing you both on your next trip to Tassie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huonville hotels
1.4 mi away
Huonville Guesthouse
Huonville Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Huonville
72 reviews
4.5 mi away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 6 in Huonville
212 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hillside at Woodstock Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
House on the Hill Country Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Huon Valley Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Huon Valley Eco Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2720 Huon Hwy, Huonville, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Huonville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Huonville
Price Range: $109 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walton House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, luxury 4 1/2 star luxury, gourmet breakfasts and a central location make Walton House the perfect base for a stay in the beautiful Huon Valley. We have three very comfortable Queen size rooms all with modern, well appointed en-suites. In the evening, stroll 200 metres into Huonville and sample the local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Walton House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton House Bed And Breakfast Huonville, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing