We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Quality, One of a Kind, In a Class of its Own.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walton House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Huonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Quality, One of a Kind, In a Class of its Own.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Both my partner and I recently stayed 2 nights at Walton House. We Highly recommend Tanya and John. Without doubt the best accommodation we have stayed at. The service and quality of accommodation went far above our expectations. We intend on returning again for another trip. For Anyone wishing to spend some time travelling and touring around Southern Tasmania and Hobart and in particular the Huon valley Region, Walton House should be your first choice.

Aliesha & Darren

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you both for the wonderful kind words of your review, it is muchly appreciated. John & I are glad you enjoyed your stay at Walton House B&B. We look forward to your return and hopefully next time you don't have to leave so early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here one night during our Honeymoon in tasmania. We arrived to chocolate coated strawberries, choccy muffins and a bottle of champagne. How lovely!! And soaking in the bath was great. Tanya and John we so accommodating and helpful and cooked some great food for breakfast. This place was a lovely old fashioned experience and a well run establishment. We won't forget it. THank you!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birreny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are so glad to have made your honeymoon just that more memorable - hope to see you for your 25th anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I am sitting in a large comfortable lounge chair in the bedroom of Walton's B&B writing this review. We have arrived back from Bruny Isand cancellling our accomodation there just to enjoy a 3rd night at Walton's with the most delightful hosts Tanya and John. Whilst writing this I am enjoying a Twinings Earl Gret tea and a Cadburys chocolate, one of the many fine touches that Tanya and John provide. On Mothers Day all female guests were given a chocolate rose, such a lovely surprise and personel touch from our hosts.
The rooms are beautifully presented, immaculately clean, spacious and the bathrooms have large fluffy towels and high quality toiletries. John whips up a fantastic coffee, best we had in Tassie and Tanya makes a delightful hot breakfast. There is a great array of cold breakfast options in generous 'large' glass jars, Bircher muesli and one morning we had Tanya's freshly made scones. Don't by pass this place it really is one of the finest B&B' s I have come across in my travels with genuine warm hosts. I am not going to tell you about the other great extras that are provided as you will need to find out for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you sooooo much for your kind review. It was our pleasure to meet you both and our honour to have you come back and stay with us for your last night. We are so glad you enjoyed all the 'little' extras Walton House offers, we aim to please. See you again! John will have a coffee ready!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed just only one night at this delightful B & B in Huonville. Should have stayed longer as it was just wonderful. First class accommodation and beautiful service. Thanks Tanya and John

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Thank you for your 'first class' company, we so enjoyed having you stay with us for your 1 night in Huonville. It was lovely chatting at breakfast. Hope to see you again.....stay longer next time! Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Walton House in Huonville is one of the best-presented B&B's I have ever seen. Being able to stay in the lap of luxury was a real treat on our holiday. Beautiful rooms, wonderful hosts and the best complimentary extras and breakfast all combined to make our stay here a very happy memory.

Room Tip: Rooms are private and separated from the hosts' living area which is a bonus for a B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
So glad we could make your Tassie trip really memorable and little luxurious. It is always good to hear the little extras are appreciated and as I have said before we do love to feed people! Thank you for staying with us, it was lovely meeting you both. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were drivng through the Huon Valley looking for a place to stay for the night, as we drove along main road we noticed that Walton House had a vacancy sign. We only had to open the front door to know that this was going to be an amazing place to stay. Greeted by both Tanya & John they showed us all 3 of there rooms, it was extremely difficult to decide as they all had so much character and charm. after making thsi decision John then proceeds to help my husband bring our luggage in from the car whilst Tanya made sure we had absolutely everything we needed. Our room was (as was the rest of the establishment) spotlessly clean, you could walk around with no shoes on and probably if you wished, even eaten of the floor. The breakfast was amazing, with homemade bread and muffins (which might I add were wrapped for us to take on our next part of our journey). Goes without saying, we did not want leave but we had to move on. After staying in Port Arhur the night and having one night before flying home, we both decided all we wanted to do was go back to stay with Tanya & John. A quick phone call and we were on our way. It was my 60th birthday (which my husband had mentioned to Tanya & John previously) so upon arrival we had a beautiful bottle of champagne waiting with lots of happy birthday greetings. They then made a reservation for our dinner at a beautiful resturant, and also included drink vouchers. Truly, there was nothing these people would not do, they are beautiful amazing hosts with the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in(and trust me, we have stayed in hundreds). After all that, I managed to leave a piece of jewelery in the room, which Tanya had in the mail to me within the week. I could never speak highly enough of this amazing place and the hosts, they certainly complement each other. Ou stay was extremely memorable, a stay we shall never forget, and we wish Tanya & John all the best in the future.
Regards
Jenni & Chris Turner

Room Tip: No tip as all rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisjen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
It was our pleasure to meet you both, so thank you!!

Your review left me speechless and that rarely happens (just ask John). We loved having you stay and then to come back for your last night in Tasmania really touched us.

We are so glad we made your birthday & Tassie trip memorable, we feel that you came in as guests as left as friends.

Thank you again for your lovely words & praise for Walton House B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Such a shame we only could fit one night at Walton House into our itinerary.

What a lovely B&B. The décor in our room was outstanding and as other reviewers have noted, it was clean and beautifully maintained.

John and Tanya are welcoming and friendly and will look after you – even a complimentary port decanter and chocolates in the room!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeGeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltonHouse, Owner at Walton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. So glad you managed to stay with us and even more glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time stay for longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huonville
18.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.8 mi away
Hillside at Woodstock Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Huonville Guesthouse
Huonville Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Huonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
House on the Hill Country Bed and Breakfast
4.5 mi away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 6 in Huonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
19.3 mi away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walton House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Walton House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2720 Huon Hwy, Huonville, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Huonville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Huonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walton House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, luxury 4 1/2 star luxury, gourmet breakfasts and a central location make Walton House the perfect base for a stay in the beautiful Huon Valley. We have three very comfortable Queen size rooms all with modern, well appointed en-suites. In the evening, stroll 200 metres into Huonville and sample the local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walton House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton House Bed And Breakfast Huonville, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing