We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large sites, great location, lots of fun for the Kids!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huon Valley Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huon Valley Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Large sites, great location, lots of fun for the Kids!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I cant recommend this place enough! Large sites and cheap powered/non powered sites. Location has beautiful scenery! Very clean and awesome showers!!!!! We stayed over New Years they put on fireworks for the kids. Plus there is a bunch of things to do for the kids with the animals & fishing. Close to all shops etc. Easy to find!
Thanks again for such a great and memorable stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReeReeC-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
72
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wangaratta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Loved staying here and so did the kids. So much for them to explore, safe, fun and friendly. Beautiful water running through the park with lots of animals including resident platypus! We day tripped from here easily to see sights. Ensuites we're amazing and value for money all round. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChelleHarvoSophLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

After reading excellant reviews of this park we had to come and see for ourselves.. and we weren't dissapointed! The owners are absolutely lovely and obviously work very hard to make it a wonderful place to stay. the amenities are excellant and very modern and clean. Each night the owner takes people around to feed some farm animals and watch a cow being milked, which my kids loved. We were also delighted to be able to watch a platypus playing in the creek that runs behind the park. We've extended our stay from 2 nights to 3 just because we like it so much!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We checked into Huon Valley Caravan Park intending to stay for two nights. It only took us one night to know that this was a great place to base ourselves and explore the southern reaches of Tasmania and also Hobart. We checked in for another twelve nights and spent Xmas and New Year in the park. The amenities were excellent and clean. The caravan park owners were friendly and caring. The farm animals were a delight. The grounds were well maintained. It was so peaceful and quiet that it was hard to believe that we were less than two kilometres from Huonville shopping centre. And although we didn't catch any fish we did see them swimming in the river. JUST PERFECT .....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank 6WarwickJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We travelled throughout Tasmania for two weeks in November and out last night was spent in this campsite, which was one of the best we had stayed in.It is situated on the side of a river and we were told that there were platypus in there but has it was raining quite heavily we didn't get to see any. Also its a working farm and you can watch milking a feeding of the animals.
Nearby is Home Hill Winery which has a great restraint and is must to visit.
This site is ideal for exploring not only the Huon valley but the far south has well

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luckett2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to Tasmania for 2 weeks in November and we had plans to stay a night or two in each camping location and then move on but as soon as we found this awesome place we wanted to stay. We booked for three nights and ended up staying another 10 on top of that. Our children 7,4,2 and 8months absolutely LOVED it; there were chickens, geese, ducks, cows, pigs, sheep a billy goat and more. Right near a river and gorgeous property. The owners Rowan and Leanne and exceptionally nice and as real farmers have so much knowledge to share. We would take our family there again (we live in NSW).
The cost was very reasonable- we paid $40 a night.
Facilities are great. They are just building a big shower block and camp kitchen where Leanne will hold cheese making classes in the future we hope. Or you can pay to have a private bathroom.
It is close to loads of things we went to Hastings cave and Salamanca markets, Port Arthur and other days stayed close around Huonville.
At 6pm each night we went to milking time and absolutely loved feeding the animals.
If you could give more than 5 stars we would. It was a perfect place to take your family.
Note: always be aware of 4 seasons in one day in Tassie you really do need jumper, raincoat and sun hat nearly every day in November.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranelagh, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

As a local Tasmanian, I like to holiday at home as much as possible. Upon entry to the Caravan Park, the first thing we noticed was how gorgeous the views were and how well kept the lawns and surrounds were. We were then greeted by Leanne at the office, she couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

I have a 6 year old son, and he absolutely LOVED the free ranging chickens, geese, ducks, turkeys, sheep, goat, pig and cows. Each afternoon Rowan invites guests to come down and feed all the animals. You can hand feed the cows and May the pig, and then have a go at drinking milk straight from Honey the cow.
Rowan then shows guests how Badge the working dog rounds up the sheep and goat, and brings them straight to you.

Being only 1.5km from the town centre of Huonville, its very close to shops and banks etc...

I can HIGHLY recommend the Huon Valley Caravan Park. I know we are looking forward to our next holiday at home, and staying with Rowan and Leanne.

Thank you so much

Room Tip: All sites are near the beautiful Huon River, and have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huonville
3.4 mi away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 6 in Huonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
20.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Hobart
0.8 mi away
Huonville Guesthouse
Huonville Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Huonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
10.1 mi away
The Port Huon Cottages
The Port Huon Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Huon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
13.7 mi away
AirWalk Lodge
AirWalk Lodge
#2 of 3 in Geeveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huon Valley Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huon Valley Caravan Park

Property: Huon Valley Caravan Park
Address: 177 Wilmot Rd, Huonville, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Huonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Huonville
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huon Valley Caravan Park is a working farm situated on the junction of the Mountain River and the Huon River only 1.5kms from the town of Huonville and only a 30 minute drive from Tasmania's capital city Hobart. Huon Valley Caravan Park is the perfect place to stay to explore the south of Tasmania. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huon Valley Caravan Park Huonville, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing