We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and peaceful setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huon Valley Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Evandale, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and peaceful setting”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Have just returned from 2 nights in this park. What a friendly welcome - home made jam and freshly picked apples given to us on our arrival! Great location very close to all the services of Huonville but set amongst farmland and on the river. Bathroom facilities were extremely clean individual ensuite style - 5 in total which did mean waiting on occasions for a shower. Good river access for kayaking. We had a glorious evening paddle up the Huon River. Sites were large - we only had a small tent but there were a number of large groups set up with vans for the long weekend. Felt like there was plenty of space between groups. This park is an excellent base for exploring the Huon Valley and surrounds. We did a walk in Hartz Mountains national park which was a pleasant and easy drive from the park. We will be back to explore more of this beautiful part of Tassie!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ackyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
74
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lauderdale, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Any one looking for a place to stay thats is close to Hobart and has everything you could possible want when having kids with a large open space for kids to ride and play.The kids went along at 6 pm to watch and help the pigs being fed along with the chickens and honey the cow being milked then the sheep dog rounded the sheep up and the kids got to see a sheep being sheared.

Overall
We stayed with 2 other familys we all had a great time, plenty of space caravan sites are very large lots off room each site hospitality from the owners was outstanding checking with all campers every night to make sure every one was happy and there were no problems. upon arrival we recived 4 x apples sample off local jam, for a quick easy relaxing place to go this is the place we rate it as a big 5 star stay for our family and friends.

Colin&Louise & Kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This place is simply fantastic. If you are after somewhere that is not commercial, where the staff are more like friends than "staff members", that is quiet and relaxing but only 2 minutes from town (Huonville), then this place will tick a lot of boxes for you. Great people, relaxing company, and some of the best farm produce in Australia virtually at your doorstep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at Huonville Caravan Park for the weekend - not just camping but a complete experience. Friendly owners and staff, lots of room and the facilities were more than excellent. Right from the arrival all the way through our stay. Children would love it in particular the animals. close enough to walk into Huonville. We will be back again with our family and soon! Keep up the good work Leeann and Rowan and I hope you manage to get through all the silly red tape Tassie needs more people with vision and passion such as yourselves

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed recently at Huon Valley Caravan Park, we had a very friendly greeting on arrival from owner Rowan.
The park is very relaxing, lots of space for caravans, and very quiet. We don't have children but the farm would be a wonderful place for them to stay, lots to do and to keep them happy.
The park is close to all the Huon Valley attractions. We will return. PS Thank you Leeanne for the jam it was very nice...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Seemed a large expanse of land but little else-was I wrong!Staff great,the addition of few farm animals makes for great stay.Very quite with something for everyone once you get past the first impressions you will enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine NT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

It has only been open for 5 weeks but really has that family charm. Has 5 toilet /showers (hot water) that can have a line up at peak time. Lots of room for campers & caravaners, all grassy sites. The kids saw the cow being milked, goats, pig feeding. Being on the river we had several lovely evenings watching the platypus out the back of the van. The communal area has the foundations built but at this point of time is under a tarp. The hosts visit all guests every evening making sure you are happy with about 20vans in & about the same in tents that is a big job. This place will go ahead over the coming months with lots of work planned.

The only drawback is the prickly thistle that is slowly being weeded out.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Garry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huonville
3.4 mi away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 6 in Huonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
20.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Hobart
0.8 mi away
Huonville Guesthouse
Huonville Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Huonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
10.1 mi away
The Port Huon Cottages
The Port Huon Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Huon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.2 mi away
House on the Hill Country Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huon Valley Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huon Valley Caravan Park

Property: Huon Valley Caravan Park
Address: 177 Wilmot Rd, Huonville, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Huonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Huonville
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huon Valley Caravan Park is a working farm situated on the junction of the Mountain River and the Huon River only 1.5kms from the town of Huonville and only a 30 minute drive from Tasmania's capital city Hobart. Huon Valley Caravan Park is the perfect place to stay to explore the south of Tasmania. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huon Valley Caravan Park Huonville, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing