We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, service and product. ”
Review of Jackson's Emporium

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jackson's Emporium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic value, service and product. ”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

A lovely place to stop for a meal or even stay if u wish. We were passing thru and stopped for a Saturday afternoon snack. The staff were very obliging without being over bearing and produced excellent value gourmet food quickly. Staff were very helpful with our young children too. Overall - highly recommended!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mgr_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rosebery, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

On a very hot day trip, we looked for a nice place to stop for refreshments and 'Jackson's Emporium' caught our eye. It's a real little gem with a great menu! Mulberry ice cream, mixed berries, lemon sorbet, funky hot dogs (huge!) with apricot-chilly sauce .... plenty to choose from! And 'real coffee' iced coffees, sooo glad that they were not the sickly sweet kind like those everyone else flogs .... next time we're planning on including to stay a night or two .... it was that good and friendly!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 249Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were here in 2012 and would love to go back. Clean, spacious accommodation. The service was excellent. We made ourselves a lovely meal using the freshly baked loaf of bread that was waiting for us when we arrived as well as the produce that we picked ourselves. It was very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apropos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Bath
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at McCauley's Cottage for 2 nights and really enjoyed the experience of being in a traditional style cottage. From my first email inquiry and throughout our stay, our hosts were very friendly and helpful. We had our 2 children aged 4 and 6 with us who loved being in the loft with the toys and felt as if they were in a real life dolls house. I loved that we had fresh bread, milk, butter, free-range eggs and home made jams ready and waiting for us. We also loved picking our own raspberries and cherries for our breakfast and snacks. The only complaint is the double beds were quite hard and uncomfortable but we were happy to over look this because of how great the overall experience was. If you are travelling through from the south to the north or vice versa it is worth the detour to experience a bit of old fashioned Tassie.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
2.2 mi away
Curringa Farm
Curringa Farm
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
95 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ratho Farm
Ratho Farm
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
88 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 7 in New Norfolk
32 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sassafras Springs
Sassafras Springs
#1 of 1 in Ellendale
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Emporium

Property: Jackson's Emporium
Address: 13 Franklin Pl, Hamilton, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We began as a boutique accommodation business with McCauley's Cottage which is a a classy sandstone house circa 1846, set up with a fruit and veggie garden for comfortable self-catering. In 2000 we expanded our accommodation with additional self-catering and re-opened Jackson's Emporium (an 1856 sandstone shop) as a reception centre and tourism retail business, specialising in Derwent Valley products and visitor services. An Emporium is a 'centre of commerce' like a Department Store with different activities based under the one roof. We have called the Accommodation Department Hamilton Heritage Holiday Homes to give us a collective name for our groups of accommodation properties. We set about renovating, rebuilding and planting fruit trees and a vegetable garden. Now our brand new commercial kitchen is licensed for food production of all sorts and we are operating a vertically integrated garden-to-plate-and-package cafe and delicatessen. The theme of The Cafe at Jackson's is healthy local food. All recipes are low sugar and low salt, all of our cakes are made on the premises and gluten free. Mulberries are one of our specialties. The black English mulberry is one of the finest fruits grown in Tasmania. It's rare because it's slow growing and difficult to transport. During the three month season we sell punnets of fresh fruit, we make jam, ice cream and sauce. Customers in the cafe love the mulberry jam on their scones .... The Mulberry Chilli Sauce gets rave revues with wedges and hot dogs. We get fabulous feedback from customers about our food, our customer service and our great coffee, as well as our local cheeses and home made ice creams. We open late, 7 days a week (except Christmas Day and Good Friday) The property has lots of character. It offers several different and interesting spaces. The Parlour is great with a warm fire in winter. Customers love the outdoor tables when the sun shines, which it does quite often here. We are working on a long term plan to continue the renovation and expansion of this historic property. Currently underway is construction of new toilets with access for people in wheelchairs. Originally there was a cobblestoned courtyard, eventually this will be additional outdoor dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jackson's Emporium Hamilton, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing