We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$138
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
FindHotel$141
Travelocity$154
Orbitz.com$154
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
161
19
5
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
161
19
5
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loaf of bread wedgetail wings one night sheep shearing raspberry jam breakfast ingredients breakfast package entire stay fabulous accommodation beautiful cottage wombat cabin overlooking the lake worth every cent delicious dinner tasmania trip large shower fresh produce
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 192 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2018

We were a family of six staying overnight. Arrived the day after Curringa Farm had received a tourism award. They were really pleased but seemed more interested in their computer than the customer standing at their desk. We were told we didn't have a booking but they were looking at the wrong day. We were told everything was ready for us to settle in, but food was not in fridge and was told then that it was coming. Asked young lady how to operate BBQ and after several attempts it was discovered gas bottle was empty. As per another review outside table was very dusty and not welcoming.
Beds were comfortable and cabin well laid out.
Still trying to work out catering. There were 6 of us but given 8 eggs. Have always put eggs in water and one egg was "off" as it floated, so 7 eggs for 6 of us and paying $100 per night per adult. As it is a farm stay would have expected 2 eggs per person and maybe some tomatoes. Loaf of bread was amazing. Jam was tasty.
Two bathrooms but not a hair dryer anywhere!! Did not need 8 small cakes of soap.
Would have appreciated some paper towel, some tissues and a fly swatter as I do not like using fly spray.
Overall felt overpriced for a one night stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Go717387
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CurringaFarm, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2018

Hi Go717387
We have received your review. Imagine how amazing your stay could have been if you alerted us to these things on site. Possibly even a refund. We jump to most requests quite promptly. Our advertised, and your receipted, rate for 6 people in our farmhouse cottage is $75 per person. 4 adults @ $87.50 and $50 per child.
Please remind us of your experience if you choose to return and we will make amends for your troubles.
Thank you for your suggestion of a fly swatter.
Yours sincerely
Tim Parsons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a night in Blue Wren. When we drove in, nobody was at reception (which was also the owners' home). But there was a note informing us to proceed to the tour centre. Check in was smooth and speedy and we'd no problems finding our way to our unit. In fact, we enjoyed the scenery on the drive to Blue Wren from the tour centre, we stopped a number of times for pictures.

We loved how the accomodation units were very well spread out and away from each other. This ensured a lot of privacy and peace. (We even slept with the curtains open.) Our unit was also very tastefully furnished and decorated. (I loved the freestanding bath tub very much! Though the water runs a bit yellow. Was told by the owner that this is due to the water coming from the nearby lake. Its smell is also due to the eucalyptus trees that grow around it.)

The unit was also very self contained, so we'd almost everything we needed including a kitchenette. The breakfast basket that came was also very well thought out. We'd bread, spreads, milk and juice and enjoyed it a lot.

At night, we we got a chance to star gaze and also catch a small glimpse of the aurora australis. (The wide open spaces here really helped.) Curringa Farm was one of the best stays we'd during this trip. We wished we'd stayed here longer.

There were a few minuses though, but it wasn't much of a bother to us. Just some things we didn't get the chance to highlight when we were there:

a) The BBQ grill outside was very grimy and dusty. Not too sure how long ago since it's been used. We didn't use it in the end because of this but would've been good to have had it cleaned for guests before they came in.

b) Same with the outdoor table and chairs. It was covered with cobwebs and had a whole lot of insects stuck in it. Not a pretty sight.

c) The ledge above our bed was very dusty and had a number of dead flies. Again, it would've been good to have it cleaned before guests came in.

Tips:
- Blue Wren isn't recommended for light sleepers because you'll constantly hear the sheeps even at night. We didn't mind it though and the doors helped enough to drown them out a little.

- Stock up on food before coming if you intend to cook or have ready made meals. (There's a microwave and stove top for that in the unit.) The farm is not in close proximity to any shops, so you'll have to drive a little to get to one.

- It's a small drive from the main area of the farm to the accomodation units, so make sure everything's running fine in your unit when you check in. There are no phones inside so otherwise, you'll have to either call them to get help or drive all the way back out to the main farm area for that.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sinseh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CurringaFarm, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

Hi Sinseh12
Thank you for your review highlighting your wonderful experience and notes for some items requiring attention.
The BBQ grill is unacceptable and i am very sorry this occurred, it is an area that we constantly make effort to have presented ready for your use. We will make a note on our maintenance list to give tables and chairs a better scrub. I do know that the spiders are very active at this time of year trapping the small flying insects as part of nature. Some customers also come across a few possum poo's on the outdoor furniture from time to time as these critters do like to leave a present when they visit. A quick flick of these pellets onto the ground is all it takes to clear the area.
The bush flies sometimes arrive during or after room cleaning if door is left open and then fly around during the day until they pass away from exhaustion against the glass window. However a dusty surface is also inexcusable and a giveaway that our cleaning team has done a rush job in this instance. Particularly with the 3 items you mention. Your review will be presented to our team at today's staff meeting for discussion.
Regarding the water i hope your are satisfied with our explanation of its tainted colour and the fact that we do place bottled water in each cottages for customers to drink. It is the large white bath tub that reflects the colours of the water tannins. We personally drink the lake water directly from the tap.

I am sorry i cannot ask the sheep to be a bit quieter in the mornings, I'm sure your pictures of them were fantastic.

Sinseh. We are so pleased your enjoyed your stay and rated Curringa Farm as one of your best stays during your Tasmanian trip. Please contact us directly if you or one of your friends ever choose to return to Curringa Farm and we will ensure that your next review is 6 star instead of your generous 5.

Yours sincerely
Tim and Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2018

The spa cottage is a delight, we especially liked then sheep in the meadow outside the window. This is a farm stay accommodation, the quality and features are better than your typical B&B. We stayed at the Wombat Cottage, just right, well done Curringa Farm.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CurringaFarm, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2018

Hi Simon K
Thank you for staying at our beautiful farm and posting your review.
You will be pleased to know that we were just awarded the best attraction in Tasmania at the 2018 Tas Tourism Awards. Your choice of visiting Curringa Farm does not need an award to justify your stay, however your kind comments, along with others, remind us constantly of the quality product we deliver to valuable customers. Once again, thank you for staying and please return soon if you are able. Cheers Tim and Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

We had the most perfect night at Curringa Farm. Do yourself a favour and visit. We only had one night but wish we were there longer. The bed was beyond amazing, the spa, the cleanliness, even the sheep on our back deck were perfect. They had also organised a bottle of bubbles for our arrival. The cabins are a drive (3kms) from the main reception so you know and feel like your the only ones there. The cabins are private and beautifully situated so be prepared for gorgeous sunsets and beautiful sun rises. A totally must for your Tassie holiday!!!! See you again hopefully soon! Thank you for everything

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lunah1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CurringaFarm, Manager at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Hi Luna H
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The lambs liker to play jumping on the decks of some cottages when they are little. Hope you can return again sometime soon. take care and travel well.
Cheers Tim and Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We stayed for two nights in the Echidna Studio and were immediately impressed with the accomodation suite. The studio has been tastefully decorated and it takes full effect of the superb agricultural views on offers. It is so peaceful and quiet, with the silence only broken by the occasion bleating of sheep as they stroll past in the surrounding pastures.

It was a pleasant surprise to have a recently baked loaf of bread waiting for us in the kitchenette, as well as fresh milk and orange juice in the fridge.

It was great to be able to use the barbecue with meat we had bought from a 'real' butcher in New Norfolk.

The bathroom was sumptuous in design and space, not like most other bathrooms in hotels, which are usually claustrophobic.

Jane and Tim are very welcoming hosts and we look forward to staying at Curringa Farm again in the future.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alchersone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
CurringaFarm, Owner at Curringa Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thanks for kind your review Paul.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will pass your comments on to Clarks Butcher in new Norfolk.
Looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Cheers
Tim and Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews