We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Red Feather Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Feather Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hadspen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the library suite to celebrate a milestone birthday. Room was just beautiful, great views over the garden, great bath tub, separate sitting area. The buildings and grounds are so lovely. We had dinner in the stable with a group of friends and the staff were most accommodating in the lead up arranging a menu specially to suit our group and very reasonably priced. Fantastic place. Only suggestion would be a cooked rather than continental breakfast be available.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jls268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFeatherInn, Owner at Red Feather Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and we will certainly think about what we can do as far as cooked breakfasts are concerned from Lydia Nettlefold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a beautiful place to stay. The staff were so helpful and friendly. It is a little out of the way of Launceston, but worth the trip to stay in one of the suites. We spent 2 nights in the Garden room which was delightful. We had dinner one of the nights, 3 courses of delicious food by the resident chef. A great couple of days. We will be back again one day.

Room Tip: The Garden room has access both through the restaurant and to the garden. It can be a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SusieMc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The charm of this place is the quality experience without the pretension that usually comes with places of this standard. We stayed for three wonderful nights and one night seven of us ate in the converted stables. Totally charming. The staff went to extra lengths to make sure everything went smoothly. We were bowled over by the many little touches - fresh flowers from the garden throughout the property, curious sculptures and other artefacts stumbled upon by chance, fresh fruit from the orchard, magnificent bed linen, special requests fulfilled as though it was no extra trouble. We had two rooms for the two couples, and we moved into one of the cottages when the party grew to seven. The cottage was well equipped for self-catering; what a joy to have sharp knives, adequate carving boards and quality equipment. And of course they were more than happy to let us take fresh herbs from the garden. A very memorable and enchanting experience.

Room Tip: I don't think I would want to overlap with a wedding party - the place just isn't big enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

There's something about the Red Feather Inn that oozes class and sophistication while also giving guests a quaint, cosy heritage experience.
I was there just for one night, mid-week, recently and had a fantastic stay.

In The Loft, there's a large bathroom (both shower and bath) and upstairs is the bedroom. (Thought it was really thoughtful for the property to include a make up wipe sachet in the bathroom amenities.) My only complaint about the bedroom is that the TV is positioned in a funny corner of the room, but that's probably due to construction/signal needs as the room is inside a heritage listed building.
Onsite there's everything I could have wanted. I did have a few problems connecting to the WiFi, but think that was because I was on a new device I have not mastered yet.

While the property is set a little way out of the city - 15-20mins - do make the trip out, even just to eat the the restaurant. Chef Lewis prepared some sublime dishes using local Tasmanian produce, as well as fresh ingredients sourced from his and the Inn's garden.

Heard amazing things about the cooking classes from friends so hoping to come back with a group later this year, or bring my boyfriend as it's such a charming place for a weekend getaway, particularly if you want to just relax and enjoy a meal.

Free parking on site makes it a no brainer for those renting a car!

Room Tip: Loft room offers spacious bathrooms and quite a large, cosy upstairs away from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicoleTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We travelled from the Sunshine Coast recently to attend my niece's wedding at the historic and picturesque Red Feather Inn. Everything about the day was perfect, from the idyllic setting, the friendly and helpful staff, generous servings of yummy food and drinks, to the wonderful acoustic guitarist. Even the weather was a perfect 24 degrees. A beautiful occasion in a beautiful venue. Thanks Lydia for making this day so special for our family and Congratulations Bec and Justin for starting your life together in such a perfect way!
Bronwyn

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Bronwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My daughter's wedding last weekend was the most beautiful and in the most romantic setting that I've attended. The Bride and Bridesmaids stayed the night before . The pre-wedding dinner for the bridal party and partners had a diverse menu and was superb. I arrived for a beautifully prepared breakfast on the wedding day which included fresh, warm raspberry muffins and croissants. The Library Room, with great spaces for hairdressers and make-up artists, was ideal for the five girls to be together to get ready.This made the day flow smoothly. The garden was lush and manicured with plenty of seating for guests prior to the ceremony.
Lydia and her staff were very accomodating and did all they could to make it a perfect day.The wedding dinner was delicious and desserts, served in their own candle lit room, were exquisite.Little things, from the chef offering to carry the big box of bouquets upstairs, to the waitress, respectfully and unobtrusively, bringing coffee and lunch all made for a really wonderful experience which I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

"Don't leave town til you've seen the country" was the adage ringing in my ears as we travelled cross country for a romantic getaway.
The Red Feather Inn didn't disappoint - we could have been in rural France, but no here we were holidaying in our own backyard, but it felt a million miles away.
Lydia effuses such a warmth that we felt welcomed from the moment we first arrived - loved our room, the décor and the garden.
The Red Feather Inn is set within a rare slice of Tasmanian history but has been fitted out in a contemporary manner that oozes style.
Our one regret was that we weren't staying longer! But, we can return as the Red Feather Inn is in our own backyard - cheaper than flying to rural France!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadspen
6.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
948 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
903 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,617 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
5.6 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Inn

Address: 42 Main St | PO Box 1, Hadspen, Launceston, Tasmania 7290, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Hadspen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hadspen
Price Range: $169 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Feather Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Feather Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Feather Inn Tasmania/Hadspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing