We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is there a -10 rating for the red feather inn?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Feather Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Feather Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hadspen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Is there a -10 rating for the red feather inn?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Owner is disrespectful and rude to guests. the rooms were not that great and most of all nothing was cleaned over the two nights we were there and STAFF left dishes in our room but apparently we have to pay for extra cleaning. Only stay here if you wanted to be treated with disrespect and mediocre accommodation as well as extra expenses. If you ask me the manager needs to take some classes on customer service and phone manor.

Room Tip: Dont Pick one at all do yourself a favor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melindamand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFeatherInn, Owner at Red Feather Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We are sorry you felt it neccesary to give the Red Feather Inn a bad review.
It is our check in policy with all wedding guests to discuss the spray tan issue as its becoming a concern for the house keeping staff, we’d like to apologise for not providing darker towels. There was no intention of sounding rude on the after hours phone call, the matter was to be confirmed with housekeeping and addressed the next day.
It was necessary to charge an extra cleaning fee as the bedclothes were badly soiled, there was a large amount of rubbish to be removed and a bathrobe was irreparably stained.
Access to the room on the day for clearing was not available as the bridal party were using it to get ready and asked not to be disturbed.
We have fans in the rooms and an extra one could have been provided if requested.
Fold out sofa beds were an option requested by the bride and groom for the weekend.
Kitchen staff were not informed of the dietary requirements until service started Friday night, this request was catered easily for both nights dinner but unfortunately was overlooked for the lunch, though quickly rectified at the time.
The Red Feather Inn team and management do everything they can to ensure weddings are perfect for the bride and groom and their associated guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    16
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
78
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in Library suite costing $350 & $395 for second night when bedding is changed.
Best mattress we found in TAS and delightful gardens

Lowlights

Whilst quaint I think that this Inn is too expensive particularly due to its distant and remote location (some 13km) from Launceston, which makes going to dinner expensive.
Tiny dinning area makes for uneasy eating with other dinners alongside you. Average breakfast.
Could smell damp in our room when scented candles stopped working
Found mouldy fly in our room espresso maker ( refer photo) - yuck.
Sofa bed cushions collapse whilst watching TV
Suite should come equipped with dinner plates

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dommo2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFeatherInn, Manager at Red Feather Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Dommo2122,

Thank you for your recent review, we are always happy to receive customer feedback.
We would like to address the issues that you have brought to our attention.

We feel there must be a misunderstanding regarding your room rate as our nightly rate for The Library Suite is $350 regardless of how many nights you stay, if you would like to contact us we would be happy to discuss this with you.

The Inn is a heritage listed building therefore the dining space has a cosy intimate dining atmosphere

Thank you for alerting us to the possibility of a damp smell in the room, we have inspected the room thoroughly and have found nothing amiss. We are unable to use candles in our rooms due to fire hazards, we do however use fragrant reed diffusers.

Our apologies if the dinner sized plates were missing during your stay with us, our suites do come equipped with cutlery and crockery.

We try to maintain a very high standard of cleanliness and hygiene at the Inn and we do apologize if a fly was found in the coffee maker in your room, this has never occurred before.

Warm Regards
Red Feather Inn management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Red Feather Inn is a wonderful oasis with a lot of character and charm. We were here for a long weekend to explore vineyards in the Tamar Valley and it was well located for this. The fittings and rooms were really tasteful and comfortable and it was great to have a kitchen. The only issue that detracted from the peace was a wedding with really intoxicated guests so there were arguments in the car park at night next to the room which went on for too long without intervention. Would certainly stay again however.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFeatherInn, Manager at Red Feather Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi RossY,

Thank you for your lovely review.
We do apologise for the disturbance the wedding party caused you during your stay with us and have since changed our policy so that we no longer have weddings on while we have inhouse guests.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

The Red Feather Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The Inn is wonderful example of Tasmania's preserved history and the current owner has created an environment that will appeal to guests that appreciate beauty and detail. The dining experience was delightful. We stayed in the loft which has a wonderfully large bathroom and provides privacy being a little removed from the main building.Being charged $32 for two gin & tonics left a sour taste unfortunately.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spinebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedFeatherInn, Manager at Red Feather Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Spinebill,

Thank you for your great review of The Red Feather Inn
We are sorry that you feel that you were overcharged for your double gin and tonic (Blue Bombay) we wanted to let you know that having done some market research to check that we weren't over charging our guests for beverages, that our prices are in line if not cheaper than other establishments in Launceston.

We hope we see you again

Kind Regards

The Red Feather Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our three nights at the Red Feather Inn were extremely pleasant. Our room was spacious and the continental breakfast enjoyable. The setting was lovely. We very much appreciated being up-graded to the Library Suite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
490 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

What a lovely oasis of french provincial charm. We stayed in the Garden Suite. The grounds included a cook's garden and were a delight. The room was spacious with charming and thoughtful additions. The food was superb and served in a lovely country kitchen. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a marvelous stay and I could not recommend this place highly enough. It is about 20 minutes from the airport and a great gateway to a Tasmanian road tour.

Room Tip: We liked the Garden Suite which has a door adjoining the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzrbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The restoration Lydia has done here is remarkable. The building and surrounding gardens felt more French than some of the places I've visited in France. Whilst not close to anything remarkable (easy to get to Launceston or Tamar Valley etc), just the ability to stay somewhere that you can experience a completed Francophile's vision of a 1800's heritage building was a privilege. Wish we had time to experience the cooking school or dinner here.

Breakfast was also very French with fresh fruit, cereals and pastries which was an enjoyable start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadspen
1.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kurrajong House
Kurrajong House
#1 of 31 in Launceston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Inn

Property: Red Feather Inn
Address: 42 Main St | PO Box 1, Hadspen, Launceston, Tasmania 7290, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Hadspen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hadspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Feather Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Feather Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Feather Inn Tasmania/Hadspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing