We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful historic house, lovely hosts, platypus bonanza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Geeveston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This was our probably our favorite lodging on our entire Australia trip. The Cambridge House was built by an original Geeves of Geeveston, and his timber career is reflected in the lovely wood throughout. Each day began with a wonderful breakfast featuring Karen's homemade fruit compotes (blackberry and apple, rhubarb from the garden). They sell wine and beer here, which is nice, but they were also fine that we had brought a few special bottles to celebrate the end of our trip. Geeveston is the entryway to the Hartz Mountains, which provided lovely walks, from the easy to the strenuous. The highlight, as numerous reviewers note, is the creek teeming with platypuses that runs through the property. My friend and I wandered over at 7:30 in the evening, wondering if we would see one: before we could even formulate the question we saw one cruising in the river. The second night we saw half a dozen. Incredible!! Also, on't miss out on the hosts' simple dinner: a delicious and enormous bowl of homemade soup (we had pumpkin among three choices) and good, flavorful rolls, plus a homemade dessert (highly recommend the pear cake). At $12 this is a true bargain in this very expensive country. It put meals I had there that cost four times that to shame. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmj5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 218 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

This was my 2nd trip to the cambridge house and the first for my partner. The house is amazing and the rooms beautiful. The owners are delightful and a pleasure to still and talk to about travels and options around the area.
Looking forward to the next time we have the opportunity to stay at the Cambridge House

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

A pleasant interlude in a lovely part of this beautiful country of ours, and to actually see native Platypus thrive in their natural habitat in the river that runs adjacent to the property was a wonderful sight.
Cambridge House is a step back into time, with it's archictecture and history.
Added to this a wonderful breakfast with Karen's special hand picked and prepared Rhubarb, Mixed Berries and yoghurt topped off with Glen's special Bacon & eggs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackmorej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Apart from being most welcoming and friendly, my hosts provided a full, beautifully cooked breakfast each monring. Their knowledge on the area was superb. The places they recommended I see were well and truely worth seeing. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen081208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Our second stay with Karen and Dave was as good as the first . The spacious room with ensuite was comfortable and clean and furnished to the style of the lovely old home.. But the highlight was breakfast. Karens own rhubarb from the garden was wonderful. Both times we saw the platypus in the creek at the bottom of the garden. A great place to stay especially to take advantage of the air walk.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Cambridge House B&B is first rate in terms of comfort, cleanliness, hospitality and service. Plenty of information and hosts are very knowledgeable about the local attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoppySpadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Like all those other reviewers ... staying at Cambridge House was brilliant. An historic Tasmanian homestead, beautiful decor, comfortable and friendly (electric blankets appreciated!), great breakfast and convenient location. Best of all was the creek where we could watch platypuses cruising up and down ..... having searched national parks and nature reserves for weeks, here they were at the bottom of the garden!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillewis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geeveston
1.8 mi away
Kermandie Waterfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Bears Went Over The Mountain
11.5 mi away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
#1 of 3 in Geeveston
33 reviews
4.8 mi away
AirWalk Lodge
AirWalk Lodge
#2 of 3 in Geeveston
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 School Rd | Huon Valley, Geeveston, Tasmania 7116, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Geeveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Geeveston
Price Range: $102 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge House is a lovingly restored heritage listed home with spacious ensuite queen rooms, guests comfortable lounge & sunny dining room. There is a very large garden with resident platypus living in the river flowing through it. Separate guest entry ensures privacy & there are no shared areas with your hosts. Full country cooked breakfast utilising our own produce included. The perfect base for exploring the whole of the Huon Valley/Bruny Island area. Four star rating. FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast Geeveston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing