We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Bed & Breakfast "Cambridge House"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Geeveston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
“First Class Bed & Breakfast "Cambridge House"”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

In March 2014 my wife and I spent three nights at "Cambridge House" in Geeveston, Tasmania. The accommodation is first class, the atmosphere is super friendly and very relaxing, the breakfast is astronomic, the gardens are beautifully maintained, the Platypus is waiting in the creek. Karen & Glen are perfect hosts in every way. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you Tony for the "First Class" review! We're so pleased that you felt relaxed & enjoyed your stay with us - & got to see the platypus too! We appreciate you taking the time to write this very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    27
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
124
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coolum
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Thanks Karen and Ken for a wonderful stay. From the beautiful well appointed home, comfortable bed and perfumed garden with plenty of quiet places to relax, to the generous breakfast with stewed local fruits, perfectly poached eggs, bacon and mushrooms followed by home made jams, we felt spoiled and indulged. Truly all that you could wish for in B&B. We'll be back for more of Karen's quince paste and to see the platypus that hid from us this time.

Room Tip: The downstairs bed rooms are huge with high ceilings, beautifully appointed and their own bathroom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We're very pleased that you enjoyed the garden, house & breakfasts. Pity you missed the platypus - let's hope there's a next time!. Thank you for the review - now I'm off to make some more quince paste!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Glenn and Karen made us feel welcomed and nurtured during our two day stay. Glenn was always around and provided helpful advice. Karen was a mine of information of all things available to see and do in the region. The breakfasts were fantastic, home cooked by Glenn with the locally sourced stewed fruits, jams and marmalades beautifully prepared by Karen. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggieloughrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are pleased you found your stay with us so comfortable & found it peaceful too. Glad you enjoyed the fruits from the garden & thank you for the review & recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My Wife and I only stayed here one night (15/3) but from the time of our arrival we were impressed with everything. Karen took the time to make us feel welcome, our en-suite ground floor room was everything you would want or need. There were many small things included in the room that made the stay so pleasant. Being built around 1870 and having quite a history added to the excitement of staying in such a place. Our very generous Breakfast cooked by Karen's husband consisted of Poached eggs, Mushrooms Bacon and fried Tomatoes together with all the usual condiments set us up for a huge day of travel. Added to this was the Platypus in the stream that runs past the garden boundary. We did not see any Platypus on the evening of our arrival but my early the following morning my wife was rewarded after going back down for another look. Would have loved to stay here longer but our itinerary would not allow this. I would say stay here you won't be sorry. Thanks to Karen and Glen

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Your platypus persistence payed off! Sometimes it takes a bit of patience to see them & we're so pleased that you did! We're glad you enjoyed the heritage house & enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks a heap for the review, we really do appreciate them very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a ground floor en-suite room which was beautiful. Karen was a delightful host who went out her way to converse and advise of the district's attractions. The highlight for us was the platypus viewing as we had never seen one in the wild before. Karen thinks there are a family of 4 who live in the creek adjacent to the B & B. Best time seems to be around dusk and although they are very elusive we spotted them from the adjacent bridge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
There's nothing better than seeing one of our native animals in the wild, & we're so pleased you got to enjoy them in our garden! Thank you for taking the time to write us this review, we appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I can't thank Glen and Karen enough for their hospitality at the Cambridge House.
I had seen their place advertised but decided to "wing it" in Tassie. However, it seems that all roads point to them in terms of location and comfort. Next time, I wouldn't think twice to stay with them and highly recommend this B&B. They had local preserves for breakfast and Glen makes an impressive meal fit for a king. My room was clean and so cozy, all day long I was thinking about getting back to my room where I could relax in my comfortable room - especially the electric blanket which is a must after a day of hiking.
Karen had such great knowledge of the local attractions and her advice really allowed me to make the most of my day.
I can't praise them enough. Thank you Karen and Glen - I'm so happy I stayed with you.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so very much Sara for your review. We are just happy that our guests are well fed, warm & get a good's nights sleep. So happy you enjoyed staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Cambridge House is gorgeous. Glen and Karen, as well as being great hosts, have paid great attention to providing everything for a relaxing, peaceful and comfortable stay. On dusk we even watched a platypus feeding in the stream that runs through the garden beside the house. Beautiful!
Thanks, Linda and Bob

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you Linda for the review. We're so glad you were relaxed & comfortable while staying with us, & especially pleased that you got to watch the platypus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geeveston
0.2 mi away
The Bears Went Over The Mountain
1.8 mi away
Kermandie Hotel
Kermandie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Port Huon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
11.5 mi away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.9 mi away
Donalea Bed & Breakfast
Donalea Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Castle Forbes Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
10.8 mi away
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 School Rd | Huon Valley, Geeveston, Tasmania 7116, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Geeveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Geeveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge House is a lovingly restored heritage listed home with spacious ensuite queen rooms, guests comfortable lounge & sunny dining room. There is a very large garden with resident platypus living in the river flowing through it. Separate guest entry ensures privacy & there are no shared areas with your hosts. Full country cooked breakfast utilising our own produce included. The perfect base for exploring the whole of the Huon Valley/Bruny Island area. Four star rating. FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast Geeveston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing