We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PERFECT B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Geeveston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at CAMBRIDGE HOUSE in early March 2013..originally for one night but loved it so much we extended another day, just because we loved this house so much!
This was the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in...it was perfect in every way....a charming environment..beautifully and cosily decorated, welcoming...but best of all was the wonderful breakfast. The owner makes her own fruit compotes and jams which were simply a "Taste Sensation"!...we ate so much for breakfast that it kept us going until mid afternoon.
The owner was lovely....friendly but not overbearing....and welcoming....
Our bedroom was incredibly cosy, spotlessly clean and comfortable....and there was a spacious, clean lovely shared bathroom.

Another wonderful highlight was the wild platypus in the creek at the bottom of their garden. My boyfriend comes from Germany and was lucky to see his first platypus! (which is so rare)
I cannot say enough good things about this wonderful place and cannot wait for the next time we visit Tasmania when we will definately make a trip back to Geeveston JUST to stay here again! Thankyou for a lovely memorable 2 days at your gorgeous home.!
Maxine Ryder and Michael Flossmann

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine-Ryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

We too are always thrilled when guests get to watch the platypus - especially when they are visitors from overseas. We're glad we could feed you well & certainly hope to see you back here to stay before too long. Thanks for the review & thanks too for the photos you've added!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had two very lovely days at Cambridge house. Karen and Glenn were so accommodating and their breakfasts with all the fresh fruits from their amazing garden was wonderful. The big claw foot bath was great after a cold day climbing the Hartz mountains and the lovely lounge chairs in the room great for relaxing in. Sorry didn't see those platypus Karen and I kept going for a look !! Cheers phillip and Alex

Room Tip: Geeves suite is definitely the nicest
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

So sorry you didn't get to see the platypus - & I know you were persistent! But glad you enjoyed the big bath. Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have stayed in many B & B's and Cambridge House would have to be one of the best. The rooms are very large and comfortable with a cosy, comfortable bed. The guest lounge is well set-up and stocked with books and movies. The owners were welcoming and friendly. The food was exceptional, (they even do supper if you pre-order it). And to top it off, we were able to sit in their garden-seats enjoying wine & cheese while watching the resident platypus forage in the river.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

You two certainly had the right idea - wine & cheese down on the riverbank whiie watching the platypus! Thank you for writing the review & we're glad you had a pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was my first experience staying in a B&B and Cambridge House exceeded all my expectations, with its beautifully presented house and gardens. Karen and Glen were fantastic hosts, always welcoming whether it was early in the morning with a hearty breakfast or after a full day of exploring the surrounding areas. Not forgetting the sticky date pudding to die for and the award winning jams (which my 90 year old nan is now a massive fan of!).....What's not to love about Cambridge House!! Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCameron_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We're happy your first B&B experience was a good one & we fed you well! Hope your Nan is making the jams last a while & we'd love to see back again one day before too long. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a great stay at Cambridge House on the 8 March. Accommodation was great and the breakfasts were outstanding. I have never tasted better stewed nectarines!!!. Would return in an instant. Perhaps next time we will see the platypus.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room but did not see the other rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Glad the nectarines were a hit! We had such a huge crop on our tree I was running out of bottles for preserving. Pity you missed the platypus especially as there are young ones around at the moment, maybe another time! Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently stayed five nights at Cambridge House using it as a base for exploring the surrounding areas. What can we say that has not already been said in previous reviews- an excellent B&B. First class accommodation in every respect. From the moment we entered Cambridge House we knew we had found a perfect place to stay. Karen & Glen were wonderful hosts with lots of useful information. We appreciated the sumptuous breakfasts especially on the days we went walking in the Hertz National Park and South West National Park. A lovely, comfortable,relaxing home to come back to after a long day out. Thank you Karen and Glen for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We're very happy to know we set you up well for your long days out exploring the nearby National Parks. We are an ideal base for the whole area & we're pleased you enjoyed your 5 days with us & thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Cambridge House is a great B&B – we loved it. We stayed for three nights in late February in the Geeves Suite, which we found very spacious for two. Karen and Glen were gracious hosts and made us feel very welcome, while remaining extremely unobtrusive. This historic house is impeccably presented, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The breakfast, served in the dining room, is hearty and delicious – I recommend Glen’s poached eggs which are lovingly cooked to perfection, served with bacon, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms and toast. Help yourself to cereals, a variety of delicious home-grown stewed fruit and yoghurt, plus toast and spreads. I recommend Glen’s 4 Fruits Marmalade, which is also for sale – we bought a couple of bottles to take home. On two of the three nights we stayed we availed ourselves of Karen’s soup, hot bread rolls and desert for dinner – very tasty and great value. Overall, this is a great B&B experience – highly recommended. While you’re there, say hello to the many platypuses in the creek at the bottom of the garden – great spot to sit and sip a red before dinner! We’ll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dozza303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gokyo55, Owner at Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed our home cooking, we're no chefs but we like to do our best with the abundance of local produce. Thank you for the wonderful review & we certainly hope to see you both back here again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geeveston
11.3 mi away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
133 reviews
10.8 mi away
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Kermandie Hotel
Kermandie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Port Huon
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bears Went Over The Mountain
7.7 mi away
Cygnet's Secret Garden
2.9 mi away
Donalea Bed & Breakfast
Donalea Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Castle Forbes Bay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 School Rd | Huon Valley, Geeveston, Tasmania 7116, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Geeveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Geeveston
Price Range: $102 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge House is a lovingly restored heritage listed home with spacious ensuite queen rooms, guests comfortable lounge & sunny dining room. There is a very large garden with resident platypus living in the river flowing through it. Separate guest entry ensures privacy & there are no shared areas with your hosts. Full country cooked breakfast utilising our own produce included. The perfect base for exploring the whole of the Huon Valley/Bruny Island area. Four star rating. FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast Geeveston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing