We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give yourself a few hours”

Tahune Forest AirWalk
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$22.41*
and up
Tahune AirWalk Admission Ticket with Optional Cable Eagle Hang-Gliding
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Geeveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk among the giants of the forest. Experience the power of nature at the Tahune AirWalk. We are Tasmania’s must-see forest experience. With breathtaking views of the forest canopy, spine-tingling swinging bridges across the Huon and Picton Rivers and Tasmanian food and wine in the licensed cafe, there’s a full day of fun for the whole family. Enjoy more activities on site including Huon Pine walk, Eagle hang gliding and a 6km mountain bike track. Can't fit it all into one day? Stay overnight at the AirWalk Lodge.The Tahune AirWalk now offers a range of fully guided tours, so that you can discover Tasmania’s southern forests with a local. You can touch a legendary Huon pine, hunt for mysterious forest fungi, or learn about the important scientific research that goes on right ‘next door’ to the AirWalk. Tours run regularly and are complimentary with your admission fee. Inquire at the visitor centre for more information.Opening times: October to March 9am – 5pm April to September 10am – 4pm
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Give yourself a few hours”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had limited time when we arrived as we had spent the morning elsewhere. This was a mistake on our part. Make sure that you have plenty of time here, as I'm sure that there is much more to see that what we experienced. We only got to do the Air Walk and did not get to do any of the other bridges. We had young kids. Our 3 1/2 year old loved the place. We took the pram for our 7 month old son. At the beginning there are a fair few steps (we didnt count, but maybe 100 +/-) to carry the pram up, although, it is possible! Once at the top, the walk is very pram friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KDCBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    243
    48
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“If you love the bush, wild rivers, trees....you will love the Tahune!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Absolutely brilliant. I am not good with heights but managed to walk the airwalk...except for the final bit of the cantilever...i got to the main support pole but couldn't go any further. It is still an amazing experience and i don't feel that I didn't achieve all of the experience as the views are stupendous from everywhere. The trees are amazing as is the river below. If you are wary of heights I probably would recommend you get there early in the morning on a wind free day - we arrived early and the wind was starting to pick up a bit later on which made the walk sway a bit. To many people (incl husband) this added to the thrill of the walk - each to his/her own :D
The suspension bridges were another challenge for me - one which I can proudly say I achieved, even though we waited until no-one else was around and i made the mad dash across on my own - i don't mind the sway if it is in tune with my steps but get a bit flustered when others add to the movement - big sook I know but some of us are like that and still get out there and have a go - so if you are one of the brave unscared types and see one of us scaredy cats out there please just be kind and don't think its a big joke to frighten us, as it is a huge challenge for some!
Cafe was great especially the view of the river! Shop products quite varied and lots from local suppliers too. Definitely worth a drive. Try and stop off at some of the other wonderful attractions/sites too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollipop888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland S, Operations Manager at Tahune Forest AirWalk, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Congratulations on your fantastic achievement! We love it when people push their personal boundaries and do something they never thought possible. We'll see you next time for the Eagle hang glider! Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This walk is well worth doing. It gives you a whole new perspective on the bush below you, from a viewpoint you don't often get to experience. Awesome looking out over the river. The drive in is also great among the trees.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Everest9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Clever cantilever!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Well with the drive to get to the Tahune Airwalk. Friendly staff, we arrived near closing but they told us to take our time even if the cafe and office were closing. So we did, taking in the Airwalk, which is a lot of fun with good views and a very clever cantilevered section at the end, and the walk along the river crossing two swing bridges...one that is incredibly long and gets the heart rate up! The Airwalk has disabled access and would suit any ability level.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RipleyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Agree....Well worth the visit!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We bought our tickets at the information centre at Geeveston but we could have just bought them at the door. We loved the air walk. Very well done. Allow plenty of time to do the other walks beside the river as they are also well worth it. Food in the restaurant was extremely nice and made to order, so nothing sitting around in cabinets for hours on end. My son had 2 goes on the hang glider. For $12 a go, hearing him laughing all the way down was worth every cent. Toilets were a bit ordinary and not very clean. Otherwise, it's a great place to spend some time and would highly recommend a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneDearie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahune Forest AirWalk also viewed

 
Geeveston, Tasmania
Huonville, Tasmania
 

Been to Tahune Forest AirWalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing