We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi in the middle of no where.”
Review of Masaaki's Sushi

Masaaki's Sushi
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Geeveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sushi in the middle of no where.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were on our way camping in southport. Thought we might stop by what we knew as Tasmania's best sushi. We were excitingly surprised that it was open. It just happened to be Good Friday.

Tucked off one the side streets near the town centre, you'll find this small Japanese sushi restaurant.

Masaaki serves fresh rolled sushi, nigiri, inari and sashimi. There was a teriyaki duck on special and miso soup.

Masaaki also travels down to hobart on Sundays to the farmgate market on Melville street. Well, he'll probably catch me there on Sundays lining up for sushi from now on.

At the end of our trip, we made another stop to satisfy our stomachs, and again, it was lovely.

Masaaki's made our camping experience, a glamping experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kc_chan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Artistry”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Can't get better than this - almost worth a trip to Geeveston to eat his sushi. This man is a true artist and sources local produce to make the best sushi in Tasmania. Ring before making the trip to see if he is open.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FinoniTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great guy, stunning sushi!!!!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Beautifully presented and amazingly tasty Sashimi, Nigiri, Temaki, Inari and easily the best Miso Soup I have ever tried. Everything is prepared fresh and where possible is Tasmanian.

If you're planning a trip to the the south of Hobart definitely include Masaaki's as a place to stop in. Only open Friday and Saturday or catch him at the Melville St (farmer's) Market on Sundays in Hobart.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamtassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sushi”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Every mouthful was a marvel. Fresh, delicate flavours, immaculately prepared. No wonder people travel 45 minutes from Hobart to enjoy Masaaki's Sushi. And Masaaki the Master was absolutely charming!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank julieandrewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geeveston, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

... So says my wife. I agree, and look forward to making it a regular treat. Opening times take a bit of remembering, so make sure you check. Geeveston is pretty small, even by Tas standards, so having Masaaki's in town is a real bonus. Plan you trip to the Huon to make sure you don't miss out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masaaki's Sushi also viewed

Geeveston, Tasmania
Port Huon, Tasmania
 
Port Huon, Tasmania
 
Franklin, Tasmania
 

Been to Masaaki's Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing