We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to park Entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
Wingham, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Close to park Entrance”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed for 2 night in a Park Cabin (en-suite) for $99/night. Had a small deck for outdoor eating and viewing. This is a big park with many cabins and campervans.
However, the sloped sight spreads everyone out and we weren't inconvenienced. However, if you are looking for solitude, this place is not for you. Easy walk around the foreshore but you need to drive 4 km to access the trails in Freycinet National Park.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    136
    70
    21
    11
See reviews for
98
142
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a well located and has reasonably priced accommodation very near the Freycinet National Park.

We stayed one night. Privacy was a little bit of an issue. This has been commented upon by other reviewers. It was disturbing to see people looking at you from the cabin on the right and also from the left. The “viewing” zone was the kitchen/eating and lounge area between the main bedroom and the bathroom. Drawing ALL the curtains solved the problem but it would have been better if the cabins had privacy screens between them. It was okay for one night but we could not have accepted it for a longer stay.

The hum from the circuit breaker switchboard located in the main bedroom cabin was just as annoying as it was concerning but rectified by removing, at bedtime, the key which activated the power.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, privacy screens are a great idea and certainly something we will consider as part of our continuous improvement plan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in an ensuite cabin, which was clean and comfortable, and a reasonable price. A great location, with many nearby beaches, and close to shop and tavern. A short walk down to the beach, which we did at night, and saw the tiny little crabs all coming ashore and burying themselves, which was very cool to see. Park was very busy while we were there, but wasnt at all noisy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryridg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Many thanks for your positive comments and review. We hope to see you return again oneday, as you suggested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

5 mins walking distance to Muir Beach and shops. Great place to stay if you are on a budget as most property on Coles Bay Area quite pricey. There are about 200 cabins in this holiday park and many caravans parking lots with common area. You can hear the talking, music of your neighboring cabins from within your cabin if you do not close your window. 1km away from the Freycinet National Park Visitor centre and 4 km away from the Wineglass Bay walk carpark.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YannYng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy you found Iluka to be convenient in a variety of ways. Just a correction, there is not 200 cabins on the property only 33!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This caravan park has am
Ideal location with water views from most sites and cabins. Because of the weather we stayed in a cabin the first night and on a powered site in our rooftop tent the second night. The two bedroom unit we had was expensive but good value if you're traveling with a large group or family. Plenty of space, a deck with a water view and fairly clean in presentation.
The powered site gave me an opportunity to inspect the camping amenities; showers were ok (not exactly clean), the BBQ was just ok, and the camp kitchen was a bench top with a sink & kettle. What I consider 'off' is a one-dollar coin slot under the BBQ and even under the cooktop. Come-on you pencil sharpeners; a FULL camp kitchen should be included and that should also include a cooktop and BBQ in my opinion. It seems that BIG4 does not have a set standard for this so in other big4s you get a proper kitchen that doesn't eat dollar coins

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NotQuiteAWinnebago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Glad you enjoyed staying in our cabins, with water views over the beautiful Coles Bay.
And a shame on your inspection of our amenities you did not discover the other two fully equipped camp kitchens, containing a lot more than a bench, kettle and sink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Friendly place to stay, cabin was very comfortable and clean. Maybe a jumping pillow and a bit more entertainment for the kids would be great. I would highly recommend this place, close to everything and Coles Bay itself is a must if you visit Tasmania.

Room Tip: Go for the superior cabin if you can when traveling with a family 5 or more, the standard one is jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and taking time to do it. We are glad you enjoyed Coles Bay generally.
There are plans to expand children's activities in the future, at the park, you will have to return again one day to see what has changed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is the best location for travellers to Freycinet National Park. Cabin was fairly old but had what you needed and at a really low price for peak season and we did not have to stay for the advertised 4 nights minimum. No heating/cooling in the cabin we stayed in. Staff were very friendly. Had a fantastic takeaway pizza from Tombolo (nr Post Office). Directly opposite family friendly beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
We are pleased you found our location convenient to all you needed, and that you took time to complete a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
17.3 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,037 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
547 reviews
10.6 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
292 reviews
17.2 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Property: BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
Address: 15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet (formerly known as Iluka Holiday Centre) sits opposite Muirs Beach at Coles Bay on the beautiful East Coast of Tasmania. It's an ideal location from which to explore world renowned Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. The area is rich in stunning natural beauty, great walks and history. It abounds in fresh local produce from berries to wine and seafood. Whether a couple looking for a quiet weekend or a family wanting a fun holiday we offer a wide variety of accommodation options: 2 bedroom units, cosy cabins, powered and tent sites, YHA backpackers hostel. Minimum booking periods over long weekends, Christmas and Easter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Iluka On Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing