We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bushwalking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We are a group of |young at heart| older ladies we spent 3 nights in the backpackers lodge as there were 14 of us we booked the entire facility we were really impressed with the cleanliness, of all the facilities. A perfect venue for us to enjoy some lovely walks in the national park, very quiet except for our noise Thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Great you all enjoyed yourselves, we certainly enjoyed having you. And thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 317 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

The staff (I'm guessing owners) were brilliant, offered advice and local knowledge willingly. They were also quick to help if needed and really friendly. The parks located near to the local tavern for an easy meal and all facilities were clean and ready to use. It was a great place to be able to go back to after a day of scenic walks in the Coles Bay area

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessieMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for giving Iluka such positive feedback. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

While basic, the cabins are excellent value, very quiet and located close to the Wine Glass Bay cruises. Despite what you may read on advertising etc, this place is not on The Esplanade but rather on Reserve Road.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustralienSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi There,
Many thanks for your positive and helpful review, yes, we are aware of the address issue and have commenced changing marketing material for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I really wasn't sure what we were in for as we haven't stayed at a BIG4 before but it was excellent. The cabin was immaculate, it was central to the little town centre and the national park, there was a little bakery and tavern off the back of it and it was right on the beach. Couldn't have asked for more, especially with how little it cost. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MikeSmith83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hello Mike, Thank you for taking the time to let others know about Iluka, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the very beautiful area of the Freycinet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have now stayed twice at the Big 4 holiday park at Coles Bay and both times totally blown away by the proximity to such a magnificent piece of nature. The backdrop of the mountain peaks as one travels in gives the feeling of anticipation of something wonderful and this is borne out by the white sands of the beach and the choice of affordable and comfortable accomodation within earshot of the ocean.The staff are friendly and helpful and both locals and foreign travellers are to be encountered at the tavern next door. I would certainly stay at iluka Big 4 again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Your review was beautifully written, and paints an accurate picture of the Hazards and surrounds.
Thank you for submitting it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lots of the accom in Coles Bay is private self contained houses suitable for families. And priced accordingly. As there was just the 2 of us, we didn't want to pay extra for family accom that we didn't need. So after a little research we ended up at the big 4 in a deluxe cabin which was perfect for our needs and was at the right price. It is located right on Muirs beach and there is a tavern, bakery, general store and petrol station here as well. A very well appointed and modern kitchen made self catering an option.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thanks David for taking time to submit a review. We are very happy you enjoyed this little corner of ' Tassie', and hope you make it back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We don't normally stay in caravan parks but given the cost of other accommodation in Coles Bay we decided to give Big 4 a go.

We stayed in a basic cabin and were very happy with everything, and so close to the pub.

Would stay here again and will now give other caravan parks a go.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ozblue_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
17.3 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,081 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
94 reviews
17.2 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
10.6 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Address: 15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Coles Bay
Price Range: $90 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet (formerly known as Iluka Holiday Centre) sits opposite Muirs Beach at Coles Bay on the beautiful East Coast of Tasmania. It's an ideal location from which to explore world renowned Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. The area is rich in stunning natural beauty, great walks and history. It abounds in fresh local produce from berries to wine and seafood. Whether a couple looking for a quiet weekend or a family wanting a fun holiday we offer a wide variety of accommodation options: 2 bedroom units, cosy cabins, powered and tent sites, YHA backpackers hostel. Minimum booking periods over long weekends, Christmas and Easter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Iluka On Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing