We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive location with a simple but equally impressive menu”

The Edge Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Edge of the Bay Resort is a boutique resort on the Freycinet Peninsula on Tasmania's East Coast. A privately owned property consisting of 14 Ocean View Suites, 7 Secluded Cottages and 'The Edge Restaurant'; on 30 acres of beach front overlooking Great Oyster Bay and 'The Hazards' mountains.
Hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Impressive location with a simple but equally impressive menu”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Nothing complex here - a simple formula.
A graat view overlooking the Hazards and a great meal.
The chef started us off with his personal favourite - the selection of meats that he'd cured and preserved. A pretty impressive start.
This is a class act in a remote location punching well above it's weight.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    62
    25
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

It was so good I have to start my review with dessert. As a "foodie" couple who dine out a number of times a week and regularly treat ourselves to fine dining experiences, the chocolate pudding dessert at The Edge restaurant rates as one of the best desserts we've tasted - luckily we both ordered it as I would have refused to share! The menu noted 20 min wait for pudding allows time to ensure your mains have settled enough before you dig into the multi layer of pudding that provides sponge, mousse and molten sauce layers of chocolate goodness. The main meals were actually also very good, with quality ingredients - we enjoyed the seafood linguini and the fish special....but it's that chocolate pudding we will forever remember!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JandA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was really dissapointed with this restaurant. Firstly the decor is in a time warp, and the music playing inside was awful. It felt like a blast from the 80s - no personality or atmosphere whatsoever -however the views are stunning! In my opinion I was not impressed with the food. The scallop entree was bland and very oily. Our mains tasted nice but the serving sizes were tiny - we are not big eaters but we were still hungry after mains and ordered desert to try to fill us up which is rare! So maybe order bread for entree! I felt the food was a bit overpriced for what it was. For a restaraunt in such a beautiful place I think they could do so much more!!! So yes I was dissapointed!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christina108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Local Produce”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We loved the local seafood, local mushrooms and emphasis on local wines by the glass. The Edge restaurant should be congratulated for supporting the local producers.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the East coast”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Edge Restaurant was by far the nicest place we dined on the east coast. Amazingly friendly staff, great food, and a unique experience. The tables for two are set against the window which provides diners with a brilliant view and the atmosphere was quiet and peaceful.
Would love to go back one day!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank AJay_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edge Restaurant also viewed

 
Coles Bay, Freycinet
 

Been to The Edge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing