We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coles Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Coles Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buderim Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

In view of some of the damaging comments in previous reviews of Sheoks I just wanted to say how much my husband and I enjoyed staying for three nights with Alan and Margaret at Sheoks.

We found the accommodation and facilities to be more than adequate and for a pleasant change I appreciated lying on a decent bed compared to others we experienced during our tour of Tasmania. Our room overlooked the sea and we made use of the beach access for one of our walks.

Margaret is a fantastic cook and the choice for a cooked breakfast was amazing, better than anything else we encountered during our holiday. The fresh fruit juice prepared was incredible. The food was nicely presented and was even on a hot plate! Alan deputised as cook one morning and also did a very good job. On the day we had a picnic lunch prepared by our hosts and it was enormous and very enjoyable, so much so that we didn't want dinner that night! We were always asked to nominate the time we would like breakfast and everything went according to plan like clockwork and thoroughly enjoyable.

Maybe the previous derogatory comments came about because guests did not take the trouble to engage in appropriate conversation with the hosts. We found Margaret especially passionate about improving tourism in Tasmania and overall we had a most pleasant and relaxing stay and would welcome the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: We only experienced Room 1 which as previously mentioned had an excellent bed - well two singles to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 207Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
7
71
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manyana, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Very modern, comfortable accommodation in a well designed B & B.Our room was spacious with a comfortable king sized bed. It was good to be able to open the window at night and hear the sea. The guest wing leads to a guest lounge with bar fridge and then on to an open deck. The beach can be accessed from the rear of the property.
We stayed one night. The previous evevning our hosts had been in Hobart receiving an award at government house for their B&B.
Margaret provided an excellent meal for dinner, using local ingredients while Alan shared his knowledge of local wines. Breakfast was outstanding - try the bircher muesli and french toast with liqueur soaked prunes and yoghurt.We were asked our preferred time for breakfast .
Access to Freycinet peninsula and the national park, with panoramas of Wineglass Bay was only minutes away by car.
Off the main road so no traffic noise at all.

Room Tip: Our room had views out to the water. Not sure if all did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl8050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our group of 12 stayed in two self contained beach house managed by the same couple who own (?) and run Sheoaks. The houses themselves were located next to Sheoaks where we had to check in and out. Accommodation itself was fantastic.

Reception from host, Alan, was far from warm and welcoming. Very similar experience to gjwjmb. It seemed as thought we were an inconvenience.

Have to say though that I did appreciate our hosts collecting pre-ordered food for us from nearby Bicheno. (saved Service rating from being 'Poor')

Room Tip: 'Waterline at Freycinet' was the pick of the two houses in terms of the view and atmoshere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doody045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in the B&B itself. The house is in a nice location with access to the beach. However, my major complaint is the attitude of the owners. The problems started even before we arrived. Upon booking, we were told that breakfast was at 8.00am but we asked if we could possibly have it a bit ealier as we had planned to do a kayak trip the next morning which began at 8.30. All we wanted was some cereal and toast that we could have done ourselves. Oh no - breakfast was at 8.00am!! We were also informed in no uncertain terms that there was no way we could check in early even though we did not request this.

So, with some trepidation we arrived at the appointed time. We were greeted by Alan who barely said hello and mumbled a few things at us. Not once were we welcomed. We again asked if we could possibly have breakfast a bit earlier - but no, that wasn't going to happen.

The room we were given was adequate with a queen size bed, although it was not comfortable and we rolled towards the middle. This was not what was advertised when we booked through the internet. It was supposed to be a king size bed with pillow top. When we showed this to Allan he basically grunted and said something about the internet being wrong.

We opted to have dinner included and I must say the food was very nice. However, when we sat down to dinner, Margaret appeared and did not say hello at all and looked like she didn't want to be there. There was one other couple, so the six of us had dinner and I must say it was quite strained.

The house is quite a modern design but the decor and furniture are dated (no, they're not quaint). The guest lounge room just had chairs, no lounge and we didn't feel comfortable even sitting there. We retreated to our room.

The kayak trip was cancelled due to bad weather, so we marched into breakfast at 8.00am!

We have stayed at many B&Bs in Australia and New Zealand, but I would have to say that this was the worst experience we've had. There was nothing wrong with the place and the food in general, but the unwelcoming nature of the hosts made for a strained stay. There was no flexibility or an attitude of accommodating guests requests. We are not demanding people and always treat others with courtesy and respect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gjwjmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We signed up for the Celebration Package that included all our meals. The food was simply excellent along with the conversation. We enjoyed meeting the hosts and other guests. This was a very comfortable B and B.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed in Beachcomber House. The living area of this property is big with a nice dining and lounge area. However, I was not impressed with the cleanliness of this property. Cutleries were not washed well and it was left sticky with oil, and to my disgust, I found the bed smells, uncertain if the sheets remained unwashed for a long period of time or the the mattress is soaked with sweat. Having said this, there were plenty of signage posted in the house indicating to use water with care. The shower is in the spa tub, hence one has to be very cautious not to slip while stepping out from the spa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Chose this spot as it is next to the beach and near the national park. Room was a good size and good location with friendly owners and pets. Not sure what the neighbour thought of the morning post coffee ritual as we could hear them in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
9.6 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
16.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
8.6 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.4 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sheoaks Bed and Breakfast
Address: 47 Oyster Bay Ct, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sheoaks Bed And Breakfast Freycinet, Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing