We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great units”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edge of the Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great views, great units”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an oceanview suite for 2 nights, and was good value for a modern unit in this location.
The local wildlife was abundant with wallabies are our verandah each day. Our suite had no cooking facilities, but otherwise well furnished, and a clever design.. you only see a view of the mountains, no other residents.

The onsite restaurant is nice, small services of good food, with similarly great views of the Hazard mountains ranges.

There are cheaper options for food at Freycinet Lodge bistro, to Tomalos pizza cafe in Coles Bay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jkmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    138
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
64
243
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent 3 nights here in february, in a cottage - we are a couple with a 10 year old.
This is a great place to stay if you want to connect with nature (which should be why you come to Freycinet). The view from these cabins are worthy of a million-dollars. That's why the accommodation isn't cheap. Freycinet is all about walking through the national park or to/along the scenic beaches.

The cabins are basic but have everything you need in terms of space and amenities. The beds are not so comfortable - pretty firm mattresses and pillows. My one suggestion for the management would be to invest in some better quality mattresses and bedding. The hot water supply is fantastic and we loved having the washing machine in-cabin.

We saw some families with smaller children but because the beaches aren't really bathing/swimming beaches and the walks are pretty hard-core I would pick somewhere different to holiday if I was coming with kids under the age of 7. Our 10-year old is active and the walking and kayaking suited us all - but 3 days was enough...

Essential things to know:
- the cottages are great for a small family - the kitchen area is great for preparing basic meals, there's a grill out on the deck and a washing machine in the bathroom. The second bedroom has 3 single beds (bunk/trundle).
- there's a separate tap for drinking water, which is treated rainwater.
- the little beach has a few boats you can take out (although we didn't) and great rocks for clambering over, playing on and searching for shore-life. The water on the east coast is too cold for swimming, but my daughter had a few dips...
- the wifi is only available near the reception area and phone reception is patchy. There's a TV, DVD player and CD player in the cabin but the quiet, peaceful nature of this area should encourage everyone to detach from these for a few days...so I understand why the DVDs are not complementary.
- The restaurant is nice but it is pricey ($180 for the three of us - 2 glasses of wine each, no starters but we did all have dessert). It doesn't prohibit children but it doesn't do anything special to accommodate them. We saw a couple with younger children who were provided with a high-chair but there's a note on the menu that children must remain seated at all times and there's no children's menu or portions offered. We paid $30 for my daughter's fish and chips.
- Tombolo in Coles Bay is a casual dining option that provides great food for all the family at decent prices. They are closed for dinner on Monday. There's a small but adequate IGA opposite Tombolo where basic food can be purchased for cooking in the cabins.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank comefrywithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Some friends had just been to Freycinet and suggested we stay at the Freycinet Lodge. I had checked the prices and thought they were a bit rich so we took our chances and drive into the area without a booking. We saw the sign to Edge of the Bay from the main road and thought we'd just drive in and take a look. We absolutely loved what we saw and were also impressed with the price. The large motel style room was very comfortable with everything you need (incl a TV which my partner wanted to watch a bit of the Aust Open....the Lodge doesn't have TVs in the rooms!!) Not that we spent much time in the room as the area is so special. However it was nice to come back to, waking up in the morning to the gorgeous view (all rooms have the view) and wallabies and birdlife everywhere. The restaurant is 1st rate and I was able to get a lovely vegetarian meal with no problem, also stunning views from the restaurant.
Would recommend to families and couples and would definitely stay again. We did actually drive into the Freycinet Lodge grounds and were not overly impressed particularly as a lot of the cabins were far away from the view.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms as they all face the amazing views, the little front balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian1andlaurie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We loved our stay here, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and have great views over the ocean to the national park, its is definitely worth the money.
Part of the attraction is the proximity to wildlife, especially the birds and Wallabies just in front of your window.
Its also very unobtrusive on the landscape.

Room Tip: Take a room with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

it`charming, value for money - a super contemporary accomodation-opportunity with connected dining restaurant - that was actually the highlight, besides the grazing wollebies in front of your little verandah of our suite.
it is clean, own kitchenette, has access to a very private beach, kayaking, friendly staff - so what else is needed?
good food, which is served in the main building, tables at the windows are designed for two in an unusual angel, but it works - fresh food with a lovely choice of wine from the area - we tried 4 different ones on recommendation and they were all just right!

Room Tip: try the suites , they are quiet and do have private little paths down to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed 4 nights Dec/Jan and had a wonderful stay at Edge of the Bay resort in one of the ocean view suites which had a great outlook over Great Oyster Bay and the Hazard Mountains. The suite was spacious and spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed. The restaurant on site was excellent where had dinner on the 4 nights and the $30 dinner voucher included in the daily tariff makes dining at the restaurant reasonable value. Its a shame that the resort does not offer breakfast on site. The walk to Coles Bay along the beach which takes about half an hour is worth doing as long as the tide is not up otherwise you have to walk through a water channel. Breakfast at Tombolo in Coles Bay was excellent but its small and one has to get there as soon as it opens otherwise fills up quickly. However I was surprised that it was closed on New Year's Day. Lunch at Richardson's was good. Already planning another visit to Coles Bay later in the year when will stay at Edge of the Bay resort again. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Ocean suites are for couples only...all have views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Beautifully appointed rooms for couples. A little expensive but worth the cost. Gorgeous views from the rooms. Not suited for friends unless you don't mind sharing a queen bed. Restaurant was lovely. Best lamb I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeDee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10.0 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
455 reviews
16.6 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
368 reviews
17.5 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
559 reviews
3.7 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Bay Resort

Property: Edge of the Bay Resort
Address: 2308 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edge of the Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Edge of the Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edge Of The Bay Hotel Coles Bay
Edge Of The Bay Resort Freycinet, Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing