We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sea views from your bed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edge of the Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edge of the Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sea views from your bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in suite 29 with lovely sea views from our unit and bed! Very comfortable with easy access to beach and walks. There are no cooking facilities in the suite but the restaurant offers excellent food.
We were looked after by Stephanie and Nils who were our charming hosts whilst staying.
The local Wallabies and Blue Wrens visited us on our deck!

Room Tip: Try room 29 with sea views and beach access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenFinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    133
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
59
235
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We recently stayed at The Edge of the Bay, a great location to enjoy Freycinet and surrounding area. We had the waterfront suite, which was very comfortable and well thought out. The kitchenette is only suitable for tea/ coffee and breakfast etc, but with the wonderful restaurant you don't need to go far for dinner, we preferred it to the restaurant at the Lodge as it was excellent fresh produce, well presented and friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReajMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebourne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first visit and we chose an Ocean View Suite which was just beautiful, spacious and well appointed and with stunning views. A path leads from the private balcony and before you know it you're on the beach and can enjoy the stunning rocks and beach and take in the fabulous view of The Hazards. We were blessed with great weather but would still have loved the suite and surroundings even if it had been a little colder. We ate at the restaurant for dinner, the service was great and the meals wonderful. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful.
The worst thing about the visit was having to leave!!! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karren61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently stayed one night over Easter at the "Edge". Slightly off the beaten track, after check-in you are directed to your room which is set in bushland so it's a surprise to enter very modern and contemporary accommodation in neutral shades of grey. Minimalist, but everything you need is on hand and when you wander out through the sliding glass doors to the deck the view across the water is sensational and as all units are ground level there is nothing obstructing your view. Plenty of bushland surrounds you so I was absolutely delighted when a young wallaby hopped over and dutifully stood still while I took his photograph. (Of course there was no way I could bring myself to sample the 'wallaby loin' on the menu that night :( ) Grateful for the 'on-site' restaurant, and you can access free i'net at a "hot spot" near the office. "Saffire" is the resort next door but I can't imagine that their view or accommodation is worth five times what you pay at the "Edge". If you're not into bushwalking, I would highly recommend the four hour Wineglass Bay Cruise where you see the most amazing coastline and wildlife and are served a very pleasant local drop to accompany your cheese!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dancing-Maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked one of the cottages at Edge of the Bay over the Easter long weekend. We spent 4 lovely days at Edge of the Bay and couldn't recommend it highly enough. The location of the resort is just fantastic - in the middle of the bush just outside the magnificent Freycinet National Park and minutes from the private beach with a stunning view of the Hazards mountain range. It is a few minutes' drive to the tiny township of Coles Bay and the Freycinet National Park, and about 45 mins away from Swansea. There are also several great vineyards nearby which are open for wine tasting. Tasmania produces some wonderful pinot noir and reisling and we bought quite a few bottles as souvenirs!

The cottage was clean and comfortable - perfect for two couples. The view from our living room window was breathtaking and the setting idyllic. As the resort is located in the middle of bushland, we enjoyed watching the birds and wallabies from our verandah. The area is so tranquil and we had a really restful stay. We enjoyed staying in one night and cooked mussels sourced from the nearby Marine Farm.

The restaurant is fantastic and we ate there on two nights. We also tried The Bay restaurant at the Lodge but preferred The Edge restaurant - it is more intimate and we though the dishes were a bit more special.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at Edge of the Bay and are planning to return there next year!

Room Tip: We loved staying in the self-contained cottages as this gave us more privacy and were probably quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharmedbyJuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean View Suite that was clean, comfortable and although equipped with modern furnitures - it was cosy. A short 5 min walk will lead you to picture perfect view of the Hazards and beautiful beach. If only the water is warm!

We dined at the restaurant - food was good but portions may seemed small for big eaters.

Definitely a good base to explore Freycinet National Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great spot to enjoy Freycinet area. If you feel fit & energetic I can recommend the long 5 hour walk to Wine Glass Bay lookout & surrounds. Also visit the lighthouse for a great view.
Restaurant at hotel is very nice but servings a bit small. Don't bother with breakdast basket just go down to Coles Bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10.3 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
17.5 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.6 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
3.7 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Bay Resort

Property: Edge of the Bay Resort
Address: 2308 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edge of the Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Edge of the Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edge Of The Bay Hotel Coles Bay
Edge Of The Bay Resort Freycinet, Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing