We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover in Freycinet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edge of the Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great spot to enjoy Freycinet area. If you feel fit & energetic I can recommend the long 5 hour walk to Wine Glass Bay lookout & surrounds. Also visit the lighthouse for a great view.
Restaurant at hotel is very nice but servings a bit small. Don't bother with breakdast basket just go down to Coles Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 430 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have previously had nice things to say about the Edge of the Bay and our most recent visit in March13 for 5 nights was just as enjoyable as our previous 10 visits. We discovered the place in 2004 and have been drawn back ever since. Typically staying 4 or 5 nights on one of the cottages. There rustic appearance makes them all the more special. We normally fly in to Launceston, pick up a hire car, shop for supplies in Campbell town and enjoy the 2 hour drive to the resort (always pack a cooler bag). We stay in a cottage so I can work and we can play. We either cook for ourselves in the fully equipped kitchen or dine at the EDGE. We enjoy being greeted with a smile, pointed to our cottage and left to our selves. Staff and management are first rate with nothing too much trouble. I can only endorse all the positive comments from other reviewers and beg to differ with those who found it did not meet their expectations. Yes we will be back again in either Nov13 or March14, probably both!!

Room Tip: All cottages and room offer the same fantastic view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are looking for quiet, comfortable self-contained accommodation in a magnificent spot, this place is perfect. The cottages are very comfortable with fabulous views and two minutes walk from a gorgeous private tiny beach just over the rocks from Coles Bay. You can walk all the way around to Freycinet National Park along the stunning beaches. The drive to the National Park is about 10 minutes. The restaurant is classy with more lovely views and good, though not exceptional, food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zebracrossingfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The large full wall windows with the magnificent views over to the Hazards was the selling point for us and they didn’t disappoint, for once the photos on the web site didn’t lie.

Comfortable sized rooms with a basic kitchenette. There is also a small deck outside for you to sit and watch the local resident wallabies. We arrived early and they allowed us to book in early which was very kind of them.

The beach out the front is great for a swim, if you can stand Tasmania’s all year round cold water, or for a leisurely walk. There are also rocky points to explore the rock pools.

We didn’t eat at the restaurant. The rooms are conjoined and you do hear the neighbours from time to time. Some parts of the room could have benefitted from maintenance such as the control rods for the blinds falling off all of the time and the blinds were a bit bent in places.

On the whole a great place to stay in an exceptionally beautiful location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roy650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the cottages - very comfortable accomodation with views that are constantly changing with the weather and sun direction. Large windows facing the Hazards Mountain Ranges in lounge and bedroom - only minor complaint was that there could be more vigilant maintenance in that the windows were not all that clean ( not that it could take anything away from the view), and flyscreens were missing on many of the windows. It was the season of March flies so the flies coming into the rooms were bothersome. There is a full sized fridge so could stock up on fresh provisions at one of the larger towns, and washing machine in the functional laundry/bathroom,so would be perfect for a week long stay. Is set amongst natural bushland lanscape so very private and a very short stroll to beach. Very good restaurant on site although dont go with a hefty appetite as you will leave hungry, as portions small. Resort on the pricey side but most of the accomodation in this area is overpriced. Really great spot to relax and unwind, with great hikes nearby at Wineglass Bay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn06-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were not guests at the resort but did eat in the restaurant on advice from the owners of our accommodation. It is in an attractive position overlooking the bay, and we were seated at one of the window tables which allowed us to fully enjoy the changing sky as the sun set (we also had a Wallaby stroll past the window). I had the mushroom pappadelle which was delicious and M had the eye fillet which was also a hit. For dessert we sampled the chocolate and Grand Marnier semifreddo which was good and the deconstructed affogato which was nice but contained far too many of the espresso gel cubes - to be honest they were a little tasteless and watery. Service was friendly and attentative but curiously we were denied a reservation time change due to apparently being fully booked even though 4-5 tables remained empty for the night. However, we did enjoy the evening and would return without hesitation if ever in the area again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank DaydreamFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We weren't staying at the resort but booked in for dinner whilst in the area.
This was our first dinner in Tasmania and set the standard for the remainder of the holiday.
I had the duck as a main dish, which was beautiful and with crispy skin, a failing on so many other menus. My husband had the flathead - again beautifully prepared and cooked. We shared a pannacotta for dessert, which was faultless, arrriving at the table wobbling and only just promising to hold together - delicious.
We would highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dwarf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
478 reviews
16.6 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
399 reviews
17.5 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
587 reviews
2.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,134 reviews
3.7 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edge of the Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Bay Resort

Address: 2308 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range: $182 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edge of the Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edge of the Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edge Of The Bay Hotel Coles Bay
Edge Of The Bay Resort Freycinet, Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing