We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freycinet Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Freycinet Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a spa cabin overlooking the bay - we couldn't have asked for a better position and could not fault the bedroom or bathroom. We returned from a beautiful meal in the restaurant to find a cheese platter waiting for us; what a lovely thought. Staff at check in and in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. We will definitely return, but will request a cabin with view as for me that made it special.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view; some are close to the lodge and overlook the beach and others are furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular that you were pleased with the service you received from our staff. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the view; we count ourselves lucky to live in such a beautiful location.
Sincerely,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    358
    152
    58
    14
See reviews for
169
622
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I love Freycinet Lodge. It's the best place to stay at Freycinet, hands down. We were in cabin 28 and the view of the beach was astonishingly beautiful. Our cabin had a spa and a DVD of The Hunter (which was filmed in Tasmania). We had a complimentary cheese platter - yum. The ensuite/bathroom has to be one of the best I've seen in any hotel.

Dinner and breakfast was included in the package, and the food was great, although the waitress at dinner was a bit surly (maybe she was undergoing stress or something like that?).

The dining area is very spacious.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, but are disappointed that the service you experienced at dinner was not up to our standards. We will be taking into account your comments, and will use the information provided to do better in future.
Sincerely,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

The reception and restaurant staff at Freycinet lodge are by far its best asset. The lodge has very recently been taken over by RACT, so hopefully they will seize the many missed opportunities.
We paid $410 a night for 3 people in a very basic, dark interior cabin. There was an air conditioner which was good, but overall the place was tired looking and dirty. The shower was very mouldy and there was a lot of dust and dirt around and under the lounges.
Advertised pictures that feature kayaks are a little misleading. Kayaks are only available in the nearby town of Coles Bay.
The bedding is very old and 70s looking and the room was not serviced other than towel replacement.
The bistro serves good food, but is decorated somewhat like a cheap rsl dining room. On the verandah are picnic type benches where you can enjoy great wine and a cheese platter, but once again nice wicker chairs and tables would be more likely to be what would be expected of a resort charging these prices.
Situated in a lovely spot, this hotel needs a big refurbishment to measure up to the price that we paid for our accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments both positive and negative in relation to the experience you had at our property. We’re happy to hear that you were pleased with our service delivery; however, the other issues you’ve described simply do not match the standard of our service and the promise of our brand.
We take all our visitors' responses seriously and I want to assure you that we will be taking action on your comments and in particular we’ll be looking to improve the cleanliness of our rooms as an immediate priority.
As you mentioned above, RACT has recently taken over this property. As the new owner of the property, we’ll be taking on board your comments and those provided by other visitors Freycinet Lodge, to help us determine the future improvements required.
Thank you again for providing feedback on your stay. It's a real opportunity for us to make sure we do better, next time - so thanks for giving us that opportunity to improve our business - and your next experience.
If you are back in Freycinet please drop in and say hello and let us show you how we can fully match our standards of service to your expectations.
Sincerely,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had a spa cabin overlooking the lake. The decor was a bit tired but note some lodges do not have a water side view. Service in the restaurant for dinner was slow but the breakfast was buffet and very good.

Despite the hotel being in the National Park you still had to drive some 2km to the car park for the various walks.

We would return as long as we had a water side view cabin.

Room Tip: Try and specify a water side view cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowePCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to pass on your feedback about our property. We’ll take your comments on board as we work to improve these properties.
Sincerely,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
310 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Lodge is actually in Freycinet National Park and has access to Richardson Beach. The weather was very damp and dull when we were there so we saw more of the lodge than anticipated and so were very aware of how good it was. There is an attractive wooded reception area leading down to a great bar and dining room with views over the bay and outside decking. There are 60 rooms - we were in the furthest from the main lodge which meant a dark walk back at night, enlivened by encountering a few possums! Our Lonely Planet guide said the cabins were showing their age but ours had been refurbished and consisted of an entrance hall, large bedroom with coffee making facilities, safe, radio and CD player (no TV to preserve the peaceful atmosphere) and a large bathroom with walk-in (slightly leaky) shower. The only negative points: it was very clean on arrival but less so on subsequent days with no attempts to clean up the leaking shower or give more than a quick lick to the bathroom and floors; bed was hard and so were the pillows; noisy fridge which turned itself off and on all night. Despite that we enjoyed our stay which gave us great access to the park itself.
We ate twice at the Bay restaurant and were fairly pleased with the food, particularly the mussels in a gorgeous cream and mushroom sauce, but less so the grilled lamb with its disappointing salsa. I agree with the TA reviewer who thought the breakfast under par - left too long to cool off, unfortunately (but plenty of it!). The Lodge also has a bistro which is reasonably priced and great for lunch with burgers, charcuterie plate etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to exceed your expectations on this occasion. However, the other issues you’ve described simply do not match the standard of our service and the promise of our brand.
We take all our visitors' responses seriously and I want to assure you that we will be taking action on your comments and in particular we’ll be looking to improve the cleanliness of our rooms as an immediate priority.
Thank you again for your feedback, we’ll take your comments on board as we work to improve these properties.
Sincerely,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Excellent cabin (no 17) with balcony and views over Coles Bay.
Could do with a bit of attention to decor and bath fittings.
For an establishment claiming high class restaurant the breakfast is disappointing. All the hot food is preprepared and kept warm. Consequently the bacon is wet and the poached eggs beyond their best. All other places we stayed including B&Bs and a lodge in the Cable Mountain area supplied individually prepared cooked breakfast. The dinner was good.
The Staff, especially at reception, could not have been more helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you were pleased with the service you received from our staff, but are sorry to hear some aspects of your stay, such as our buffet breakfast, were not up standard. You’ve provided us with feedback that we can use to help us improve and update our properties into the future. We thank you for this opportunity.
Sincerely,
Meredith Churchill
Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We did not stay there but had the food and wine tasting followed by bistro dinner . All I can say is the food and wine tasting is a must . Our hostess was superb , knowledgeable , friendly , articulate and just altogether nice . The wines and food wwere perfect matches highlighting each other wonderfully and giving us a real appetitie for Tassie produce . The bistro meal afterwards was wholesome , hearty , filling and tasty . Not gourmet by any manner but a real good honest tuck in .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JvB0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetLodge, General Manager at Freycinet Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for your comments about the experience you received at Freycinet Lodge. We’re so glad you enjoyed the food and wine tasting, and that our staff made the experience enjoyable for you. Hopefully next time you visit our beautiful island you are able to spend more time with us.
Sincerely,
Meredith Churchill
GM Freycinet Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
11.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
18.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
19.7 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
6.2 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freycinet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freycinet Lodge

Property: Freycinet Lodge
Address: Freycinet National Park, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freycinet Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a spectacular waterfront location at the foot of the Hazards, just inside Freycinet National Park, Freycinet Lodge is a superb base for exploring the Freycinet peninsula. A world of hidden comfort, the Lodge is living proof that communing with nature does not have to mean roughing it. It's a place to relax and rejuvenate. To experience nature's wild harmony without sacrificing your creature comforts. Stylish yet simple, the cabins are designed to impart welcoming familiarity and warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Freycinet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Freycinet Lodge Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing