We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do walk in Tassie”

Wineglass Bay Lookout
Book In Advance
More Info
$137.22*
and up
Full-Day Tour One-Way from Launceston to Hobart with Freycinet National Park
More Info
$104.93*
and up
Wineglass Bay Active Day Trip from Launceston Including Ross Historic Village
More Info
$177.58*
and up
Private Wineglass Bay Day Trip from Hobart
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Must do walk in Tassie”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Freycinet National Park is very well maintained, and the steep walk up to the Wineglass Bay Lookout is via a well established path with lots of steps. The walk down is a slightly different route (less steps and more of a winding track). The view point is very good, but unless you have perfect conditions, ie full sun and no wind, you may not get those perfect postcard pictures. Definitely worth doing (I am a Grannie with crook knees) and I think the area that the trail cuts through is just as beautiful as the lookout. Amazing granite outcrops and beautiful vegetation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DG_Sydney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,156
    349
    65
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westonsupermare
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A must do trip”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loved this but it's not for anybody who doesn't like steep climbs or rocky terrain. But omg so worth it

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank combatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely couple of swims BUT along way to walk”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Agree with everything KAREN H said. We decided after our swim at wineglass to not do the trek up we had all afternoon and would go the leisurely way around. We were told by the ranger at the office a flatter easier walk. Boy i think she must be a mountain goat because except for the bit along to hazards beach where we couldnt resist another swim as so beautiful...it was very up and down. We took enough water but wished we had taken some energy food. Wished i had seen trip advisor reviews. Also do quite a few national park walks why cant we have a bit of signage along the way to let us know how far we have come or to go ? Especially at $25.00 day pass.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandawitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Well designed and easy to walk.Takes only 20 minutes done very slowly. The views are terrific and the walk very safe aqnd well maintained.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo44Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Easy access”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stunning vista of the sea and cliffs. Don't forget to get a day pass. Loved walking along the boardwalk and the easy drive up. Would mead a jacket if windy but don't miss it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AustralianJabiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wineglass Bay Lookout also viewed

 
Coles Bay, Freycinet
 

Been to Wineglass Bay Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing