We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over the top”
Review of The Bay Restaurant

The Bay Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $115
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Superb contemporary dining at Freycinet Lodge, overlooking Great Oyster Bay. The Bay is renowned for its outstanding seafood and is consistently rated as one of the east coast of Tasmania's best restaurants.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Bay Restaurant is a bit on the snooty side, with warnings posted in all the hotel literature to obey the dress code (I ignored it and they still served me), and gourmet prices for overly elaborate food. I was, however, pleased to find a good vegetarian selection and reasonably priced wines by the glass. The portions were adequate, though the brussel sprouts that were the centrepiece of the main dish I chose were seriously undercooked, to the point of indigestion. The cheese plate was overwhelming – a full meal in itself. However, I was 100 AUD out of pocket by the end of the evening, which would buy you three or four equally pleasant and nourishing dinners elsewhere. I’d urge Freycinet Lodge to strive to deliver a more gastronomically natural experience for dinner, and at a more rustic price, to better match the surroundings.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeasmoldWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 253 of 280 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

good times good times, had the chicken on bed of mash with broccallini and it was scrum. service was great, booze list really good. there is t much else around so went in there feeling a bit forced but left very happy.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank silvermasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Upon check-in we were advised to make a booking if we planned to go to dinner at The Bay, so we booked in for later that night.

We arrived at the restaurant right on time and were surprised to see it was completely full (except for our table, of course). On the first night we both ordered the special steak that was on offer, and were quite disappointed as it was cooked more than we requested, and was on a bed of lentils with minimal red wine jus so tasted quite dry, however when we returning 2 nights later, the specials had changed and it was with mashed potato and had a lot more sauce so that was nice. The chips in truffle oil are also quite tasty!

The waitstaff are nice, however it took them a long time to replace water and remove plates.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LavenderGarden23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had an excellent dinner and could not really fault anything at all. Staff were freindly and we got our food quite quick even though they seemed a tad busy.

Entrees the quail, seafood plate and abalaone were faultless. The wallaby was also good but did not need the bread. For mains the local crayfish done sinapore style was great and so was the beef cheek, although it was just a tad dry.

Dessert finished of a good night with the chocolate pudding and a semi fredo. The food was so good overall and would love to return one day again.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank szkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Do you remember the old days of going to a seafood restaurant and seeing a seafood platter on the menu and knowing it was going to be delicious, large, tasty full of local seafood !!!

Well this place is it and talk local - our waitress told us we couldn't have the lobster today because their local fishing man couldn't catch it this morning. It was refreshing to hear that all the seafood on display is 100% caught in oyster bay, but didnt matter because the prawns,oysters,salmon fried and fresh, abolone, scallops, calamari, mussels in a chilli sauce and more I can't remember was to die for. Love it and had a beautiful wine and the waitrees was very accomodating. Definetely recommend

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cv4565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Restaurant also viewed

 
Freycinet, Glamorgan-Spring Bay
 
Coles Bay, Freycinet
 

Been to The Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing