We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Privacy and Exceptional English Hosts”
Review of Freycinet Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freycinet Retreat
Ranked #1 of 5 Coles Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Phillippa and Virginia took us under their wing at the start of our 7 Day stay, providing us with all the local knowledge of value experiences before we even set foot in Lodge 1. We booked 3 mths in advance (as celebrating our 25th) and could not have asked for a better location and hosts. From the time of first communication Phillippa was most helpful and sent a lovely guide to the local area which made planning our days all the more easier.
Yes, we paid a little more than the "going rate" (which is a subjective term at best) however privacy was assured and nothing too much for our hosts. It was so, so quiet - no kids running around and no road noise. Even when we ran out of tea light candles, which wasn't a large issue for us, Phillippa replaced them same day, left neatly on the microwave whilst we were out exploring.
Like the last review (from 'Boaster') the nature, wildlife and views are spectacular - plus for a couple this was our dream getaway from our large family - who were quite capable in our absence BTW. Weather doesn't really matter because there's a wood fire, movies and IPod loaded with relaxing music + surround sound.
Lodge 1 does have the better deck and you won't watch much TV - the views and frogs croaking gently in the reservoir below are better than TV. Full Kitchen facilities (Gas stove / electric FF oven) AND washing machine meant we saved on daily trips to restaurants/laundromats and could have our special meal at 'The Edge Restaurant' Coles Bay (which was also great). The 30 kph drive up the 2 klm gravel road to the lodges (tucked into the mountainside) takes approx 6 mins but it's worth it - especially at night - there are possums and wallabies everywhere. This drive slows you down and makes you realise that life is not about rushing.
Couples wanting a fantastic private getaway to re-charge the batteries - you WILL love this spot.

Room Tip: Lodge 1 has the longer deck but both looked equally as good
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Freycinet Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 94 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

I research hard before planning our holidays and this accommodation stood out. Our experience did not disappoint. We liked the very positive comments and feedback on TA, the useful information and speedy response to all our questions before our visit from our hosts, the information and food pack that was provided to enhance our stay, the high quality accommodation(nothing was overlooked in terms of equipment) and of course the beautiful location looking across Coles Bay and the Hazards high above ( on Mt Paul) the main tourist path. Every morning we awoke after a very comfortable sleep, opened the curtains to a breathtaking view and watch the wallabies outside our deck. Like a safari we would walk at dusk and dawn to see and watch the wildlife - we saw many wallabies, birds and 2 echidnas. We made full use of the lodge - choosing to eat in and slurping local wine on our deck surrounded by natural beauty. It's a manically place. Whilst here we visited Wineglass, Sleepy, and Friendly Bays, Bicheno and it's esplanade, Milton vineyard and the Iron House micro brewery ( fantastic, top quality food to go with the beer tasting). Loved staying here

Room Tip: There are only 2 lodges - we were lucky and pleased we had lodge one with its extended deck that gav...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at Freycinet Eco Retreat with my wife in August 2013. We absolutely loved it. The lodges are positioned to face the Hazard Mountains, which was spectacular to wake up to every morning. The woodfire kept us snug and warm and the deck was perfect for taking in the views and catching a few sun beams. A walk to the top of Mt Paul is definitely worthwhile, as is a trip down the road to the Freycinet Marine Farm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

4 of us stayed in the Shack, which can only be described as magical. It's location was simply idyllic being completely surrounded by nature and we managed to see all the local wildlife. The Shack was extremely clean and very comfortable, not lacking in any amenities. Wi-fi was available "up the hill", which was quite handy for the nightly wombat strolls. Our hosts were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend this accommodation and Tasmania as a whole, what a fabulous place. The fitness centre was the walking around the property.
Julie

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie-ju63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This review is long overdue -- we stayed for 2 nights in November 2012. Nice to see that nothing has changed since then. Amazing location, hosts, cabins, everything is perfect. In addition to the obvious beauty of the place, the small touches (freshly baked bread, iPod in cabins, different bottles of wine) make the stay super enjoyable. Cannot wait to return! It's says something that we still think back to this special weekend...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyandRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the first week in December and could have gone for permanent residency! The understated luxury of the lodges plus the care with which they have been built and designed to maximise sustainability are a really impressive achievement. They sit on a mountain top and look over Freycinet, the wildlife is abundant and the enjoyment of peace, nature, stars, views, log fires and comfort are unbeatable. The lodges are in proximity to each other but we didn't even see or hear our neighbours. The owners have really created something special here and it was wonderful to be able to experience it.

Room Tip: Make sure you allow time to actually enjoy being in the lodge - fortunately for us the weather was a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catriona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent four nights here and really hated to leave. As others have noted, it's simple, but you have everything you need. It is absolutely incredible to have this kind of quiet, solitude, and beauty. The views are lovely, there's abundant, fascinating wildlife, the owners are friendly, helpful, and great to talk to, and the cabin is very comfortable. The wood stove in the living room is extremely effective and we were able to cook a meal easily each night (often using the amazing seafood from the marine farm across the main road). The stars at night were beyond anything I've ever seen--it was hard to stop looking at them and go to sleep! I've never had this much privacy before in my life, and this will set the standard going forward. This isn't the place for you if you need wifi, laundry, or butler service, but if you want to stay in a gorgeous place with total privacy and easy access to all the wonders of Freycinet and the northeast coast, you will love it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freycineteco, Owner at Freycinet Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

What a great review Kristen – thank you. We’re very happy that you enjoyed the property and appreciated the unique aspects that your cottage has to offer. Just a note for those reading this review and response – this one is about Saltwater Shack, which is our standalone cottage on the far side of our 1200 acre property overlooking the ocean. It is true that we cannot get wifi to it, but there is a hotspot available on the property, the location of which we can show guests when they arrive. Our eco-lodges have wifi (and laundry facilities) available directly in the cabins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
11.4 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
460 reviews
13.0 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
374 reviews
3.7 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,080 reviews
3.5 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
569 reviews
4.6 mi away
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
#2 of 5 in Coles Bay
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freycinet Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freycinet Retreat

Address: 1799 - 1819 Coles Bay Road, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coles Bay
Price Range: $246 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Freycinet Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freycinet Retreat is a 1200 acre, Land for Wildlife, bush property with fabulous views adjoining the Freycinet National Park. Two luxury Ocean View Bush Retreats and eight Ocean View Studios offer comfort in style. Guaranteed wildlife, no doilies, mod cons, perfect for the independent traveller couples. Self-contained with well equipped kitchen/kitchenette and BBQ facilities. Free high speed wifi and LED Smart TVs included in your room. Off the beaten track away from the hubbub of the local village, and well worth the effort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Freycinet Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freycinet Retreat Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing