We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Freycinet Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
90
17
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaltwater shackgravel roadeco studiofriendly beachesmarine farmminute drivedusk and dawnbreakfast bareco friendlyfreshly baked breaddegree ocean viewsstudio cabintake your timewell equipped kitchenettecooked dinnerluggage rackheated floor in the bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 109 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I love staying in places where you don't bump into too many people, but there is alway this concern about safety. My girlfriend and I booked for 2 nights in the Saltwater shack. It is simple, but has everything you need. After booking in with the amazingly inspiring couple, we didn't see anyone for 2 days on the property, but we felt complete safe. The signage, emergency phone and knowing others women have paved the way gave us great reassurance. Great place. I want to go back for longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed at Saltwater Shack whilst attending a rock climbing event in Coles Bay. Stunning location, very peaceful and the wildlife was abundant! Shack was clean, well equipped and the wood burner was a big hit after a cold day hanging off cliffs! Lots of interesting books, maps and things to read, binoculars for spying on the wildlife, DVD collection and much appreciated electric blankets. Only downside was we were out all day from dawn to dusk so didn't have enough time to really appreciate the shack and it's location but we will definitely go back. Our email correspondence with Phillippa about the booking was very friendly and she went out of her way to assist with a couple of requests - excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doglover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freycineteco, Owner at Freycinet Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015

Apologies to any guest who might be considering booking a few nights at Saltwater Shack. This cottage is, unfortunately, no longer available. Although this has been a very popular cottage with guests, as a result of an expansion of the business, we have turned Saltwater Shack over to accommodate our own staff team. However, this also means that we are now able to offer more accommodation in the form of some stunning Eco Studios located on the same 1200 acre bush property, and with an even more expansive ocean view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The lodges have amazing views and although isolated are not too far from the National Park walks. The only downside is that although there are only two, they are very close together. Breakfast provisions were adequate but could have been a bit more imaginative given how much the lodges cost. However, the owners were friendly and helpful. We took the advice of other reviewers and bought all our food in Hobart before setting off. The star gazing was quite literally awesome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WPCJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freycineteco, Owner at Freycinet Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your review, and we’re glad that you enjoyed your stay in our unique accommodation. The stars certainly are spectacular, and you are not the first to have made this observation!
We are concerned, though, that you had any “downsides” to your time here, and would like to address the matters you raise.
First of all, the lodges are positioned nearby to one another so that they might impact less on the environment. We are a certified eco accommodation and limiting the impact on the environment is, therefore, important. By co-locating the lodges, they can share the same access road, power supply and septic. We do also have another cottage on site, which was the original cabin on the property, and this is not only cheaper, but is also in a very secluded location if that is or particular importance to guests. Some people obviously prefer to be remote, whilst others, take comfort in having other guests nearby.
With regard to our breakfast provisions, we would have to say, that in the 9 years that we have been operating you are the first guests to express a negative comment about our provisions. Most people are in fact delighted, in particular, with the homemade bread. The rest of the provisions consist of a choice of cereal, milk, free range eggs, butter, locally made conserves, orange juice, a selection of teas and ground coffee. Our tariff is not really about the provisions though; it’s more about being an exclusive eco retreat providing the amenity of 1200 acres of wildlife habitat giving guests the best chance of seeing wildlife in their natural environment than just about anywhere else on the east coast. And of course then there are the stars…
Everything that we provide, together with a downloadable map of the property is available on our website. However, we note that this booking was made through a third party channel, which we have always found a little limiting when it comes to explaining exactly what we are about. In fact, we have delisted from the channel through which this particular booking was made, as we have found it to be inadequate for our needs.
Generally speaking, it’s always best to check an operator’s own website, and in our case, you will find a wealth of information there, including our guide to the area. You will also be likely to get the best deal. We would say though that one thing our guests do repeatedly tell us is that the website does not do justice to the amazing view that you get here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

On our tour of Tasmania this was our favourite stop-over. Two nights relaxing with views across the bay from our balcony and plenty of walks through the Australian bush. Staff were helpful, our lodge a delight and the food good. A place to leave behind the mudane and explore. We only had a taste of Tasmania in the time we were there but stopping at Freycinet was a highlight.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowerhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This place was actually clean which seems a rarity in Tasmania! The lodges are up a quite rough unsealed road (several kms long), we were glad we were in a 4x4 and that the road was dry. The closer you get to the lodges the worse it got, with more loose rocks. Kitchen was well equipped and clean. Had a washing machine (in the bathroom) but no dryer. Bed was comfortable with an amazing view out the window down the hill and in the night of the Milky Way. As you are in the middle of nowhere, there is no light pollution so the stars were incredible. We had wallabies and wombats just outside the deck area all evening.
We got amazing mussels and oysters from the marine farm, which is just on the other side of the road to the entrance track. Stores in the area are more like corner shops so you may want to stock up in one of the supermarkets back in the larger towns before you set off.
Our only disappointment was that there were other people staying in the next door lodge so we didn't quite have the privacy that we wanted. You can easily see onto the other lodge's decking area.
We would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Firefly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freycineteco, Owner at Freycinet Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your review, we're very glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that you saw plenty of wildlife and sampled the local produce.

I would say though, that if other potential guests are reading this review, we want to assure them that they should not be concerned about the road. OK, it is gravel, but it is all weather. We have a 30kph restriction as we are concerned about the wildlife, but if you stick to that speed you should not have a problem on any part of the road in any vehicle. In fact we drive around in an old mini moke style kit car! Honestly, you don't need to have 4 wheel drive vehicle - even my mother (who is a timid driver) has driven here in a small car and she's 84! In the 8 years that we have been operating here, we have had numerous customers in small hire cars, and in all that time noone has ever had a problem with the road - even in the wet. See the review by OxfordMandymoo below dated 25th April 2010 for confirmation.

Re the privacy issue - the lodges are angled so that each one has some private areas of deck, and there is, of course, total privacy inside, even if the curtains are open. However, if you want total privacy, you can always book both lodges, or alternatively, try Saltwater Shack, which is on the same property but in a really secluded location. See our website www.freycinet.com for more details, rates and availability.

By the way - we love your photo of the burmese cat. We are complete burmese nuts and have three ourselves! Hopefully you'll meet them next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews