We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle Peaks at Freycinet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coles Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle Peaks at Freycinet
Ranked #3 of 5 Coles Bay B&B and Inns
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in Studio 1 at Eagle Peaks for 3 nights while touring around Tasmania and found the accommodation really excellent. Iain and Belinda were very welcoming and ready to assist in any respect. We used this as a base to visit Freysinet National Park which was only a short distance away. We were slightly disappointed that it was not possble to access the beach directly from the garden as we had hoped but this did not present too much of a problem. There was some distance to drive to restaurants in Coles Bay and the choice was fairly limited, however for a short stay this did not matter. The Tombolo Cafe was our favourite as it had a very friendly relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Studio 1 projected further out into the garden than the other rooms so was more private and with mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgenBilly, Owner at Eagle Peaks at Freycinet, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
When staying just a few nights in the area, the existing selection of eating venues is generally sufficient. Hopefully with time we will get a few more restaurants and cafes in town for our many visitors to choose from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at Eagle Peaks in Studio 1. First class studio, self catering accommodation perfect for the two of us. Iain and Belinda are well organised welcoming hosts and the studio is well designed and absolutely spotlessly clean and well maintained. Coles Bay just a few minutes up the road and there is plenty to do outdoors around Freycinet National Park, plus you are 5 minutes from the local beach walk. Kangaroos came to visit the garden as we ate our dinner and sampled the local wine. Perfect! Whole heatedly recommend this as a location to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyKMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgenBilly, Owner at Eagle Peaks at Freycinet, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
The kangaroos are always welcome...... They get me out of mowing the lawn so regularly. I only wish they would dispose of their droppings elsewhere as I still need to use the lawnmower & catcher to 'scoop up the poop'....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Eagle Peaks has quickly become one of our top holiday accomodations, after staying there for two nights in late Feb. We occupied the Beach House which we found really comfortable and spacious - enjoying the luxury of our own rooms complete with comfy double beds and good pillows (very important factor IMO). The house was clean, modern and decked out with all you could need for a great stay (although like the previous review, I would have liked a dvd player - tv can really suck - however its absence was not an issue). View from the house is nice, looking over a spacious garden and the ocean. The property also contains some studios and when in particular areas of the property you can see other guests (this may or may not be an issue for visitors), however we we not bothered by this (we only saw another person for about 10 seconds). The only thing that worried us was that the property operates with tank water and the loo is a septic system - we are not used to dealing with this so were a bit nervous about how much water we were using and what to flush, but this is a minor detail and didnt spoil our stay. We found the owners Belinda and Iain to be fabulous, helpful (dinner recommendations were spot on) and friendly and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: The Beach House is great for some extra space and a more homely type feel, also the family dog - a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaydreamFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgenBilly, Owner at Eagle Peaks at Freycinet, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your 'favourite' review and so glad you enjoyed your stay at Eagle Peaks. I can confidently say that the majority of our guests are extremely respectful of other guests privacy and it has not been an issue in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at Eagle Peaks on 11 & 12 Feb.in a Studio room
Iain and Belinda were organised in their booking process and very welcoming on arrival.

The studio was new,well designed and built. It was immacualtly clean and well fitted out.
It has a sea view but we were disapointed not to enjoy a view of the Hazzards.

Eagle Peaks is in a residential development of other homes and not in it's own grounds as such. Because of this the 'block' is smallish and privacy an issue viz.when sitting on your deck you can hear the conversations of your neigbours quite clearly.Other guests walking around the property can easily see into your studio.

A DVD player [or USB port on the TV] would have been expected in a property of this standard.

The continental breakfast package was good and fresh.We did enjoy our stay at Eagle Peaks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocketann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgenBilly, Owner at Eagle Peaks at Freycinet, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Due to Eagle Peaks still being a relatively new property the vegetation we have planted to act as screens between the Studios and the Beach House are still maturing. We are confident that with time they will provide total privacy to our guests (provided the wallabies give them a chance).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just a 10 minutes drive from Coles Bay in the car. You will find the one/ two bedroom cottage seems secluded in its own little spot has two units and the main house close by as well but you still feel you are have your own private space. A walk to the beach is 10 minutes and a variety of walking/running tracks nearby. Before you arrive stop off to buy some oysters,crays or mussels on your right as coming along the Coles Bay road fresh and yummy. They did coffee and lunch alsoif you needa break. The beach cottage is beautifully appointed with polished floors, modern open kitchen dining and quality continental breakfast included. Lovely louvered windows floor to ceiling wood fire or reverse cycle heating cooling. Great to stop and cook your own meals and sit outside on a sunny day. Great place friendly hosts.

Room Tip: All looked good but if you like some space the seaside cottage is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustralianJabiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgenBilly, Owner at Eagle Peaks at Freycinet, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
The mussels, oysters scallops & crays from the Oyster Farm are certainly very good but it's a shame that the closest place to buy fresh fish is Bicheno. The Edge being the closest restaurant to Eagle Peaks however regularly serves blue eyed trevalla which is a must to try while in Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hard to express just how great Eagle Peaks is. Belinda and Iain are so relaxed and welcoming that you feel like you've known them for years. The cabin we stayed in was perfect in every detail. The binoculars were a great touch. Our camera had broken while we were in Port Arthur and upon mentioning it to them, they lent theirs to us!!! We sat and watched the wildlife (rabbits, wallabies, wrens) in the garden whilst admiring the view. We couldn't have asked for anything better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whirley63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgenBilly, Owner at Eagle Peaks at Freycinet, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We couldn't let you leave without some 'happy snaps'. Maybe you can send a couple of dolphin photos because Belinda still hasn't seen any.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in the Beach House for a couple of nights at the end of our holiday in Tassie. Wish we could have stayed longer. It was spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and had everything we could have wanted (and so much more). Iain and Belinda were so welcoming and made us feel right at home.The full kitchen made self-catering a breeze (not too many eating out options in Coles Bay but the IGA near the boat ramp is extremely good) We didn't want to leave!! An excellent place to stay when visiting Freycinet and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgenBilly, Owner at Eagle Peaks at Freycinet, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
The Coles Bay convenience store was well overdue. Another good tip for guests wanting to pick up a few 'snackie treats' is the 'Red Bridge Inn' in Campbell Town. I will take no responsibility for waistlines but a few little dips & things to enjoy on the deck with a glass of Tassie wine or a Hazards Ale won't go astray. Who cares anyway..... You're on holidays!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
9.6 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
16.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.2 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.0 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Peaks at Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Peaks at Freycinet

Property: Eagle Peaks at Freycinet
Address: 11 - 13 Oyster Bay Ct, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Peaks has been designed to blend in with the beautiful coastal environment that is the Freycinet Peninsula. With wonderful views over Great Oyster Bay, the two Studios (max. 2 guests) have been constructed using native timbers and rammed earth and are fitted with double glazed windows, good heating and ceiling fans. Each Studio has a king size bed.The charming 2 bedroom Beach House (max. 4 guests) offers guests a comfortable coastal ambiance while taking in the views over the bay and Maria Island. Each bedroom has a queen size bed. The large open kitchen, dining and living area opens out to a timber deck and private outdoor dining area. Due to its design, fittings and furnishings, Eagle Peaks does not accommodate children 15 years of age and under. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eagle Peaks At Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing