We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saffire - A Jewel Indeed”
Review of Saffire Freycinet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saffire Freycinet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The slogan for Saffire is 'The Jewel of Tasmania'. And in some ways I'd have to agree. 



This hotel is rather stunning. Yet understated at the same time. I have to say that this well-seasoned traveller found the design choices a little interesting. Not really what I'd expected and certainly like nothing I've seen before. The whole place 'works' - but in a strange 'eclectic' way. The hotel was only 6 or 7 weeks young when my husband and I stayed. And I suspect a little bit of wear-and-tear might make this property a little more homely and cosy. Regardless: Huge suites (only 20), a great bathtub with a beautiful view, an astonishingly perfect bed, and some amazing personal touches throughout our stay that we would have never in our wildest dreams considered requesting. Turn-down was very special indeed. I won't spoil your stay by telling you what happens at the end of the movie. But it's clear the staff here have been directed to think of the 'extras'. They've also done away with 'check-in'. You're welcomed at your car and immediately escorted to your suite via a tour of the hotel. A signature in your suite is all that's required.

Our stay was very memorable, for the better. Staff here address you by your first name. The service: informal and friendly, but proper. Perhaps a little clunky at times. But credit where credit's due, the staff were clearly still getting used to their new digs. By the way the food and beverage staff introduced the evening's dishes (6 course tasting menu with matched wines - devine!) it was clear they hadn't yet sampled the entire menu. But this was the only thing I could fault. That, and perhaps the occasional muddy footprint on the beautiful central timber staircase. Admittedly, we (the guests at large) were to blame - returning from the day's activities with sloppy boots. Otherwise, it was an impeccable property indeed. We did feel a little uneasy when an itinerary filled with activities we'd been booked into was presented to us at check-in. How do you politely say 'no-thanks'? We simply wanted to relax.

To add to the 'plusses': My facial was one of the best I've ever received. A handful of staff were absolutely faultless: Shanon, our waitress for a few of our meals was superb; Marc, in guest relations - absolutely charming. And the view alone is worth half the nightly rate.

My husband and I expected a lot from this property considering what we were paying. ($1700 AUD per night - a significant sum in Australia.) But once we drank, ate, soaked-up (the products) and walked our way through all the inclusions, we left feeling as though it was decent value-for money. Especially considering we'd recently paid the same for a 'room only' at the George V in Paris. (But that's Paris!)

I suspect that in a few months, the staff and the building will have settled-in, making this an absolutely astonishing holiday experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiorDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 583 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

We are not easy to impress but Saffire did it for us. Great location, fabulous room and food to die for. We would highly recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Our Saffire experience was truly exceptional! The beauty of the resorts magnificent outlook across to the Hazards was matched only by the warm, professional and friendly welcoming we received which immediately made us feel relaxed and at home - and this feeling never left us throughout our 2 night stay.

The whole resort has been exquisitely designed to maximise your visual experience of the Hazards. The long modern fireplace in the main lounge is remarkable and adds further warmth to the already superb ambiance.

Our suite was beautifully appointed with every conceivable luxury and accessory having been thought of. Once again, the awesome view of the Hazards was inescapable.

Our meals were outstanding, as was the service. The degustation menu was out of this world and complemented by local and international wines.

Our relaxation was further enhanced after a visit to their Spa where we both enjoyed complementary treatments from the vast selection on offer.

The Saffire Experience on board the Saffire boat was exhilarating which took us to Schouten Island. The scenery was beautiful, the crew very knowledgeable and we did a quick spot of fishing which was optional.

We enjoyed our morning walks on the beach, which was only a 2 minute stroll from our suite.

When our time came to leave Saffire, we left feeling rejuvenated and relaxed. The last of the personal touches from the Saffire team was the charming parcel of freshly baked biscuits that had been thoughtfully placed in our car for our drive back to Hobart.

We would highly recommend a stay at Saffire - it is definitely a new treasure waiting to be discovered.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank freshtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank francesco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Mochoa40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Все номера здесь отличные, но я, традиционно, рекмендую самые отдаленные от лобби намера с видом на...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Klots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Servicereisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
473 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
381 reviews
17.3 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,116 reviews
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffire Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffire Freycinet

Address: 2352 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range: $1,585 - $2,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saffire Freycinet 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffire Freycinet is Australia’s luxury lodge on Tasmania’s East Coast adjacent to Coles Bay and overlooking the Freycinet Peninsula, famed for the iconic Wineglass Bay. Delivering sophisticated and intimate style and an inspirational experience, our Tasmanian accommodation blends mankind and nature with breathtaking beauty. Featuring 20 luxurious suites, exclusive day spa, restaurant, guest lounge and bar, this five-star plus luxury lodge experience is a celebration of the art of service, internal and external wellbeing, local culinary delights, ancient landscapes and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saffire Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffire Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Saffire Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing