We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defines World Class”
Review of Saffire Freycinet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saffire Freycinet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Defines World Class”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

There are some events in your life that require a celebration. That you recognise the importance by doing something out of the ordinary. My wife and my visit to Saffire was such a celebration. When we parked at the entrance a staff member was already waiting for us. She knew our name, our car was whisked away with our luggage and we accompanied are hostess into the stunning main building for sparkling wine welcome. The building sat extremely well in the landscape allowing us magnificent views of Muirs Beach and the Hazards. After our welcome we accompanied our host to our villa.
Our luggage was already there. Our villa was spacious with extensive use of Tasmanian Timbers and hand crafted Tasmanian furnishings which whilst being things of beauty were blissfully comfortable and warm. From the seats to the lounges to the bed comfort and beautiful design went hand in hand.
It was lovely to just immerse yourselves in this " cocoon".
So much did we enjoy our room that we cancelled the organised wine tour and spent the afternoon sitting on the private deck enjoying the changing moods of the hazards and the extensive complimentary mini bar.
Not withstanding to buildings and the environment I think the biggest asset of Saffire are the staff. They are most professional across the board and have that innate ability to know when to engage in detailed conversation or just pass.
The meals were simply outstanding and where ever possible reflected local produce and wine in a world class way.
We didn't want to leave and nobody seemed in a rush to get you out so we sat in the main building and just chilled (as my son says)
When leaving our car was already at the front entrance with a little complimentary travelling pack. Which was a lovely touch.
I think without a doubt that it was the best hotel experience that I have ever had and we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms look beautiful. Do not overload your program and take advantage of the room. Allow time to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    20
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
413
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We are not unfamiliar with luxury accommodation yet were still absolutely astounded with Saffire. It is pricey and we had wondered if we would feel it did not meet the price. In no way did it not absolutely exceed all expectations. The staff were superb. All of them. There was no task that was someone else's domain, they all worked seamlessly and effortlessly to ensure our stay was perfect. They offered advice, were completely flexible with our plans and could not have done more.
The food-sublime, truly. The chef deserves special mention here, every meal was unbelievable. We ate like royalty. Only down side now after 4 nights we must hike 10 miles per day to work it off!
I would say if you can stay at least 2 nights so you don't feel rushed to do everything and get to relax.

Room Tip: There are only 20 and I don't think you could go wrong, we chose the superior room and were amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmajb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Saffire Freycinet Resort in Coles Bay Tasmania is an experience that can only be experienced and not described. The amazing staff headed by Justin transports you to another level in service and comfort. Starting from their huge, well stocked and comfortable lounge at Hobart’s airport to the personalised greeting on arrival at the resort you know this is going to be different to anything you have experienced before.
Saffire does nothing in half measures from the quality of their food & wine to the level of friendliness of their staff, to the ambience of the whole complex, to the hot water bottle at the end of your bed when you return after a magnificent meal at night. Even when it was time to leave Justin escorted us out to our car to farewell us, a personal touch I have never received before from a General Manager. As we drove off my wife & I felt like they had mistaken us for celebrities but in reality very guest is a very important person.
Thank you Justin and your staff for an experience I will treasure forever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lee747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

From the minute you drive up to the entrance you know it is going to be special.
We were met at the front by someone who already knew our name, we left our car went to reception then taken to our room and our bags were already there.
From there on everything was outstanding - the setting is perfect, surroundings like a painted backdrop, the rooms were amazing.
The food is all local produce prepared to make it shine.
The unlimited number of activities and options from walking on the beach to flying over the bay and the mountains, from a nature walk to an oyster farm and so much more made it a fantastic few days.
Treat yourself for a very special occasion or just because you want something special.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband & I were lucky enough to spend 2 nights here in January (without children which makes it awesome to start with!).

We received a fabulous welcome & champagne on arrival, our bags were retrieved from our car and made it to our room before we did.

The rooms are massive with views to die for.

The food was out of this world, and pairing with wines, etc was just fabulous.

We thoroughly enjoyed our cooking class with one of the chefs, and a tour of the kitchen afterwards.

The staff were so friendly and accommodating, although quite a few of them were very new in their position. I have a feeling it may be difficult to employ and retain staff given the remote location of the resort.

We sampled the spa as well, which was just fantastic.

Would have loved to have stayed just a little bit longer although I'm not sure my waistline would have been happy about it!

A once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serenity444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at Saffire for our honeymoon in April 2013. After the first night, we were so impressed that we extended our stay by one night. The food is fantastic and the servers and kitchen staff are happy to accommodate requests. We made up our own tasting menu each night from the a la carte offerings are the wine pairings were always spot on. The property has exceptional architecture and design. You really feel like you're outdoors at all times. Finally, the staff goes above and beyond to make you feel special, taken care of, and pampered. This is the epitome of 5 star!

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there is a bad room as the property is so well designed and intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Saffire this past May. We had a lovely stay. Below are a list of what we liked and what they could improve.

Likes:

1. Food was really great. Classic French cooking but with local ingredients. We especially enjoyed the variety of local fish and the oysters. Breakfast and dinner are a la carte. Lunch includes a salad buffet as well as a la carte meat dishes.
2. Service in the dining room was very good.
3. Oyster farm tour was awesome.
4. Room was quite luxurious.
5. The Hobart airport lounge

Suggestions

1. Get nespresso machines! Plunger coffee in the room is verey messy.
2. There was a note in the mini-bar that items were for on-site consumption only and that if you didn't leave wrappers evidencing such consumption, you would be charged! Keep in mind the rate is ~1850/night.
3. Drinks menu in dining room was confusing. It listed package included wines but did not separate out the other drinks. The wines in the room was not available in the dining room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiffysPillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
452 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
367 reviews
17.3 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
393 reviews
2.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,052 reviews
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffire Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffire Freycinet

Property: Saffire Freycinet
Address: 2352 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saffire Freycinet 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffire Freycinet is Australia’s luxury lodge on Tasmania’s East Coast adjacent to Coles Bay and overlooking the Freycinet Peninsula, famed for the iconic Wineglass Bay. Delivering sophisticated and intimate style and an inspirational experience, our Tasmanian accommodation blends mankind and nature with breathtaking beauty. Featuring 20 luxurious suites, exclusive day spa, restaurant, guest lounge and bar, this five-star plus luxury lodge experience is a celebration of the art of service, internal and external wellbeing, local culinary delights, ancient landscapes and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saffire Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffire Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Saffire Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing