We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible experience”
Review of Saffire Freycinet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saffire Freycinet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 2 nights stay at Saffire with our 4 month old baby. 'Luxury' and 'baby-friendly' don't often go together but Saffire somehow manages to get it very right.

Room: We stayed in the private pavilion which had a separate bedroom which meant when bub was napping, we were able to enjoy that gorgeous view and a drink in the living/dining area. The dining area also meant we were able to dine in without the hassle of bringing bub to the restaurant.The kitchenette was extremely handy for heating up and sterilising bottles. The private plunge pool, though small, was all we needed for a quick dip and splash around.

Food: We had breakfast at the restaurant one morning and had it in the room the next. On both occasions, the food arrived promptly and tasted great. The poached eggs on our eggs benny was perfectly cooked and topped with the most delicious crispy pancetta ever. Saffire had organised a babysitter for us for both nights. So while bub slept, we were able to duck out for a romantic dinner at Palate restaurant while watching the sun set. The food at dinner service was phenomenal. The chef worked his magic with the fresh local produce and created some of the most delicious dishes we have eaten.

Activities: We went on the Marine Farm tour which we highly recommend. So much fun and of course eating freshly shucked oysters right where they are grown is quite the experience!!

Service: Excellent. There is nothing we can fault about our stay at Saffire from the airport lounge to check out. We are very grateful that guest services had organised such lovely babysitters for us and had set up a cot for us on arrival. All our needs were met promptly and with a smile.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinTKing, General Manager at Saffire Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Tricia K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, and what a pleasure it was to have you with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Freycinet is such a special area to us, and we love to share it. The marine farm has become an iconic way that we can do this, so I am happy that you enjoyed the experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurant so much. I have passed on your praise to the entire brigade and they very much appreciate the kind words.
Finally, thank you for your warm and gracious comments about the team. We are very lucky that we have such a wonderfully dedicated group of individuals who simply want to make your visit as enjoyable as possible.
Tricia, it means so much to us that you chose to share some time at Saffire. We very much look forward to welcoming you back!
Warmest Regards
Justin King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for Saffire Freycinet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 570 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

Australia by world standards is a remote location, and Tasmania is arguably the most remote State, and Coles Bay is a quiet part of Tasmania.
This only adds to the marvel that has been created at Saffire Lodge, Freycinet.
It is by any standard a superb Lodge style, Gourmet living, relaxation paradise. Whilst the accommodation and facilities are world class many similar properties fail to make the grade by having poor staff. Not here, the staff in every area are superb. From maintenance and cleaning staff, to all the service staff, activities guides and of course the Managerial staff are all excellent. Whilst many staff are from other countries, the fact that this is an Australian resort performing at such a high standard makes me proud to be Australian.
I struggle to find any faults but to prove that nothing is perfect, the rooms have no drawers, and poor night lighting in the hanging clothes area.
We were in Mayson ,room 1 and the plunge pool is really shallow and is enclosed in a small unwelcoming space.
The food is to die for. Yes lunch is more casual, but no less varied and delicious every day a new menu.
We would recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing, pampering gourmet getaway, with every opportunity to be as active as you might wish. Go there.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinTKing, General Manager at Saffire Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Michael R,

Thank you for such a gracious and wonderful review. We too feel proud of our small property, and are particularly humbled by your comments . Thank you also for your kind words regarding the staff. We are fortunate to have a beautiful group of people who are all dedicated to giving guests remarkable memories. I am glad that you found this to be the case. With your permission I have shared these comments with the rest of the team, thank you again for taking the time.
Warm Regards
Justin King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

An exquisite resort in an inspiring location. You can choose to simply relax in the atmosphere of the invigorating surroundings or engage more actively with the amazing natural environment. Either way, your body and soul will be rejuvenated. The food was excellent. The service professional and attentive without being intrusive or syrupy. Just two suggestions more than complaints: The oyster farm activity is billed as a highlight, but the quality of the oysters that were available were very low grade. The fat, creamy ones that are retrieved from the ocean farm were not available. The Wine Glass Bay lookout walk was great and our guide equally so, however the extent of the commentary was very thin. An insight into the significance of this area to Aboriginal culture, for example, would add to the experience. Fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinceremente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a wonderful way to relax after 4 days walking on Maria Island! Saffire lived up to every expectation, and more, from the champagne on arrival to the massages, beautiful food, luxurious room, excellent customer service and wonderful food! Definitely worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveladdictBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Saffire more than lived up to expectations. Set in a beautiful location, we have never been better looked after. The staff were so attentive, the food sensational, the wines lovely, the room comfortable and relaxing. Go there!

Room Tip: They are all great
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuparJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

A premium experience in every sense.

A genuinely welcoming atmosphere; top quality, spacious accommodation and brilliant food.

The only improvement might be to tie-in further activity options.

A world-class resort that caters for total relaxation or as a base for some serious physical activity.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were fortunate to stay at this spectacular luxury lodge for four nights over Christmas. I knew we would be in for a treat but this was truly the most stunning location with service and attention to detail across the board. I called enroute to let them know we would be a bit later than expected. They said they would hold some lunch over for us. We were greeted at the door of our car, keys taken as we were ushered into the foyer. A glass of sparkling wine placed in our hands and the view hit us like WOW (lucky for a sunny day arrival). So stunning and picture perfect it almost looked like a stunning gigantic poster! Justin showed us around the lodge and to our room where our luggage had already been delivered. The rooms are stunning - the same view of the Hazards. Understated luxury, perfect layout and amenities. Electronic blinds, underfloor heating in bathroom area, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. All meals were of the highest standard, show casing the gorgeous local and Tassie produce and wines. The six course Christmas Day lunch was just so wonderful. Like those reviews before me, you could rave on about the food - really so special if you appreciate fine food and wine. Freshly baked cakes delivered to our room every afternoon. Enjoyed our guided activities to oyster farm (yes, just like the brochure, they roll out the white linen table cloth and sparkling wine and you stand around in your waders tasting the oysters!), kayak tour, archery, cooking lesson with chef - loved it all. My spa foot treatment was bliss! All the team were fantastic. We did the very spectacular loop walk to the Wineglass bay Lookout, then down to the beach itself before walking across the isthmus to Hazards Beach - allow 5 hours min for this. A most lovely walk (helped justify the food indulgence!). This truly was a most memorable stay - we were so impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chlotoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
460 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
374 reviews
17.3 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
401 reviews
2.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,082 reviews
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffire Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffire Freycinet

Address: 2352 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range: $1,608 - $2,833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saffire Freycinet 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffire Freycinet is Australia’s luxury lodge on Tasmania’s East Coast adjacent to Coles Bay and overlooking the Freycinet Peninsula, famed for the iconic Wineglass Bay. Delivering sophisticated and intimate style and an inspirational experience, our Tasmanian accommodation blends mankind and nature with breathtaking beauty. Featuring 20 luxurious suites, exclusive day spa, restaurant, guest lounge and bar, this five-star plus luxury lodge experience is a celebration of the art of service, internal and external wellbeing, local culinary delights, ancient landscapes and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saffire Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffire Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Saffire Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing