We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute”
Review of Saffire Freycinet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saffire Freycinet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from Saffire and have not stopped talking about how much we loved the trip.

We only booked our accomadation 2 night before leaving as we had already booked a quick trip to the blue mountains but couldn't go due to fires.

At first we where a little disappointed as our plans had changed so close to leaving, this disappeared as soon as we entered Saffire we where greater by Micah who took us through into the foyer where you are uncounted with the most amazing view, we then turned around to be greeted by 2 glasses of sparkling wine, the check in process was easy and comfortable.

The room - was amazing, beautiful views, a lovely card from the manager wishing my husband a happy birthday, a bottle of sparkling on ice. Decor is beautiful and comfortable, bathroom is lovely. Mini bar was outstanding an defiantly not mini, all inclusive of the cost too and I you eat or drink it gets replaced fr you to consume again.

Food- also amazing, breakfast especially the trout was beautiful, you also always get more than you ask for, I ordered the trout but whilst waiting I got poached fruit, rice pudding and fresh orange juice and then after we finished out main we had little pastries with coffee( basically why I would eat in a whole day I ate for breakfast).
Lunch was fresh and tasty salads, love this as I was still full from breakfast, if you wanted a hot meal that had options too, you also finished off with a cheese platter as a glass of wine whilst overlooking the hazards on extremely comfortable lounges.
Dinner was amazing we did the tasting the first night and al a carte the second, you also have cocktails and canapés before dinner and afternoon tea is also delivered to your room (again something you don't expect but is welcomed.)

Activities - we did the oyster tour which was wonderful and a must for every guest, we walk to wine glass bay and we also did the half day boat trip in which we saw whales, dolphins, seals and birds plus the amazing coastline and yes they feed you again!

Gym - it's small but nice and with so many activities you can easily keep fit and walk off that good without going to the gym.

Staff- all staff where wonderful, friendly and had knowledge of each particular field that thy worked in.

A nice note - the staff wrote "happy birthday "in the pebble garden of our Suite which we both thought was very nice

Lots of other things but wouldn't want to spoil every surprise.

Loved every minute and can't wait to return next year.


Laura and Dean

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 576 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our second stay. Unfortunately the dinner and breakfast food standards have slipped. Everything else was fantastic.
French toast for brekky was gross and gluggy
Filet Mignon for dinner was over cooked and a cliche-need to attend to menu more closely and execute better.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend a couple of days at Saffire during May whilst on our road trip around Tasmania.

This luxury lodge has a beautiful long walkway leading into a panoramic foyer overlooking the mountainous Hazards range and it is simply spectacular when you walk inside.

On arrival we were greeted with fresh champagne and the friendliness and attention to detail of our hosts was exceptional.

The accommodation itself was flawless, we had a room with a private plunge pool and an outside deck area that looked straight out to the Hazards. A big talking point was the over sized bathroom which contained dual rain forest showers and body spray heads - very luxurious. The lounge and bedroom were no less spectacular with floor to ceiling glass to allow the vistas in.

The food as a whole was excellent, lunch being more buffet style and dinner providing a high end degustation affair. We were impressed by the consistent quality and range of food - this was definitely a highlight. You will not be left wanting food or drink here!

From an activities perspective we thought the oyster farming was very unique and interesting, definitely don't miss this! We also had a guided hike of Coles bay and surrounds including Wine Glass Bay, I thought this was a lesser unique experience and one that you could do on your own just as well (which we had done anyway). We had a private tour also to the local winery at Freycinet Vineyards which was particularly engaging as we spoke to the owner and got to pick his brain on the wine making process, I thought this was a nice addition and recommend it if you are interested in wines.

Saffire stands as one of the best experiences we have ever had, the service is highly efficient, professional and friendly - a balance that is not easy to find. The location and amenities are first class and the food is delicious, what more can be said?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed three nights. This is an outstanding resort.
The accommodation is simply faultless and the views and surrounds work their magic too -
10 out of 10,
The staff are in tune with the resort and nothing was too much trouble, their attention to detail and willingness to understand what you wanted or expected enhanced the overall experience to well beyond expectation, which was pretty high - 10 out of 10

AND then there is the food and beverage part... Again expectation was high but nothing could have prepared us for what was simply amazing, each 'meal' and unexpected afternoon delights delivered to the room were amazing... The food is extraordinary, the raw materials the best, preparation first class and the sections and variety of menus -'tasting' menus presented left us almost lost for words. Another 10 out of 10.

That makes Saffire 30 out of 10 and very well deserved too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 05. Could not have been more happy. But I'd say they are all just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popup420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Saffire for 4 nights in September - and it was one of the most memorable experiences we have had for a while. It ranks up there with Wolgan Valley resort and Qualia - but we both agreed that the service from the Saffire team was exceptional. Justin (the GM) and his team run a very slick, personal, professional operation that made us feel so special.

Both the main building and the rooms take full advantage of the spectacular view across Coles Bay to the Hazards mountain range - a view that changes dramatically by the minute, making it difficult to take your eyes away as new colours unfold.

And then there's the food! They do provide a limited in room dining menu - but we were so blown away by the quality of the meals provided in the lounge and restaurant that we simply had to trudge up to the main lodge for every meal! I was particularly inspired by the wide range of healthy salads provided at lunch time - I've already attempted to add a couple to our regular menu at home. Degustation with matching wines at dinner time was an event worth attending - every night! The herbal tea prepared at room turn down in the evening was the perfect way to finish a day of food indulgence.

We really enjoyed the cooking demo with Simon who gave us the chance to get involved and attempt to emulate his dish after watching him prepare it.

The walk up the mountain to the Wineglass Bay lookout is worth the effort - as is the quick easy walk around the lighthouse at Cape Tourville and a look around Honeymoon bay - all offer amazing scenery so don't forget the camera. The beach out the front of Saffire also provides a beautiful scenic easy 1 hour return walk - to ditch some of those extra calories.

The marine farm experience was fun - donning elegant (not) waders to plod out to a table in the middle of the water to shuck and slurp huge pacific oysters. I'm not a big fan of oysters - but I enjoyed the experience, including shucking and slurping my own oyster - which I washed down with a glass of bubbly!

The one small criticism we had was the wardrobe capacity in the room - if you're staying for 2 nights it will probably be adequate - but we struggled as we had suitcases packed for a 3 week tour of Tassie - and the small single wardrobe coupled with the very dim lighting made it very hard to find things!

Otherwise, this place is really special and worth adding to your bucket list. We're already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms take advantage of the view - we were in a signature suite, no. 15 - which was reasonab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RnR_Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My girlfriend(Pooh) and my little brother(Art) came from Bangkok to visit me in Tasmania for 5 days(I know, it was a short visit!). All of us are doctors and we find it's really difficult for us to take leaves at the same period of time. Since I've moved to work in Tasmania, I get to see both of them only once or twice a year at max, so I wanted their short stay in Tassie unforgettable. Pooh is a wine-lover and Art is someone who never says "No" to any alcoholic beverages.

We chose to stay at Saffire Freycinet for only one night because we had to continue our self-conducted Food and Wine tours. Last year, we had a very bad experience during our stay at one of the small boutique hotels in Hobart which surprisingly received #1 hotel in Hobart from TripAdvisor(maybe we were just unfortunate on that particular days). I'm glad that Saffire Freycinet has impressed us by deleting all those disappointments from our memories. I and Pooh used to stay in many different types of luxury hotels and lodges in Thailand, Europe and USA including Las Vegas Palms, St Regis and The Plaza(NYC). Saffire Freycinet is definitely very unique and exceptional.

From the parking area when we arrived till the parking area when we departed, Saffire's never let us down. Jen and Justin provided us a supremely warm welcoming from our car door to our suite. We stayed at Feldspar suite and we absolutely loved it. Art jumped straight into an extra-bed in the best corner of the room and claimed as his own territory(the view from that bed was unreal!). Room was very clean and flamboyant.

Freycinet Marine Farm tour was commenced after our light lunch served by executive chef Hugh Whitehouse who subsequently became Art's favorite staff(He loves to be spoiled and Hugh managed to spoil him terribly well). Joel was our tour guide to the Marine Farm. The Marine Farm tour was absolutely stunning. We had unlimited fresh oysters supply there, Pooh totally ignored her cholesterol-concerning thought.

Cooking demonstration class was interesting, we had Corey as our instructor. Corey has been brilliant through out the demonstration class(Pooh did most of the job though!). Corey took us around the kitchen area and wine storage area.

Dinner at the Palate restaurant was more than just a mouth-watering but we all had a "Foodgasm". We had a Tasting menu option since we wanted to try bits of everything they created for that night with compatible wines. I will post some photos here(The old adage is true that a picture can be worth a thousand words). Cameron and Matt were amazingly helpful at the Palate.

Next day, Pooh had a spa treatment while I and Art were doing archery with Joel. Joel helped me discover that Archery is the only sports that I can do better than Art(Art has always been the best sports player in the family). We also bumped into Joel by chance at the Freycinet Vineyard and he offered himself to guide us around the vineyard though we've already checked out from Saffire.

All in all, we had a really great time at Saffire Freycinet and we will definitely come back again soon. Next time we will stay here longer.
I'd like to give special thanks to
- Russell and Mel who had been in touch with me consistently via email prior to our arrival.
- Justin, Jen and Hugh for your warm and friendly welcome.
- Corey for demonstrating and giving Pooh a chance to do some cooking with her surgical skill.
- Cameron and Matt for the exceptional service at the Palate restaurant and lunch area.
- Sharon for a top-notch spa treatment.
- Joel for being fantastic in all the outdoor activities we've experienced. Thanks a lot for the extra winery tour
- All staff behind-the-scene e.g. other chefs, cleaners etc for making our stay more complete.
Please pass my special thanks to all staff mentioned.
See you all again next time.....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MacGaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinTKing, General Manager at Saffire Freycinet, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Peter, Pooh and Art,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Saffire. It means the world to us that you enjoyed your visit, all the more so as we know how precious your time together is. Your kind words are also appreciated. I agree that we are certainly lucky to have such a warm and engaging team, and thank you for acknowledging so many by name. I have already ensured that those mentioned have read your feedback.
Peter, I know that time is precious, and value the feedback. It was such a pleasure having you with us, and while it was a short visit, I am delighted that you found it so rewarding.
Warmest Regards
Justin King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

From the moment you have your car door opened until you depart i can honestly not say enough about this special place. Management and staff exceptional. Compliments to the chef. The food was not only tasty but honestly i will need to diet for a month and thats only after a nights stay. Truly a place where you are made to feel not only special but at home. Thankyou...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluewaterCoffsCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
465 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
373 reviews
17.3 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
403 reviews
2.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,093 reviews
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffire Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffire Freycinet

Address: 2352 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range: $1,291 - $2,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saffire Freycinet 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffire Freycinet is Australia’s luxury lodge on Tasmania’s East Coast adjacent to Coles Bay and overlooking the Freycinet Peninsula, famed for the iconic Wineglass Bay. Delivering sophisticated and intimate style and an inspirational experience, our Tasmanian accommodation blends mankind and nature with breathtaking beauty. Featuring 20 luxurious suites, exclusive day spa, restaurant, guest lounge and bar, this five-star plus luxury lodge experience is a celebration of the art of service, internal and external wellbeing, local culinary delights, ancient landscapes and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saffire Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffire Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Saffire Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing