We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Saffire Freycinet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saffire Freycinet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here as part of my husband's 40th birthday celebrations and although it was a while ago other places we stay just don't stack up against Saffire for value.

The most amazing food, interesting activities close by, great service and beautiful rooms.

We have since stayed at Southern Ocean Lodge and Qualia, and both agree that Saffire had THE best food. I say food because it wasn't just meals, but every snack and tidbit was amazing. Truly you are eating 2 or 3 hat food every time you put something in your mouth.

We did the guided Wineglass Bay walk and appreciated our guide adjusting what we did because we were fit enough to go fairly quickly. She added in a walk around the lighthouse, as a storm was approaching, which was just amazing.

We will return the next time we get down to Tasmania.

Room Tip: Enjoy the indulgence of degustation dinner at least one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    20
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
406
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

the best resort i've visited so far!
love the location, architecture, dining, & service!
1/ hotel
the hotel has 20 rooms and it gives us the privacy
the signature suite we stayed is spacious and practical (lots of power outlet so we could charge everything in one go) .. love the outdoor sitting area which i simply spent warm afternoons there staring at the blue sky
very thoughtful of the hotel to have prepared water flask and warm water bottle
2/ dining
magnificent!
everyday we looked forward to having every meal in the hotel
the exec chef's motto is to connect with local fresh, "a farm down the road, the vineyard over the hill, seafood pulled from the bay"
the degustation menu in the evening is THE BEST!
3/ experiences
the hotel has a range of experiences arranged (complimentary, signature & third-party)
we had hopped on to the experiences of freycinet marine farm (compliementary) & east coat exploring cruise (signature) ...
both are fantastic!

the most thoughtful is the departure gift ..
the guest manager actually remembered we had a long drive to the next stop, cradle mountain .. thus had prepared fruits and water ... and a USB with pics taken at the freycinet marine farm!
special thanks to cameron, carrie & lisa of palate restaurant and russell & mical of guest services!
how can we not coming back to see you again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetravel-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The location is amazing and the view from pretty much everywhere is stunning. We found the rooms beautiful, roomy and well fitted although the tv is difficult to see from the bed, maybe one that could come out of the middle bench would work? The food was mostly great, the degustation menu in the evening fantastic, particularly with the wine matching. Breakfast had good choices, lunch casual but tasty, the food changed every day. The snacks and drinks in the room were of a high quality. The service is fantastic, very Australian even Tasmanian, some of the staff attire was a little daggy and not 5 star classy. Our treatments at the spa were great and high quality. We participated in a coupleof activities and they were fun and well thought out, one thing I found amazing was the level of knowledge of all staff, from the local food and wine to the wildlife and local attractions, no question went unanswered.

On the downside it is expensive and there is no pool, they gym is tiny and the spa quite limited (i.e. no steam room or spa).

It is very quite and peaceful and even with full capacity we were never left waiting. It would be nice to have an in room breakfast option.

We had a wonderful time and would recommend it for a special occasion.

Room Tip: All rooms were good with a great view of the Hazards
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alihoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights here, they passed far too quickly. The room was everything we had hoped for, beautifully laid out ,a very comfortable bed, and a deck to the front.There is a complimentary bar with soft drinks, wine and spirits, as well as lots of edible treats.The view from the room and deck over the Hazard Mountains is one of the best in the world. The main building has even better elevated views. the staff are attentive and helpful, we were too late in asking for a particular activity the following day, it was full up, but very quickly someone to guide us was produced, and we were able to go.Breakfast was very good, though service could be slow sometimes, lunch was possibly the best meal, simple and tasty, dinner was mostly excellent, with the odd dish that wasn't quite so good.That said, the whole experience was marvellous,, we thoroughly enjoyed our walk up to the Wine Glass Bay lookout, and our 2 shorter walks the next day.Also had some long walks along the clean and lovely Coles Bay beach, in order to work up an appetite for the next meal.Would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Saffire is fantastic! I've lived in Tasmania for quite some time, and as somes customer service standards down here can be a touch lacking, I was worried when I booked it that it may not have been worth the money or a be a genuine six-star experience ...

I was not disappointed! From the second we pulled up the service was exceptional. The views are magnificent, and the FOOD .... There are no words to describe the food! My husband and I have eaten at some very good restaurants in Australia and overseas - and the food at Saffire was just as good, if not better.

Do yourself a favour - stay here - but make sure you stay for at least two nights. One night simply wouldn't be long enough!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC-USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

When people asked me where I was going on my latest trip to Australia, and I responded "Tasmania" most of them scratched their heads, thought of Bugs Bunny and Taz, and asked if it was near New Zealand. I knew where it was, and I will never forget it, in no small part due to Saffire. Tasmania is a wonderful place, full of stunning seascapes, exotic wildlife (ever seen an Echidna?), and grand views, and Saffire is the best place to experience all that. It is spectacularly sited overlooking Coles Bay, with gorgeous architecture that perfectly complements its location. The service is impeccable, and the food outstanding. It's a very long away from my home in Washington, DC, but it is worth every miserable minute spent in the aluminum tube getting there. If I were asked to rate Saffire on a scale of one to ten, I would borrow from Spinal Tap and say it went to eleven.

Room Tip: We paid a considerable premium for a room with a "pool." Don't make the same mistake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrydog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Words can't describe the fantastic experience of Saffires! The views, food, service, experiences and people were all more than 5 star! We celebrated our anniversary there and were very spoilt by the amazing team at Saffires. Nothing was too much trouble and personal service rated highly. We can't wait to go back for another special occasion!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
10.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
442 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
17.3 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
2.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,037 reviews
3.5 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saffire Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffire Freycinet

Property: Saffire Freycinet
Address: 2352 Coles Bay Rd, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saffire Freycinet 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffire Freycinet is Australia’s luxury lodge on Tasmania’s East Coast adjacent to Coles Bay and overlooking the Freycinet Peninsula, famed for the iconic Wineglass Bay. Delivering sophisticated and intimate style and an inspirational experience, our Tasmanian accommodation blends mankind and nature with breathtaking beauty. Featuring 20 luxurious suites, exclusive day spa, restaurant, guest lounge and bar, this five-star plus luxury lodge experience is a celebration of the art of service, internal and external wellbeing, local culinary delights, ancient landscapes and abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saffire Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffire Freycinet Hotel Coles Bay
Saffire Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing