We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Coles Bay
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful stuff

Declan was a wonderfully knowledgeable guide to the area, the farm, and the oyster. We learnt a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
tobyj868
,
Hobart, Australia
Educational, entertaining, delicious, wonderful

We took the Oyster Bay Tour with Declan, and were absolutely impressed! Declan is personable and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
LafayetteJohn
,
Lafayette, California
Read all 79 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Coles Bay
from $118.49
More Info
from $75.72
More Info
from $108.67
More Info
from $81.70
More Info
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
78
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
78
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuck oysters love oysters oyster lover learning how mussels fantastic tour learn how wealth of knowledge glass of wine life cycle tour price unique experience amazing knowledge award winning informative tour freycinet marine his passion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did this with my teenage son. We loved it. The guide was very professional. Oysters were perfect and the mussels they give you awesome. Lovely glass of Freycinet Vineyard riesling (ginger beer for my son). One small thing to be aware of - the extra dozen oysters you can pre-purchase are not shucked (makes sense in hindsight) but they are sold at the same price as a dozen shucked ones at the Freycinet Marine Farm eatery. If you're near Melshell Oysters then you can get non-shucked ones from them somewhat cheaper.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Geck O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterbayt, Owner at Oyster Bay Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are so happy you enjoyed the experience with your son.

Cheers
Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019 via mobile

Loved the tour, what a fantastic unique experience!! Declan is a Great guy! the whole tour was awesome from start to finish with a wealth of knowledge he shared with us about oyster farming and wild mussels combined with hands on oyster shucking, tasting, while topping it all off with some delicicous white wine.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank AdamGaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterbayt, Owner at Oyster Bay Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

You're too kind, thank you so much for your positive review and so glad that you enjoyed the tour.

Cheers
Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2019 via mobile

This was a great experience and something really different! We learnt about the process of growing oysters, had a chance to put on waders and get in the water with Declan, taste oysters direct from the sea and then shuck our own after careful instruction as well as enjoying a bottle of local Freycinet wine. Declan was extremely knowledgable and helped to make the afternoon very enjoyable.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterbayt, Owner at Oyster Bay Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

We are so happy you enjoyed the afternoon with us, it's always Abit of fun in the waders!

Cheers
Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2019

Being an oyster lover I thought it would be good to learn first hand how oysters are grown and harvested. Better still you get to sample the freshest oysters in a pristine environment. The experience was well worth it, Decland was very informative and generous with his time. The oysters were as good as I expected, the glass of wine helped the taste and I learned how to shuck oysters properly without damaging the oyster or my hand. I also got to taste some muscles that were simply steamed but delicious.

Highly recommended this tour

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank nickaU9328UE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterbayt, Owner at Oyster Bay Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're glad you got to learn how to shuck without hurting your hand!

Cheers
Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2019 via mobile

We really enjoyed the tour. Declan was friendly, engaging and informative. The oysters were excellent and the whole experience was something that we would highly recommend.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Nenenbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oysterbayt, Owner at Oyster Bay Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2019

Thank you souch for taking the time to review us! I'm so happy you enjoyed yourself!

Cheers Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews