We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor Service”

Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Evandale
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Everything you want in a Country Pub, Great Country menu, Flavoursome entrees, Meats from our Butcher's family farm in the Huon Valley, Bounty of Local seasonal vegetables, Homemade Stocks & Sauces. Meet with Locals and traveller's world over and enjoy a great wine selection in front of Open Fires, or Beers in the the Garden, Stay a night or two in the Country Style Ensuite Rooms, with Backpakers available. 5 Min from Launceston Airport.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Poor Service”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I came here with my family and ordered over $100 worth of meals.

Everything was going well until the three of us that ordered the fish and chips (blue grenadier) discovered the the fish was under-cooked and transparent in the middle. We requested that the waitress microwave the fish for some time to finish cooking it, and she seemed very put off by this. After about 20 minutes she returned with completely different pieces of a pre-made frozen fish instead of the original blue grenadier that we ordered.

Very disappointing service, and a mark against Evandale in what is otherwise a lovely town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 170Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant w, Owner at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
I am so sorry for the experience you had here, especially as we opened service to assist your early evening flight out of Launceston for your family of 6. Sadly we did have a severe medical situation with our chef, around the time of your order, Molly endeavoured to follow my protocol for any meal a diner may not be happy with, and the plate was redressed, and she was very worried about microwaving the meal. The Blue Grenadier is battered to order, and I accept that pre battered flake was used to replace the meal. . Grant called in another Chef in and many friends helped out, as the night saw a further 50 diners arrive. Should you be in Evandale in the future please make yourself known and we will certainly look after you. Kind Regards, Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great for an authentic experience in tassie. Nice friendly staff and very enjoyable having our drinks. Didn't try the food but next time would love to - also would love to stay in the town as it is gorgeous,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TICKLE-PICKLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in Evandale for 4 days had drinks and a meal at the Prince on day 1 very friendly staff excellent meal. Tried another pub in the area on day 2 Hmm day 3 returned to the Prince and invited some friends we had met another excellent meal and the rest as they say is history this will be my 1st port of call for every trip north in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rebl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good quality products well cooked”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here - well cooked and good value for money. Waiting staff were attentive and quick; we'd go again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A1Traveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time reviewer, had to say something”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I had a meal there tonight. Halfway through the chicken schnitzel was completely uncooked. Hope I won't be ill tonight. replacement was overlooked to the point of no taste. Perhaps the chef was having an off night. Management agreed to comp to meal, but the male owner, older guy, round mid-60s told me:

" we've been in business here 8 months and this is the first complaint. Do not come back again."

How presumptuous to assume we ever would! Perhaps this is why there was only one other table of customers on a Saturday night....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank atongmu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince of Wales Hotel also viewed

 
Perth (Tasmania), Tasmania
 

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing